We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Save
You added Ocean View Inn & Suites to your Saves list
270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Auburn, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are on a two week trip to see the redwoods and found this hotel on tripadvisor. It was extremely clean and the lady at front desk Sandy is very helpful. We were able to wash clothes and relax for 2 nights. If you are in crescent city for hiking etc this is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    83
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
85
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I know you're probably thinking how could a hotel be clean and new but also outdated - but if you visited this place, you'd know what I mean. It's a new hotel off the 101 in Crescent City, CA (check out the aquarium across the parking lot - awesome staff and cute seals). The rooms were clean and Mike at the front desk recommend Northwoods restaurant which was very family-oriented and had good steak. The breakfast was pretty bare-bones, but for $130 a night, it was to be expected. Overall a decent stay in a small town.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the ocean on top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I always stay at the Lighthouse Inn just south on Hwy 101. Some associates stayed here when they learned that it was owned by the same folks who own the Lighthouse Inn (the Lighthouse was completely booked).

When I dropped by the next morning to pick them up, it turns out that this property is nearly identical to the Lighthouse Inn. Since I gave the Lighthouse top reviews, I can do the same for the Ocean View Inn & Suites. If you are ever spending the night in Crescent City, you won't go wrong with either property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If your going trough Crescent City Ca. on Hwy 101, stay at the Ocean inn and suites that place is gorgeous, clean and very big rooms, and food in the morning, and snacks, coffee is on every all hours, I really think this place is great for singles, couples and family's, Also very nice folks working there. And next door to Ocean World, and nice restaurant next door also.

Room Tip: All rooms are so very big and nice, best beds in town..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived in Crescent City and after perusing tripAdvisor, this hotel was the obvious choice. It's a newer, clean hotel with reasonable rates. We were greeted by a very nice front desk staff. Chris was extremely gracious and obviously went out of his way to help us. Super nice guy who answered all of our questions enthusiastically. He explained how to get to all of the "good" places to sightsee that we never would have been privy to otherwise. He always greeted us and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We have been traveling from Seattle to San Francisco for 10 days with 2 children so we have been in quite a few hotels. This was the only one that made us feel very well taken care of and this is primarily due to Chris. His professionalism was outstanding and I hope the owners read these reviews and realize what a gem of an employee they are lucky enough to have. (Everyone else was great, too!) Great customer service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way through town. Great service at the front desk. Room was the largest in the whole building. For once, It was so nice to actually have space to move around in a hotel room! Exceptionally clean place. Bed was comfortable. The room Had 2 couches and a chair as well as 2 queen beds. The weather wasn't great so we couldn't get a good peek at the ocean but I am sure that this hotel is in the perfect spot on the beach.
Breakfast was included and wow was it ever good!! Absolutely huge selection. Quality food too, which is rare.
I wanted to post this review to help other travellers in finding this great spot. The first thing I did when i arrived in town was check trip advisor, never fails. Happy travels!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

After a long day we checked trip advisor for advise on a place to stay so we ended up here. We met Chris at the front desk how was very helpful and friendly. I am in customer service myself and a manager of a location of the largest auto glass company in the world. Chris blew me away with his personality and customer service. We then asked Chris for a place to eat. Chris was very enthusiastic and even gave us coupons for a local restaurant. We ended up arriving at the restaurant and leaving 15 mins later after no one helped us. So we went next door to eat. Obviously we didn't judge Chris about restaurant because that wasnt his fault. Chris felt so bad when we came back and told him what happened. Not only was he friendly but empathized and apologized for the restaurant. It is hard to find great customer service and you have it here at this location. Thank you Chris and thanks to the other staff for an amazing visit. We will be back since the next day my bf proposed to me at whaleshead beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.