We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Crescent City

Super 8 Crescent City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Crescent City to your Saves list
Super 8 Crescent City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   685 Redwood Highway, Hwy 101 at Citizens Dock Road, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Decent enough experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We knew this was an older, redecorated hotel. We got a good AARP rate.. We took a room on the second floor. It was large and very clean. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The fridge with a separate freezer compartment worked really well for us. The TV was just fine. We had a table with two comfortable chairs, which we prefer to a desk. There was some paint problem which did not effect us taking a good hot shower in the large clean walk-in shower. The towels were rather thin so were the bedsheets. We had a problem with the internet server later in the evening which was very frustrating. There is no air conditioning so we asked for a fan to block out noise from the parking area and to get fresh air into the room. Unfortunately with the fresh air comes the light from the parking area. Breakfast is typical cereal and waffle stuff. We would consider staying here again given the price and the cleanliness of the room.
I don't think the management is helping themselves by answering each post here with the same canned reply.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back section, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    77
    48
    62
See reviews for
85
90
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The beds were super comfortable. And the management there was great, anything you needed they were there for you. The location is great, the property is clean, and definitely had a full nights rest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supercrescent, Manager at Super 8 Crescent City, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Many thanks for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. It seems like we hit everything on the list for a great hotel experience: clean rooms, great staff, comfort and friendly service! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and even more pleased in your decision to post a comment.

We are all humbled by your response as you have certainly given us a high standard in which to maintain. We promise to continue to provide the same (or even better) service, value and comfort from the "best Super 8" and hope you'll visit us again soon!

All the best,

Dhanesh Prajapati
Manager
Super 8 - Crescent City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I pulled into Crescent City late and without reservations, so I decided to stay here since a few other Super 8's I have stayed in were basic but clean. I was wrong.

First, this establishment still uses bedspreads. Even a slightly savvy traveler knows these things are never washed. So why do some hotels (generally, the cheap ones) still insist on using these?

Second, the room itself was not very clean. The carpets need to be replaced, the chairs need a good cleaning, and there was mold growing around the edges of the bathroom window.

Third, the hotel itself is in need of serious updating. While it had granite countertops in the bathroom, everything else screamed OLD. The carelessly painted bathroom, with peeling paint above the shower, didn't help either.

Fourth, my room did not feel secure. The door to my room looks like it was forced in at one point, and the trim around it was hastily re-installed. More worrying, it lacked the safety bar, and I had to rely solely on the door lock. I had to drag the table in front of the door in the hopes that it would buy me a few extra seconds in case someone tried to get in. While the front window had a wooden bar to prevent it being opened, the bathroom window had no locking mechanism whatsoever. Had This been a first floor room, I would not have accepted it at all for that reason alone.

Unfortunately in Crescent City, you don't get a lot of choice in lodging. Unless there is a reason that you must stay here, I would seek out lodging either in Eureka (far better lodging choices) or else on the Oregon side of the border.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supercrescent, Manager at Super 8 Crescent City, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor about your stay in our Crescent City Super 8. We are sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. Customer satisfaction is our #1 Priority. If one of our customers notices something that is not to their satisfaction upon check in, we ask that you immediately notify our staff. We endeavor to provide clean, safe and secure rooms and if something is out of place it will be corrected.


Sincerely,

Dhanesh Prajapati
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This motel is pretty basic- you get what you pay for- but I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the bed and pillows were. Our only real complaint was the noise. We had a ground floor room and could hear the people above us walking around. There is nothing more annoying than being woken up by creaks and stomps at 4 am (which occurred one of the nights we were there). Basically from 9pm until about 11pm they were just walking around their room and it was LOUD! I would stay here again but I would definitely request a room on the second level or if they weren't full, a ground floor room with no guests above.

Room Tip: request a room on second level due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supercrescent, Manager at Super 8 Crescent City, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Many thanks for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. It seems like we hit everything on the list for a great hotel experience: clean rooms, great staff, comfort and friendly service! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and even more pleased in your decision to post a comment.

We are all humbled by your response as you have certainly given us a high standard in which to maintain. We promise to continue to provide the same (or even better) service, value and comfort from the "best Super 8" and hope you'll visit us again soon!

All the best,

Dhanesh Prajapati
Manager
Super 8 - Crescent City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Amenities? A laundry room that had an Ice machine. Room was clean but seriously run down. Torn furniture, tackey wall hangings, missing screens, broken mirror etc. Gave the place a creepy feel. Short on towels and soap. No pool, no spa, no air conditioning, no exercise room. We rarely use the pool and spa, but we usually pay less for rooms with them than we did here. 90 dollars for a single bed in a small room. This was not your typical super 8. On the up side, the gal at the desk was very friendly and the bed was very comfortable. The room was way over priced but this was peak season in a tourist town. I suppose out of fairness I should mention we couldn't find anything under 130 dollars in this town. Still a run down room in need of some serious remodeling.

Room Tip: if your looking for a comfortable bed for a quick stay and not much else, this will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supercrescent, Manager at Super 8 Crescent City, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor about your stay in our Crescent City Super 8. We are sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. Customer satisfaction is our #1 Priority. If one of our customers notices something that is not to their satisfaction upon check in, we ask that you immediately notify our staff. We endeavor to provide clean, safe and secure rooms and if something is out of place it will be corrected.


Sincerely,

Dhanesh Prajapati
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

In trying to find a decent room in Crescent City under $100, my wife and I stopped at several motels and one prior we did not stay and got our money back. We were fortunate to get the last room at the Super 8 which was $87.00 for the night including taxes.

We faced the highway and were upstairs. The room was clean, bathroom clean and it smelled cleaned. It was your basic motel room. The beds were firm, the A/C worked as it should and for a place to sleep while traveling it is was alright.

A better low cost place to stay.

Room Tip: I would call and get a room ahead of time. Don't just come into town and stop along the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supercrescent, Manager at Super 8 Crescent City, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Many thanks for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. It seems like we hit everything on the list for a great hotel experience: clean rooms, great staff, comfort and friendly service! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and even more pleased in your decision to post a comment.

We are all humbled by your response as you have certainly given us a high standard in which to maintain. We promise to continue to provide the same (or even better) service, value and comfort from the "best Super 8" and hope you'll visit us again soon!

All the best,

Dhanesh Prajapati
Manager
Super 8 - Crescent City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here two nights but found out it wasn't a good choice after 20 minutes. Unfortunately we would have lost our money if we left. The room was clean and comfortable except for no air conditioning and when you leave the window open it gets very damp and is of course, it's dangerous. The towels were so thin you could see through them. You couldn't get ice because they only have one ice maching for the entire complex and it was out 50% of the time. Their answer to that problem was to go to the nearby gas station and buy some! Breakfast was a joke. One waffle maker and 3 tables, hardly adequate. I can't drink regular coffee because of my heart but they told me to go back to my room and make decaf if I wanted it as they only supplied regular.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supercrescent, Manager at Super 8 Crescent City, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor about your stay in our Crescent City Super 8. We are sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. Customer satisfaction is our #1 Priority. If one of our customers notices something that is not to their satisfaction upon check in, we ask that you immediately notify our staff. We endeavor to provide clean, safe and secure rooms and if something is out of place it will be corrected.


Sincerely,

Dhanesh Prajapati
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Crescent City

Address: 685 Redwood Highway, Hwy 101 at Citizens Dock Road, Crescent City, CA 95531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Crescent City 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Crescent City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Crescent City Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Super 8
Crescent City Super Eight
Super Eight Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Crescent City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.