We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very respectful and peaceful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brother Jonathan Cemetery

Brother Jonathan Cemetery
South Pebble Beach Drive, Crescent City, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Attractions in Crescent City
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Attraction details
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,144 reviews 1,144 reviews
776 attraction reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
913 helpful votes 913 helpful votes
“Very respectful and peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We toured the Crescent City Coastline from the Pier to the view of St George Lighthouse. Stopping at all the viewpoints along the way. The to anchors caught my eye so we ventured over to the Brother Jonathan Cemetery which is quite non-traditional in its size and organization. They provide a brief history of the final resting place for some of the victims of the shipwreck. Not a lot to see or do on a cold, wet day in may, but it was well worth the stop. wonderful stretch of shoreline an the clouds gave it a somber tone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woods Cross, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A quick stop with amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you love history, stop here! I found the history of the area very interesting and you only need 15 minutes to stop. Beautiful views of the ocean and Battery Point Lighthouse. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this little stop. :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just a place to stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just a place on the side of the road. Nothing fantastic grass and a marker.We stopped for only a little bit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The cemetary was right next to a house we were staying at. The views are awesome. The history of the area was interesting. Not a place to spend a lot of time, but very scenic.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Whale Watching Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Bring your binoculars and a cup of coffee and watch pods of whales retiring north for the season. March and April are the best months for catching the returning migration. Usually on the weekends there are Park Rangers to help spot the whales!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Jonathan Cemetery also viewed

 
Crescent City, CA
Crescent City, CA
 

Been to Brother Jonathan Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brother Jonathan Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.