We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel right on the ocean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Save Saved
You added Oceanfront Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanfront Lodge
100 A Street, Crescent City, CA 95531 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Crescent City
Roseville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel right on the ocean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I don't understand why this hotel is not rated #1. We love Crescent City because of cool weather and local features ( e.g. Jediah Smith State Park) and go up once every couple of years. For the past several years we have stayed at what is now the Oceanfront Lodge (used to be Hampton Inn). The hotel is relatively new (under 10 years) and has excellent rooms...all right on the ocean with views. There is a "great room" where I enjoy reading and an exercise room with views of the ocean. Service is fine.

Rooms all have a small refer and microwave plus TV of course. Beds are very comfy.

We missed going up in 2009 and 2010 so maybe there was a dip in quality...from what I can see from below reviews. But we were there for 10 days in July, 2011 and enjoyed it as much as ever. If you enjoy the ocean I don't why one would stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are about equal. As with all motels/hotels staying on top floor reduces noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    67
    51
    23
    31
See reviews for
63
104
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Beautiful place. What a pleasure to deal with the ocean and the open sea. Very large room with well equipped kitchen, clean, bright. Good bedding and nice bathroom.
I recommend.

Room Tip: Studio Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I visit Crescent City from time to time. I'd have to say this was probably the best place we've stayed at thus far. I heard rumors (although not sure about this) that this hotel used to be a Hilton at one point. In any case, we stayed in a king size room with jacuzzi tub and balcony view.

The good: Spacious room, clean, nice view, professional & friendly staff. Jacuzzi was a little small but still very relaxing after a long day. Breakfast was also good and served up a variety of hot & cold selections.

The not-so-good: The vent in the bathroom didn't work so it was a little steam-fest in there after showers, and had to open the balcony door to really air the place out. The TV was a little dated as well. The pool was closed while we were there. The fitness center had 2 treadmills, a recumbent bike & an eliptical, all in good working order.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durango,co
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This hotel is no longer a Hampton Inn, but it has been recently renovated and is the only place in Crescent City off the main highway. Most rooms have an ocean view and balcony. We are very pleased finally to have found high quality accomodations in Cresenct City and plan to stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Typical Hampton Inn, newer property, clean rooms and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. We went when the place was completely filled and still was quiet through the night. Only thing I would have changed is that the AC unit was really loud and the smoke detector had a bright flashing light right over the bed all night long which turned out to be really annoying (but I tend to be very light sensitive) which was easily resolved when I covered my eyes with a small towel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

When we pulled into the parking lot rather late, we weren't really sure we had actually found a Hampton Inn, sign notwithstanding. It looked different than other Hampton Inns we'd been at. The exterior of hotels doesn't really matter, though, and it turns out that everything inside was fine. The guy at the desk was obviously a Californian, greeting us with something like, "Hey, dude, how's it goin'?" Everything was ready for us, though, and it seemed like the room was clean and everything worked. Our room had a balcony and we could see the ocean right from there. The view was very nice.

The breakfast was the typical Hampton Inn breakfast, which is pretty good for a hotel that doesn't charge outrageous rates. We thought it was well run. They were remodeling the lobby while we were there, but that didn't seem to cause any problems. One other kind of weird thing was that when we were in our room's bathroom we could hear (probably thanks to the fan being vented to the outside) the fog horn that (presumably) the lighthouse uses. It did not cause any problems and, if anything, added a tiny bit of charm to an otherwise standard name-brand hotel.

I think that for some people the location on the beach will make up for any of the minor problems you may experience. The location was also great for seeing the rather interesting Battery Point Lighthouse and the hotel can be used as a convenient base for exploring the nearby Redwood National Park, which is well worth your time. It also seemed like one of the nicer properties in Crescent City.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed one night on our trip north up the CA and OR coast.
Had balcony room with king size on third floor. Service was good and room was clean acceptably appointed and quiet. Offers speciality TV channels which was important for us as NHL playoff game 7 was on and were able to watch in comfort of our room with some cold beers from the convenience kiosk in lobby.
Name of the hotel was Oceanfront Lodge so I am not sure if this is a Hampton or not, billing makes no reference to this chain.
Great location and incredible ocean views; definately would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 100 A Street, Crescent City, CA 95531 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, positioned only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.