We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curly Redwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Save Saved
You added Curly Redwood Lodge to your Saves list
701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Clearly this is a lodging experience that will not satisfy everyone. I get where some of the less flattering reviews are coming from. The decor and amenities were dated, for sure. But the room was neat and clean and the property was well maintained. We stayed in a half-dozen different hotels during this trip west. I saw the Curley Redwood Lodge in my research and knew that it was not going to be the Hilton - anyone who was surprised by the accommodations was either not paying attention when checking out their website or they are delusional. We had fun, the place was clean and very reasonable and the owners were friendly and helpful. What more can you ask for? Oh! And then there's the single curley redwood tree that supplied the 57,000 board feet of building materials. That was kind of interesting!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    122
    76
    26
    10
See reviews for
67
114
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My, what a charming motel! It really brings back feelings of nostalgia and it's quite wonderful.

The history of the hotel itself is impressive, but I won't go into that. The rooms are spacious and decorated with fun Redwood furniture. Everything is clean, though outdated (though that's the charm).

Staff is warm and friendly. The exterior is lovely. Views are a can't miss!

This is our second time staying here, and we'd definitely come back for stay number three! :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The motel was "carved out of a single red wood tree" - there - thats the excitement, and its all down hill from there. Each room has some redwood panels in it, ok. The rooms were outdated, and smelled like moth balls. The carpeting was shag and who knows what was living it it was so old. The shower was a plastic shell crammed in a corner, the comforter and bedding, well, need to be replaced. The furnishing were old. My kids found a dead bug under the sheet, an earwig to be exact, so that was the bed I got to sleep on luck me. We checked for bed bugs and didnt see any (just saying we had to do this). I dont think a dime was put into this place since it was built in the 50s. I thought the staff were a bit grumpy. The town itself is sketchy. We tried to have a nice time at the beach, but were this homeless person (who appeard to be on drugs) kept trying to horn in on our fire, and we eventually had to leave the beach entirely. My kids were kind of freaked out for several hours and she became known as the infamous "sea hag", and a great halloween costume idea. If you are looking for a place to stay, I would find another hotel, and maybe even another city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crlodge701, General Manager at Curly Redwood Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Let me correct you on a few because it seems you haven’t experienced much in historic properties, antiques, coastal towns, homeless people and the list goes on. Our furniture is original from the 50s, our showers are all tiled, not plastic, carpeting is high end low pile (not shag, though we did have it in the early 70s). We are a "blast from the past" favored by many who remember traveling with their parents and staying in large comfortable rooms with a home like atmosphere. We continue to keep our property in pristine shape, inside and out. In general you didn’t like anything our beautiful lodge and costal town has to offer, your loss. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My mom and I stayed for two nights in July and everything was wonderful. My mom lives in Oregon and I was up visiting her from California when her air conditioner quit working at her house. Too hot at her house so made a last minute getaway. Staff was friendly, room was clean and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a find! We loved our last minute decision to stay at the Curly....
Clean and the rooms are huge! The shower was great.. haven't seen one like it for ages.. baby tub for soaking feet.... Over all a great find and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived for a 3 day stay, but stayed 12. We found places and people we became friendly with and decided to hang around. Crescent City has it's good and bad like everywhere else including where we're from, Hawaii. But we enjoyed friendly people that said hi, excuse me, can I help you, or just smiled with a big hello. The ocean was calm and the fisherman brought in their fresh catch. We were right across the street from it all.
The staff at Curly Redwood is exceptional, the room was comfortable, and the price genuinely reasonable. We liked it here and rarely stay at any vist longer than 3 days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have stayed here off and on for years. We stayed in an ADA room as that was all that was left, but we have done that at other places before. This room is probably the most spacious ADA room we have stayed in. The shower was wonderful. TV was up to date. Two knocks which prevented this fun place from being a 4 rating: There is a rubber matting under the sheets in this room (for obvious reasons)...which made sleeping on these beds very warm in the night; and, the bath towels are the thinnest I have ever used in a motel. For us it is a 3 rating, but for someone requiring an ADA room it would be a 4 easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curly Redwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.