We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on 101” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Save Saved
You added Ocean View Inn & Suites to your Saves list
270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel on 101”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall, this hotel offered good value for money @ 120 + tax. Check in was great and staff were very friendly (Chris). They even let is park our motorcycles right at the hotel entrance. Only thing is the breakfast, which can be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    82
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
83
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place! We checked in on a Friday night and it was busy! Other places we had inquired at gave us the stink eye because we were arriving late (about 7pm) without a reservation. Cyndi was doing an amazing job juggling several people at the counter, answering a constantly ringing phone and answering inquiries from people already checked in. She was so nice, polite and composed to everyone. The situation was such that I would have understood if she lost it but she didn't! She really made the experience pleasant. I'm not sure why the owners would have only one person manning the desk during such a busy season? They should give that girl some help! The rooms are new and had good amenities for a family: microwave, fridge, hair dryer, ice, etc. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I wish we would have known about this place before getting locked in to prepaid rates at a chain. We got into town a night early and found this gem. It is newer, very clean, you can get a balcony with an oceanview, and the staff were extremely friendly. Free continental breakfast was okay. Very close to the opening of Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park.

Room Tip: get a balcony bay view room, we didn't have a chance cause they were sold out. also, get top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were visiting Crescent city to visit family and as this was our first trip we had NO idea where to stay. This turned out to be a great choice. Hotel lobby was lovely. Staff were great. We had no issues with anything at this hotel at all. We only stayed for one night but I wish we had used the laundry facilities as the next hotel on our trip didn't have any.

The family was pleased with my choice and we would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel has charged us TWICE for a one night's stay the beginning of July and we still don't have our money refunded!! We have spent so much time AND money making long distance calls trying to resolve this. It's terrible!! It started the day of our arrival: we called and spoke with Chris to advise we would be coming in very late and to please hold our room. At which time he said they DIDN'T have any record of our reservation!! He said they don't use computers they use index cards! OMG! What century are they living in?! Chris said they must have lost the index card, but he did still have a room for us. It's really too bad because the hotel is very nice and clean. We had a room with 3 queen beds and it was on the beach side away from the loud traffic on the highway, we were very appreciative that they were able to accommodate our request. The room was very clean, but the beds a bit hard. We will be contacting our bank tomorrow, Monday, to report the second transaction as fraudulent. We will also contact the Better Business Bureau and the state attorney general as it appears this hotel does this quite often!! Somehow I missed it in the reviews when I researched the hotel but now I see others have had this same problem. Very sad as it would have been a nice hotel to stay at :-(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanviewinn101, Manager at Ocean View Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear SandiS778,
First and foremost, we apologize for your time and energy you put forth in something that was not your fault. We at the Ocean View Inn, strive to satisfy every customer in every way as is reflected in our #1 ranking for all hotels in Crescent City. Obviously, we didn't meet your expectations and for this, again we sincerely apologize. Even though we are in the 21st century, all of our reservations and paperwork are done without the assistance of computers. Some may consider this crazy, however, it does keep the costs of our room prices down and this is a benefit to all our guests. As i'm sure you know, people make mistakes, as was the case in your unfortunate situation. We became aware of your case when your husband called us and spoke to Chris. Chris promptly turned the situation over to management and we immediately tried to locate the charge in question. After searching our records, the charge was not located and an email was sent to us from your husband that showed the charge in question on his bank statement. On August 6, we credited your credit card for the full amount and spoke with your husband to let him know as such. This is not something we do "quite often" and it is not something that was done to be "fraudulent". Most times these issues can be resolved in a matter of minutes and sometimes we have multiple entities we have to deal with and if the information we are looking for can't be found then it does take some time. We appreciate your patience with us. Also, if any guests have any questions, complaints, kudos, etc. we have a toll free line (877-464-3993) that costs nothing so you don't have to spend money making long distance calls. I am happy to hear Chris was able to accommodate you with a room that was satisfactory to your needs. I am sorry to hear however you found our "beds a bit hard". For our future guests, all of our beds are 5 star Serta pillow top mattresses and the vast majority of our guests seem to love them and have a great nights rest. SandiS778, we do hope you chose us again and give us another chance to show you why we have earned the #1 ranking for hotels in Crescent City.
Have a great day!!!
Ocean View Inn Manegement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a room on the third floor (two queens) with ocean view. Rooms are large and nice. Breakfast is much better than average and staff is really helpful. People like Christine make guests feel welcome. First night we had some noise coming from the rooms beside us, but the second and third night it was very quiet. The hotel is new, so everything is clean and working. Great location to visit the Redwoods NP. No noise coming from the street, large of parking place. Beds are comfortable,window in room can be opened for fresh air, nice bathroom, no complains here.
Crescent City is not really a beautiful small town, but we had a great time visiting nature around
Maybe the best hotel in town, would stay here again if the rate is good. Ask staff for nice restaurants.

Room Tip: rooms on the back (topfloor) have ocean view from a distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We planned to stay in Crescent City after our drive from Crater Lake and had made a reservation for an ocean view room with a balcony on the second floor. The beach and ocean view, such as it was, were very disappointing, as was Crescent City in general. My advice would be to find a hotel further down the coast at a more beautiful location. However, if Crescent City it will be, this hotel looked to be the best one there. It was very clean, spacious, and the staff was helpful. The morning breakfast was better than expected.

Room Tip: We had a prime room with a balcony on the second floor. We could see the ocean across a field, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.