We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Bread Hiouchi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Bread Hiouchi
255 Monument Dr., Crescent City, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a great stay. We highly recommend it, not only for the great location, but also for the proximity to the redwoods. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night, so we got up early and drove 10 minutes to Stout Grove (which was beautiful) and were back in time for breakfast!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What an amazing place! My wife and I spent two nights here as part of an anniversary trip in July 2013. Curt and Meg were engaging and enjoyable hosts. The house was large, clean, relaxing and a very comfortable place to hang out. We enjoyed great meals and even better conversation with Curt, Meg and the other guests over dinner and breakfast. Curt was also a very knowledgable guide to assist us in planning our hikes through the redwoods. The location was perfect for quickly getting to amazing hikes in the Jedidiah Smith Redwoods State Park. Jaw dropping beauty at every turn. We also enjoyed a relaxing evening on the patio overlooking the Smith River. We could have easily stayed here for an even longer period of time. If you are considering a visit to the Redwoods, staying here is a must! We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to returning there at some point in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this outstanding B&B nestled above the blue waters of the Smith River. Tall trees, lacy ferns and quiet solitude surround this perfect retreat. We booked the downstairs suite and were relaxed the moment we stepped through the door. We enjoyed the large, comfy & open living room, the spacious bedroom with plenty of room for two people (wonderful plush linens) and the great half kitchen to prepare a bite to eat in the evenings. Curt & Meg were superb hosts- gracious, warm, excellent chefs and are an absolute joy to engage in conversation. We truly savored our entire visit thanks to the great location, beautiful/comfortable living areas and the amazing hospitality of Curt and Meg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B and we really hit the jack pot! Just 10 miles inland from Crescent City, sitting on the edge of the Smith River with a redwood setting! From what I have read, this is not your typical B&B. it is like visiting good friends who's only concern is that you enjoy yourself. Curt and his wife Meg are a joy. Curt understands the importance of good coffee and will provide lots of it. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We were even sent off with snacks for our hike. My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner prepared by Curt and spent time sitting around the table sharing stories over wine and beer.
We were truly sad to leave. I did not go in expecting to find myself so at ease. You will feel at home the moment you arrive.
Thank you Curt and Meg

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Saying it's a wonderful location doesn't do it a justice. It's steps from Smith river, one of the most beautiful in the US, and literally across the river from Howland Hill Road (mast see in northern CA) in Jedediah Smith Redwoods state park. The BnB is in a nice house with a total of four rooms. It's very clean, very well maintained, comfortable and views of the forest and the river are just amazing. Our host was very friendly and we enjoyed sharing a dinner one night. Ask if he will offer a dinner and don't miss it if he agrees. An easy recommendation for couples and solo travelers, nature lovers, tree huggers...

Room Tip: get a room on the ground floor if available. it's actually a suite with a nice living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The house sits on a ridge above the Smith River. It has a great view of the river and of the night sky. Curt and Meg are very accommodating hosts and certainly do everything to make your stay enjoyable. The morning breakfast is tasty and plentiful. You can arrange for Curt to prepare and evening meal on most nights. He is a great cook. They have a wonderful hot tub that sits out in the middle of the forest. They have a great library if you do not bring enough reading material.
All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a little more humidity in the lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband said there is NO way all the reviews were 5 star, it has to be bogus. Well, I am here to say they deserve more than 5 stars!!!!! We started our trip up the Northern CA coast to the Oregon Coast. We found our way to the B&B, make sure you turn at the Chicken crossing sign and it does say Do Not Enter, but turn in. Curt and Meg made us feel so welcome, when we left, we felt like we were leaving old friends ! The views are simply breath taking. It is not like a typical B&B, this is so much more. Curt is very accommodating, trying to make sure we were taken care of. Do NOT pass this opportunity up!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed and Bread Hiouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Bread Hiouchi

Address: 255 Monument Dr., Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Bread Hiouchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bed and Bread Hiouchi to your Saves list