We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Save
You added Ocean View Inn & Suites to your Saves list
270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
White City, Oregon
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

WOW Had a great time staying here! The staff and owner are Awesome! Thank You for making my weekend trip FUN. Loved my room, king bed with jacuzzi and balcony. Will be staying here every time I come to Cresent City :)
Thank You,
Cindy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    89
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
59
93
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed one night & had a massive king sized ocean view room with a jacazzuzi hot tub. Bed was very comfortable. Agree with what others have said about the bathroom counter top but with only 2 in the room it wasn't really a problem. Laundry facilities which was good & breakfast was certainly adequate continental breakfast. We also ate at the Good Harvest Restaurant - what a great meal. Would certainly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red,White,Blue
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Crescent City does not have luxury hotels and restaurants. That being said, my stay here was great! The service and cleanliness were top notch. As others have stated, it is not decorated like a Hampton Inn or other chain comparable. It is privately owned, charming, unique and the rooms are huge. We had a 3 queen room for our party of 5. Another group stayed at the Best Western and oh my- the rooms are teenie tiny in comparison. Perhaps some things, like Formica bathroom counter tops might not take the beating of the general public in time, but I have a feeling it will be readily addressed when it wears. Breakfast was great with the best apple fritters I ever had! The eating area is decorated nice and choices are adequate for the inclusive price. Sofas and a large flat screen in the lobby make nice places to converse over coffee or tea. Plenty of parking which is not so true of other motels in the area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

New and pretty motel. Bathroom has a very strange configuration with the large vanity and sink running into the bedroom. No chance of turning on a light early without walking everyone in the room. Nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location on Hwy 101; easy to find, and super close to maybe the best restaurant in town- Good Harvest- and right next to the aquarium. It's less than a year old and owned by the same owners as the LightHouse and Bay View Inn. It's listed on TA as a B&B; it's not, and the owners are trying to fix that with TA. Despite what I'd call early 90's decor throughout, the place is spanking clean everywhere. The rooms are big, open with a couch, chair with giant countertops, fridge, micro, coffee maker and cute, warm, kitschy fake fireplace. The beds are new and comfy, the view out the back is of the bay, and if your lucky, you can listen to the fog horn cycle through (we liked that). I can't speak for the hwy side rooms, but the bay view side was very quiet. Great free, strong wifi. Breakfast is free and nothing fancy (needs yogurt!). I hope they can maintain their current level of super clean as they grow, and transition from the flowery old-style bedspreads to easy to clean top sheets. We stayed there two nights, king room, bay side, with taxes included for $97/night. Very helpful staff- thanks! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Of course you'd want a bay view room! Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanviewinn101, Manager at Ocean View Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your review. We do have yougurt now, and waffles for our breakfast as many have requested. With all our reviews it helps us make this the best Hotel we can be. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
previse
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a spacious and attractive room with a great view of the harbor. The desk staff is unusually friendly and helpful, and there is a pretty good Mexican restaurant right across the street. Compared to a lot of new hotels, the breakfast is pretty basic, but I would look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the west side of the third floor because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanviewinn101, Manager at Ocean View Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We now have waffles and yogurt for our breakfast. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After driving around Crescent City and trying to decide on which hotel to stay we chose the Ocean View Inn. It was very affordable, we stayed in the jacuzzi suite (why not) but it was pretty empty so I don't know if we would have payed in season prices. The room was clean, the front desk was very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast wasn't much to look at but again it was off season so we didn't expect much. We would return again for sure. Plus our three year old loved listening to the frogs in the evening and the sea lions in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanviewinn101, Manager at Ocean View Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have add waffles and yogurt to our breakfast. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.