We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curly Redwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Save Saved
You added Curly Redwood Lodge to your Saves list
701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“clean and basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

love the low price. the building is old but inside the room everything was clean and working. right off the hwy 101. free parking. there was light smell of fish, i guess from the restaurant on the other side of the hwy, by the way their food is delicious. definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    118
    76
    26
    10
See reviews for
67
112
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We've stayed here twice on road trips down the California coast. It's not fancy, has no frills or breakfast, but it's a funky throwback. The rooms are nice sized, clean and comfortable and affordably priced. It's right on Hwy 101, but there's a slow speed limit and we had no noise problems. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We payed $78 and it was well worth the money. The hotel is so old it's coming back into style, but everything was spotless and the rooms were quite large. We stayed for one night as part of an extended road trip and it was perfect for us.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

As advertised, this motel is a charming throwback to the 1950's. The rich redwood paneling that covers half the walls is still here. Room is spacious, clean and well maintained. Just be aware of what you do not get: Tub shower, breakfast (coffee only), micro/fridge, hair dryer and shampoo. But you do get real glass drinking cups rather than plastic. Just like way back then.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Always stop at the visitors center when you get somewhere. They are very helpful. When we pulled in the parking lot, I said I like the vibe of tis place. The rooms a very roomie, clean, and comfortable. At check-in we asked for a room away from the highway, but only thing available was third one down from highway. Was told 101 shuts down at night. WRONG Trucks all night long. So get room way away from road. Don't eat at restaurant across the street. Mcdonalds would be better

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Very 80s and basic but not overly expensive and front desk staff were helpful. We were staying round the back - the front rooms looked better. I wouldn't go back but it wasn't terrible, it just needs some modernising and TLC. Free wifi was quick.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked two rooms for a night and were quite pleased with them. Rooms were clean, comfortable and had the look of the 80's.
They have free WIFI connection, Coffee and Soda. Just walking distance form the beach and harbor. 10 min drive to the Jedediah National Park.

Overall I would definitely suggest this if you are looking for a clean place with no frills for a stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on first floor with Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curly Redwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.