We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach-Front Motel for Exploring the Redwoods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Save
You added Crescent Beach Motel to your Saves list
1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach-Front Motel for Exploring the Redwoods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Crescent City is a great launching pad for exploring the Redwoods - you are super close to Jedediah Smith (one of the state parks) as well as the other two state parks and Redwood National. The staff at the motel was super friendly and helpful with recommendations. The room was clean (a little musty smelling) and the bed was very comfortable. Overall - a great spot - and you can build a bonfire on the beach at night :) My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this property!

Room Tip: It's a little more expensive to get a room that faces the beach - but totally worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We do find that we are at a great spot for Redwood exploration as you said. We apologize for the "musty" smell, but, unfortunately, that is sort of the price we pay for being in such a salty environment. Everything in Crescent City sort of has a salty scent, and we prefer not to overpower our guest's with large amounts of air freshener. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    30
    18
    17
See reviews for
72
110
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place is by no means spectacular as far as motel rooms go. In fact, it's extremely outdated & in desperate need of room upgrades. That being said, you're paying for it's location, right on the beach. Most of your time will likely not be spent in your room, but exploring the beach outside (weather pending) and the lovely redwood forests nearby. We've stayed at this location numerous times, in all seasons of the year, and had planned on staying there again with family later this Summer... however, we checked the rates and found them completely outrageous for the month of August, so we are opting to rent a vacation home in the area instead, as there will be 6 of us. So if being on the beach is where you want to be, you'll pay for it at this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side (lower numbers 1 through 12 or so) have 2 entrances, from the parking lot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for the review! We're sorry to hear that you find our rooms substandard, but we have been making consistent upgrades. In just the last year we've upgraded all of our TVs, added Keurig coffee machines to all of the rooms, upgraded the wifi, eliminated and renovated our smoking rooms and are in the process of getting refrigerators in several of the rooms. We intend to make even more upgrades in the winter with new carpeting and drapes along with other, smaller changes.

We do appreciate all guest feedback, though, and are aware that our biggest draw is the beautiful beach behind us. As for our summer rates, they are in line with the rest of the motels in the area (cheaper than some, more expensive than others), and are only a couple of dollars different than last year's summer rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montague, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here with a group of Girl Scouts for 2 nights. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Of course, you can't beat the view and the short walk to a wonderful beach. I have stayed here since I was a little girl(a loooong time ago) and always look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: They have a good web site that allows you to see what rooms are available along with current pricing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I met a few of the nice young ladies and they seemed to be enjoying themselves in the sand and surf (they also liked our "guard dog"). I do apologize about the mix-up during check-in and want all of you to know that that will not happen again.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you want to be able to step from your bed and onto the sand, this is the place! We spent two nights here on a family trip and we are still pining for those morning and evening walks on the beach! It was heavenly to sip coffee on the deck every morning and finish off with a glass of wine while we watched the sun set. This is a "no-frills" type of place... basic bed and bath... oatmeal packets & fruit for breakfast... but it was clean and comfortable and you won't find a view like this for under 100 bucks anywhere else. The only thing we wished for was a small refrigerator, but otherwise, we had everything we needed and left with a smile and a bag full of sand dollars!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The weather has been top-notch these past few months and the beach has been completely full of sand dollars. We are happy that we could make your stay a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our neighbors recommended this place to us. It's the ONLY motel right on the beach. We arrived, sat out watching the waves rolling, drank wine. Later had dinner nearby. Then came back to walk the beach during sunset. The following morning had breakfast watching the waves roll in. Included in the price was room, taxes & fees, and a basic breakfast of oatmeal/coffee or chocolate. Room are homey and bed was a double. If you want location, this is it! Oh, the waves did not keep us up all night...windows were well insulated!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 bucks to get the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. We love to hear from our satisfied guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A bit old fashioned but its right on the beach! So worth the price. We were recommended this and would recommend to others. We choose room 1 so we only had 1 neighbour. Hopefully all rooms will soon have a fridge! Everything else was fine. Thanks :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We're so happy that you were pleased with your visit. We are almost done with some renovations and will have fridges available in a handful of rooms by Memorial Day (fingers crossed!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We arrived for just an overnight stay on April 16th after driving in from Portland. The hotel was older as we expected and it was very clean. There were a lack of plugs which for us is hard since we like to charge up everything for recording the sites the next day. Loved waking up to the surf. That was fantastic and the price was very reasonable. If I was in Crescent city I would stay again. Having a fridge in the room would have been helpful as well. Nothing to complain about. The staff was friendly and welcoming and accomodating as well. Thanks Crescent Beach for a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Fridges will be in several of the rooms pretty soon (probably around 5/20). We hope to see you again if you're ever in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
#4 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.