We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Save
You added Crescent Beach Motel to your Saves list
1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Sacramento, CA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

We stayed there a week this time, we have stayed there 5 times it was nice to just walk out of you door and onto the beach, theres a sitting edge as you walk out your door, it was nice to sit there in the morning with a cup of coffee and watch the seagulls and squirrles.
The beach was great you can walk about a mile, only motel there. the staff was kind and friendly. The resturant next door was great, good food, hard to pick out what you want, you see so much going by while your looking at the menu, you can sit by the window looking out at the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    30
    18
    17
See reviews for
72
110
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

If you want to sleep at the water's edge listening to the surf this is the place! We loved the location. You walk out to the beach directly from the open back porch. There are no other hotels/motels that have the location like the Crescent Beach Motel.

Unlike other trip advisor reviewers we didn't have any problem with the management or other personnel. There were no noisy children and we practically had the place to ourselves. Our room, aesthetically, was below average with a door that needed replacing, worn carpet, etc. But since we paid about 1/2 of the Hampton Inn rate we were quite pleased. Plus we went by the Hampton Inn and thought the location wasn't as advertised.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2005

The Crescent Beach Motel is probably the best place to stay in Crescent City: Its location right on the beach is great, the rooms are clean, quiet and spacious and you can enjoy the sunset while sitting on your private deck. During my stay, I was always treated with respect and in a very friendly way. I can absolutely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2004

My family and I were taking a little vacation to the west coast(from the east coast). We started our trip in Seattle and was working our way down the coast to San Francisco. We (my wife and I and our two daughters) too had done our homework and researched the best places to stay along our path. After reading mixed reviews we decided to give this motel a try. On the day of our arrival we met the proprietors (Norma & Bill) whom showed us to our rooms. We were treated with respect and courtesy as well as our daughters(ages 15 & 17). Later that day we asked about different sites and tours of the area. Norma not only called a couple of places to make sure they had room or to make reservations but also reccomended places for us to go that our girls would like. Ater a full days activities we had so much fun that we decided to extend our stay at this place a couple of days. On the night of our first day when we decided to stay longer we curiously asked norma about the mixed reviews (trying to understand all the negativity). She explained the stories of the unsupervised children making havoc and the over sized beach fires (with the wind blowing the sparks directly towards the motel) and the fact that the majority of the people looking for clean, quiet and reasonable place with great access to the beach are highly pleased with this place while the other two percent actually take the time to write bad reviews. The people who run this motel are looking out for the rest of the clientel. So if you are the type of people who think that just because you are on vacation and cant control your kids, lack common sense or dont show courtesy to the others also vacationing, then this is not the place for you. My family and I will visit this place again next summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2004

This place is great if you are interested in beach walking and a quiet place. We stayed the first night at the Hampton Inn because of all the reviews about this place having rude management etc. The Hampton was a big disappointment, there is no beach you can walk to from it and our 'view room without balcony' looked out on a parking lot. The room was nice enough I guess, but we were more into location.

We switched to the Crescent Beach Motel after 1 night. It was almost half the price and has a sliding glass door out to a path to the beach. The staff was very nice to us (we don't have kids) and gave us recommendations on places to eat, etc. Even when I thought I lost my room key for a while, the staff was nice and not mean. The place isn’t fancy but it is quiet and it is really the only motel on the beach…

If you want a swimming pool and a workout room I guess the Hampton would be Ok but it is not too good for beach walking. It is in town and there is a rocky (smelly) kelp bed right outside the hotel and no real beach for walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2004

Like so many of the other reviews, this is a great place to stay. Nice clean rooms just feet away from the beach. Bill and Norma Baker run the place and are extreemly nice! If you like bon-fires that send sparks over the roof of the hotel or if your children are out of control, this may not be the place for you. If pulling your vehicle in front first, so your exhaust ( which is aprox. 10' from the room doors and windows.) won't fill the room with exhaust, this may not be the place for you. Bill and Norma Baker were GREAT to our son and seemed to enjoy him! My wife and I enjoyed our 6 day stay including walks on the beach and sitting around a nice fire on the beach, as well as all the other sights. We highly reccomend the Beach Motel as a wounderful place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
#4 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.