We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“She saw seafood by the seashore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Restaurant & Lounge

Fisherman's Restaurant & Lounge
700 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
(707) 465-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 46 Restaurants in Crescent City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“She saw seafood by the seashore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This restaurant is located on US 101 at the corner of the entrance to the Crescent City fishing port. The food was fresh, well priced, and the service good. Nothing fancy either promised or expected, just well done. Most people were ordering off the deep fried menu, we had sauteed scallops and grilled fresh caught Chinook salmon. Both were great. The clam chowder was also award winning for the region.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    54
    40
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had not been to Fisherman's in a few years so thought we would pop in. My first impression was that it was just a bit dark and nautical cheesy. Not grungy by any means but not the clean casualness I prefer. Dinner includes a small and sparsely appointed salad bar; mixed lettuce, and the basic add ons. Still better than your average house salad. Fish and chips were fresh and tasty but could have used a bit more seasoning. Cole slaw is offered but you have to ask for it. We didn't since it had sugar. The menu also says it comes with dinner rolls but we didn't see them and didn't ask. Service was adequate and the Ice tea was fresh brewed so I was satisfied. Overall though, Fish and Chips would take me to Northwoods first or The Hungry Clam over the border to Oregon. The community does rate the Fisherman's high for breakfast. Next to the harbor but no view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good Balance Between Price and Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

When asking locals in the area where to get reasonably priced and good seafood, those in Crescent City kept referring us to Brookings, and those in Brookings kept referring us to Crescent City. Conclusion - you will not find great seafood in either community.

That being resolved, after trying seafood in both communities we found Fisherman's to be the best for both quality and price. You can get either deep fried or baked/sauteed fish at Fisherman's. The prices are $10 per plate below the Chart Room. They also serve their lunch and breakfast menu throughout the day. If others in your part do not want fish there are many other choices.

The atmosphere is the same as most other local restaurants along the northern California cost in small cities/large towns - cafe style. They have a fish motif they try to pull off, but it is basically a cafe.

The salad bar looked unimpressive at first glance. Though there are several small containers of different items to put on the packaged salad mix, we found that there were ample choices to make a decent salad.

The clam chowder was the best of several places we tried throughout our week in the area. What we have discovered from Tripadvisor reviews is that everyone seems to have a different expectation and taste when it comes to clam chowder. One place we tried we would call it potato soup - not here. There was a good serving of clam meat, minimal potato and a thicker soup which we prefer.

The service was friendly and very attentive. Our server watched while we helped ourselves to the salad bar to wait and put in our order so our food would come to the table at the appropriate time.

If you order the sauteed scallops you will get a larger portion than you would expect for the price, served in a bowl with sauce. The cod, salmon and shrimp plates all were good portions also. The cod and shrimp had heavier breading than we prefer which made it more greasy than with light breading, but not excessive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I had the salmon omelette. It was great food, excellent service, my coffee cup was never empty, obviously a local favorite, as we saw lots of fisherman there and pickup trucks parked outside. Clean, cute design, clean restroom with seat covers and warm water and no-touch soap dispenser. Will definitely eat there next trip to Crescent City.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't Complain, they'll call you crazy!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This actually happened! No insult intended to the nice people at Sysco, but when you're in a town with a dock right outside you sorta expect fresh fish, especially when you're at a seafood place! Pretty obvious that everything comes right out of the Sysco box and into the fryer. The fish had zero flavor, nothing. Usually I don't complain, I just don't go back, but this was so over the top awful that I had to tell the waitress, she immediately got defensive and said "That's Crazy" Wow, so not going back. My advice is to drive another fifteen minutes to Brookings harbor, where they have a number of very good little seafood places.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Crescent City, CA
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.