We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & Details Need Attention” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
Oceanfront Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 A Street, Crescent City, CA 95531 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service & Details Need Attention”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

I've stayed in hotels around the world as well as numerous in the U.S. and this was priced way above the amenities. It was a $80-$100 night stay, not worth the $259 charged. With that high of a price, I expected a proper breakfast, a coffee pot that worked, a mini bar with glasses, etc. and the list goes on. It was bare bones and didn't deserve the price. I chose this hotel because I wanted a special night on my drive down 101 with my husband. The pictures that were displayed on the site fooled me into thinking there was substance and in actuality it was just a shell. I'll definitely not refer this hotel for that price. There were many others to choose from in this area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    75
    54
    31
    41
See reviews for
68
120
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tacoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

I am so glad to have found this place from the reviews on trip advisor.I would not have stayed in any other place after actually having been there! This hotel is situated right on the beach! We brought chairs from home so we sat out in front of the hotel and marveled at the scenerey. The breakfast was adequate and the rooms were awesome. This is THEEEE only place to stay in crescent city.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

We had a large room with 2 queens and a fold out sofa that accomodated our family of mom, dad and 4 teenage daughters. We had a small balcony that overlooked the ocean. The beach was rocky and covered with driftwood, which made it great for fort building. It was also a good tidepool area. The staff was extremely helpful, looking up hours of museums and low tides, giving us restaurant suggestions and happily making change for their very convenient guest laundry room (with 2 washers and 2 dryers). The indoor pool was very attractively encased in a mostly glass room and the jacuzi was nice and warm, especially after tidepooling. They also have a sauna and a shower in the pool area.

  • Liked — Large family room and tidepools
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

My husband, son and I stayed at this hotel from 7/5 through 7/9 and enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing I was disappointed with was the complmentary breakfast. The breads, cereal, muffins etc were fine but the hot food that was served was disgusting. Breakfast @ the Good Harvest Cafe was much, much better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Complimentary Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

We called late in the evening but managed to get the last room. It was the best one there, I swear! We opened the balcony doors and the ocean was right there! The ambience was amazing and the staff were so friendly and helpful!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed on Saturday, June 30, 2007. It was awful, and by far one of the worst Hampton Inns we have stayed with. When we entered the first room we were given, we were overwhelmed with the odor of sour, mildew in the bathroom. I immediately asked that the shower curtain be changed. The bedding had a gray color cast, the sofa was "slick" shiny from nasty, and the carpet was terribly stained. The balcony was large enough for two plastic chairs and "knees."

The second room we were moved to was also "stinky" with sour odor in the bathroom. There was a long red hair on the sheets, but was assured that they were changed daily. The A/C did not work, and the toilet ran all night.

At check-out we were charged $297 for the Saturday night; we canceled the second night. Finally, after producing the handwritten price adjustment from the young desk lady at check-in, we were refunded $30.

I didn't trust the earlier report, but seeing is believing. It was awful. Being from Florida, I understand beach prices; however, price usually reflects some semblance of quality, but not so at this Hampton.

Also, beware - the entire town "price gouges." If your traveling from the north as we were, I would recommend staying in Yachats or Medford and driving into see the Redwoods. Trust me - and don't experience Hampton Inn, Crescent City CA yourself !!

Nothing the management can report will change the facts!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

I have to say we really enjoyed out recent stay and was a bit hesitant after reading the other reviews. The price is higher than many of the other motels in the area but the Hampton is the nicest property that we saw in the area and the location and views from the hotel were outstanding. Exploring the tide pools and walks on the beach are so relaxing. The staff gave great suggestions for things to do and places to eat in the area. We did not find any fault with the breakfast. and the rooms were comfortable and not noisy. If we come this way ever again we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 100 A Street, Crescent City, CA 95531 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, positioned only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.