We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service in Crescent City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Save
You added Ocean View Inn & Suites to your Saves list
270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arcata, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service in Crescent City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had planned on staying at Best Western (familiarity mainly) but they were full. They recommended me to Ocean View and I'm so glad they did! Cyndi at the front desk was so helpful and friendly! She went out of her way to help me settle in a figure out what to do with my U-Hual truck and trailer (above and beyond). She also looked around for a room with a view of my U~Haul for me and a few other little personal touches. The hotel is great and so are the staff! A friendly environment (and people) with unpretentious class!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    89
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
59
94
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

When searching for places to stay in an unfamiliar place, we rely heavily on the ratings on Trip Advisor. This facility had high ratings and reasonable pricing so we booked it.

We were not disappointed. Desk staffer Chris was very professional and helpful as were all the other staff members we encountered.

Everything was clean and fresh smelling and the room was spacious and had all of the amenities we could ask for.

The continental breakfast had good variety and the eating area was clean and well stocked.

The Ocean View Inn & Suites earns it ratings. It is definitely a repeat destination if we return to Crescent City.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a newer property still growing into its structure, but clean, roomy and well above average for the area. Our room was reasonably quiet and the bedding comfortable. Chris at the front desk went above and beyond, recommending good area restaurants and handling a special request. The complimentary breakfast was pretty standard fare, but adequate to start the day. Overall, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

So thankful for this place!!! Had reservations at the super 8 down the street but the super 8 was not clean no air conditioning and the windows had no screens and could barely open them!! We called around and the oceanview was suggested to us THANK GOODNESS IT WAS!!!! Sandy greeted us and was so sweet and kind and made is feel right at home!!! The room was nice and large and quite! And only $10 more then the super 8 defiantly be going back!!! Thank you for such great service and great staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall, this hotel offered good value for money @ 120 + tax. Check in was great and staff were very friendly (Chris). They even let is park our motorcycles right at the hotel entrance. Only thing is the breakfast, which can be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a lovely place! We checked in on a Friday night and it was busy! Other places we had inquired at gave us the stink eye because we were arriving late (about 7pm) without a reservation. Cyndi was doing an amazing job juggling several people at the counter, answering a constantly ringing phone and answering inquiries from people already checked in. She was so nice, polite and composed to everyone. The situation was such that I would have understood if she lost it but she didn't! She really made the experience pleasant. I'm not sure why the owners would have only one person manning the desk during such a busy season? They should give that girl some help! The rooms are new and had good amenities for a family: microwave, fridge, hair dryer, ice, etc. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I wish we would have known about this place before getting locked in to prepaid rates at a chain. We got into town a night early and found this gem. It is newer, very clean, you can get a balcony with an oceanview, and the staff were extremely friendly. Free continental breakfast was okay. Very close to the opening of Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park.

Room Tip: get a balcony bay view room, we didn't have a chance cause they were sold out. also, get top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.