We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Save
You added Crescent Beach Motel to your Saves list
1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Bailey, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome location right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My son & I stayed here for 1 night while traveling from Portland through the Redwood Forest. I had originally booked a garden room but when we arrived I inquired about a beach view. With luck, they had one available. I'm so glad I upgraded. We live in CO but I'm from the West coast. I do miss the sound of the ocean. It was wonderful going to sleep to the sound of the waves and my son loved playing on the ocean. We collected more whole sand dollars than I have ever seen.
The breakfast is basic. Instant oatmeal & fresh fruit but it's food. We had some leftover blueberries from a u-pick farm in Oregon. We put them in our oatmeal. The coffee was awful but I wasn't expecting much.
The bed was perfect-nice & firm but the pillows were a bit softer than I prefer.
The cleanliness of the room looked good upon inspection when arriving but I did notice a long hair in the shower the next morning. I have long hair but I didn't use the shower. It could have been from me when I was helping my son clean up after playing in the ocean but I'm not sure.
I couldn't ever seem to find local channels on the tv but I'm not sure if that was user error or not.
I would stay here again if the need arises.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We're happy that you chose to upgrade to the ocean view room and that you were able to enjoy the views! If we missed a hair, we do apologize. We're aware of the local channel issue, but so far Charter has been unable to fix it and keep it fixed.

The sand dollars have been very plentiful this year. Many guests have found a bunch of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    113
    31
    19
    18
See reviews for
75
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arapaho
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here two nights, the rooms were very clean and the property was well maintained. The staff were very friendly. Not much for breakfast just had oatmeal and coffee. The rooms facing the highway are a little noisy. We had room 18 which was on the corner of two walk ways lots of foot traffic you could here and the room was never dark at night with lights shining in both windows. Consider a room facing the beach.

Room Tip: Skip room 18!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for the review!

We're sorry about the foot traffic outside of the room; unfortunately, it's somewhat unavoidable, especially during the busy season. The ocean view rooms are certainly more desired than the garden view rooms, but we do have the back deck for all of our guests to use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed in a beach-side room for two nights and agree with other reviewers that being right on the beach is a neat experience. The view was terrific. The motel is modest but clean and well managed. If you're picky about soap, bring your own, because the soap bars were dry and crackly, but everything else was perfectly fine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for the review! We're glad that you enjoyed the views.

Thank you for bringing the soap issue to my attention. I'll have to do some research into other soaps and possibly make a change!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great stopping point in driving up the coast and through the Redwoods.

Didn't choose the beach view (to save a few bucks), but it was okay. We checked in right as the sun was setting and caught the most beautiful sunset on the water. Hotel has a beautiful view- couldn't have asked for more.

Really stopped in for a quick sleep for the night. Booked far in advance and glad we did because they got full for the 4h of July holiday.

Hotel was VERY clean which is the thing I care about MOST in a hotel stay (no hair!). Plenty of parking- we parked right outside of our room.

Ate dinner and breakfast down the street at the Good Harvest Cafe. Wanted to try the new Italian restaurant on the water (Porcini), but they closed early for the 4th of July prep.

Checking in and out was easy, and staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Beach front is on the beach and costs a few dollars more. "Garden view" looks at the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for the review! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Summertime is busy, so your advice to book early is very sound. I'll let the housekeepers know that you approved of their work; we like to think we've got some of the best housekeepers around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Crescent Beach Motel's perfect location on the beach on the outskirts of town trumps the outdated rooms and lack of amenities. We knew going in that the rooms were old looking, and we got exactly what the photos online showed. No false advertising, no worries. But our experience here at the motel was wonderful! Having a room with a sliding glass door that opens onto a patio/deck overlooking the ocean is so worth it. There is probably 2-3 miles of clean beach in front of the hotel, only steps away. No loading up the car every time the kids want to play on the beach. To the right of the hotel along the highway is a public beach that gets visitors during the day but still is not very crowded, but right in front of the hotel and to the left is much more private with only the occasional beachcomber or person walking their dog. It was so peaceful and beautiful. We went for long walks and could even watch our kids play at the water's edge from our deck chairs. Honestly, the hotel kind of has a Bates Motel look to it at first from the highway, but I ended up feeling very safe there. Staff was friendly. Room was clean even if the bedspread did look like it was from the 70's. We had a great time there.
We heard the hotel was for sale. With a simple guest room remodel and addition of a couple amenities such as fridges or foot wash out back so people don't track sand into their rooms, I think this motel could be even more appealing and profitable. The rooms are very affordable considering the view. Other hotels in town might have more modern rooms but they do not have this awesome beach access. Only down side was that our bed mattress (which did look new) squeaked every time we moved and I did not sleep well due to that. The rooms might only deserve a 3-circle average rating but I'm rating it 4 for overall experience & would recommend it for that reason and the homey feel. We really were happy there.
PS - if you want to eat at the Chart Room know that it is closed on Mondays.

Room Tip: If you book your reservation on their site you can pick your room. Some of regular doors, some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thanks for the review! We do strive to provide a safe location for our guests and being a couple of miles south of Crescent City proper does help to isolate us a little bit. We have been working on getting more amenities in the room, though it is slower going than we would like. The building is a bit long in the tooth, but the electrician did just clear our middle building for fridges. So (fingers crossed) those rooms will be upgraded very soon. The building will also be getting a new paint when it slows down a little. We have big plans, but we don't want to disturb our guests during these busy times.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was a nice surprise. The motel is very clean and right on the beach. The location couldn't have been more perfect. When we arrived, they had a plumbing issue but it was fixed very quickly and didn't impact us at all. Go here for the beautiful view and know you will have a clean place to relax and a light breakfast. Also, they have a lovely deck outside of the rooms. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thanks for the kind words! I remember that plumbing issue well; we got lucky getting the plumber out here after hours! We're glad you enjoyed the views; that was a good night for beach viewing, especially with the winds being so calm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great access to the beach and clean rooms. Lady at the desk really pushed the Good Harvest for food but the menu looked too busy to be anything close to fresh or homemade. Had dinner in town at Northwoods (meh) and breakfast at the Apple Peddler (awesome!) before taking off down the 101 to Napa. No A/C (air it out before going to bed and it cools off nicely) and NO HAIRDRYER for the wife - she wasn't pleased with that discovery. 5 minutes later south on the 101 and you're in the redwoods! Nice location if you stay an extra day to explore. No complaints otherwise.

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway but not too noisy at all - get an ocean view, its worth a few extra bucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks for the review!

Having grown up in Crescent City, I can tell you that air conditioning is pretty rare around here. The temperatures just don't tend to get all that warm. There actually is a hair dryer in every room, generally in the drawer beneath the television. We don't really have a better spot to put them, unfortunately, but we do label the drawer that they are in. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay, the beach and the redwoods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.