We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel During our Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Save
You added Ocean View Inn & Suites to your Saves list
270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuna, ID
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Hotel During our Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I were traveling to the Redwood National Forest and decided to spend the night in Crescent City. What a cute little town and what an amazing hotel. We had a king size/Jacuzzi room with a balcony on the top floor facing the ocean. We paid $125.00 which was a great price considering the location and amount we paid at other hotels that were not to nice. The room was very clean and the the Jacuzzi made for a relaxing evening after a long drive. The staff was very friendly, especially the front desk personnel. Breakfast was good and they had a wide assortment to satisfy everyone. The Aquarium is next door which is a plus. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the Jacuzzi room on the top floor over looking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    89
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
59
94
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice clean hotel. We had a King/Jacuzzi on the top floor and enjoyed the big deep Jacuzzi. The ocean is a little walk and then it is in a cove so you don't get the real sense of big ocean waves crashing onto the shore. There is a big city park adjacent to the hotel and a light house within walking distance. I guess my only complaint would be a nice hotel like this and NO pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amity, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Found this on tripadvisor. No online reservations, had to call. $125 for a 1 bedroom suite which was a very good deal! Super clean! decor was a little disjointed. And a big plus, right next door to Oceanworld. Our room was the highway view, but it was very quiet. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found Ocean View Inn & Suites through a Trip Advisor review. Had to go to the Del Norte Chamber of Commerce to find their phone number (707-465-1111) but it was worth the trouble. We had a king room on the top floor and could see (if we squinted really hard) the Battery Point lighthouse. Our room was a generous size with big windows overlooking the ocean. The whole facility was scrupulously clean and the personnel were friendly, knowledgeable, and willing to help. The continental breakfast was more than adequate, bed very comfortable. The second day we were there we discovered a bike path behind the hotel that took us into town without having to walk along Hwy 101. It has a little bridge over some creek, and you arrive at a big park. Downtown is just steps away, as is the Brother Jonathon memorial. Definitely recommend if you are traveling to Crescent City. Bonus: no pets or smoking.

Room Tip: Try to get a third floor room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had the suite with two rooms, one with a king and the other with two queens. We paid 125$ for the night including continental breakfast.

First off, the whole place is new. I live this fact because it's not dated in any way like other accommodation, but best of all it's very clean!


The staff are very helpful and lots of friendliness and smiles. Even when my son locked the bathroom door (as in no one was inside the bathroom).

A thing that could be better would be parking. It's exposed and not undercover. I felt it was too easy for a non guest to be around our vehicle. But definitely a minor thing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have stayed numerous times in Crescent City, and each time try to experience a different hotel/motel. On my most my most recent trip I opted to try this new property, The Ocean View Inn & Suites.
New three story establishment non "hotel row" of town, Highway 101, west side.
Large parking lot in front of property.
Check in was fast easy, and friendly with Chris professionally handling everything from explaining breakfast to hotel amenities locations, and times.
Continental breakfast is served in dining area on first floor, across from hotel desk, from 6am-9:30. Consists of toast, cereal, muffins, fruit, coffee, etc. I ended up sleeping in next morning so cannot comment on the breakfast.

There is an elevator inside so no need to drag luggage if you are on upper of the three
floors.
I wanted a ocean view room, and unimpeded views, so I opted for third floor on back side of hotels. Also, this means you will not facing Hwy 101 so I assume missing any traffic noise, but there may be little noise on that side as the rooms seem very well insulated.

Room was large, clean. King bed, leather couch, desk/chair, mini-fridge, microwave, 42" flat screen TV. Interesting feature was the sink being in the room, not in the bathroom. Bathroom was clean with toilet and shower/tub combo, and plenty of towels..
It was a very quiet, clean property, and my stay was delightfully uneventful.
Check out was fast and professional.

One issue I thought was interesting was that there is only one ice machine in the hotell, and it is near the check in desk on the first floor. A lot of work to get a bucket of ice from a second or third floor room, up and down the elevator, etc. The snack and drink machines are also on the first floor. Dont think I ever saw this before. If you need any of these items you gotta work for it.

All in all it was a good stay ,at a very nice place, at a very reasonable price.
I would stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: For ocean views, no road noise, ask for rooms in rear of property; has three floors, the higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in king size room. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, friendly front desk staff. Not a fan of the wallpaper ceiling border decor, carpets, or bed spreads - it all dates the new building which is a shame. However, the rooms were very clean, no smoking or pets permitted which was great. Didn't have the continental breakfast, so cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.