We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost (As Others Have Said)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
Oceanfront Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 A Street, Crescent City, CA 95531 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
311 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Almost (As Others Have Said)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I agree with most of the recent reviews. The location and views are great. The property needs more help. The current owners seem to be trying but they've got a ways to go. We had to be moved from our first room as the toilet seat was broken and the bathroom sink didn't drain. Furnishings are tired and a bit on the disjointed side. The front desk staff are uninspired and going through the motions. Breakfast was OK but not special. The pool and spa were OK. For what you pay you would expect a bit more. So, should you choose to stay here enjoy the view and try and overlook the other short comings.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    77
    56
    32
    43
See reviews for
71
123
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped when traveling the Oregon Coast ! Great views ! Rooms small and basic ! Had laundry and pool ! Very expensive for what we had ! Breakfast included ! Weather made up for it would prob not come back to this hotel x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I could write an essay on this hotel. There are definitely a lot of pluses,
Staff were young, friendly and helpful. Location is probably the best in CC. If you get the middle ore west sections, you would see Battery point LH. The far east faces parking lot but still good views of sunset. Rooms are clean and very adequate. Bath and towels nice. Spacious dining area and better breakfast than most others along the coast.
However there are so many ways this hotel needs improvement. Girls at desk and dining room wearing jeans is inappropriate. The front lobby and dining room lack any character or warmth. Tables and chairs are mismatched and windows are not clean. Pretty hard to keep windows clean when you are this close to the ocean so maybe some window treatments. Fireplace area was used for storage! If they could get a hotel decorator to put some warmth or coastal character into this place, it could be 4* .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Best rate for a location this good anywhere within 100 miles. This property is on the rise and a series of upgrades are evident. We had a second floor ocean and lighthouse view with balcony. Our carpet had just been steam cleaned and the rest of the room was very clean. The next money should be spent on a new carpet. Waffles. Fridge, microwave, game controller, king bed, new down pillows and comforter. Not cold or drafty even feet from the sand. With a little more work and some polish this could be close to a solid 4 star.

Room Tip: Get the ocean side rooms on second or third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The last time that we stayed at this hotel was in 2009, and it was a Hampton Inn Resort. At that time, we were very pleased with the overall condition and the ideal location. This time we found the hotel in a state of disrepair. We were in room 316, which has great view, but the carpet was very stained and the heating unit did not work. Maybe there are plans to refurbish, but until that is done, the rates should be reduced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Oceanfront Lodge in Crescent City for three nights. I had originally booked a standard king bed room but once I checked in and got to my room I discovered the AC was broken. Since the days can get rather warm, I asked to be moved to another room. The hotel was more than accommodating and upgraded me to a balcony room. The hotel had a decent continental breakfast, the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The gem of this hotel is it's location. Walking straight out of the hotel puts guests directly on the beach and at the ocean.

The only thing that could have made this hotel better would have been an in house restaurant/bar. However, they are currently doing some work in that area and may be putting one in.

Room Tip: Great location. Request the 3rd floor because that eliminates anyone being above you. Balcony rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in the Oceanfront Lodge for 2 nights as part of a lengthy road trip. I was looking forward to the view from this balcony (room 316) which I had specifically reserved months in advance after reading reviews and speaking with the staff there. The view did not disappoint, as it was right on the ocean looking at the lighthouse. Unfortunately, the fog only cleared once during our stay, though a few miles inland it was beautiful and sunny. I think this is typical for the area. The hotel facility itself was very nice, the breakfast good, the staff nice and helpful, and the views perfect. It is not a luxury hotel, but I didn't expect it to be. We, however, had absolutely no complaints or problems at this hotel. If I were to return to this area, I would definitely stay here again and I do recommend it. I suggest a room on the 3rd floor with a view.

Room Tip: room 316 had an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 100 A Street, Crescent City, CA 95531 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, positioned only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.