We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Curly Redwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Save Saved
You added Curly Redwood Lodge to your Saves list
701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Crescent City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good vibe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Always stop at the visitors center when you get somewhere. They are very helpful. When we pulled in the parking lot, I said I like the vibe of tis place. The rooms a very roomie, clean, and comfortable. At check-in we asked for a room away from the highway, but only thing available was third one down from highway. Was told 101 shuts down at night. WRONG Trucks all night long. So get room way away from road. Don't eat at restaurant across the street. Mcdonalds would be better

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    114
    74
    26
    10
See reviews for
63
109
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Very 80s and basic but not overly expensive and front desk staff were helpful. We were staying round the back - the front rooms looked better. I wouldn't go back but it wasn't terrible, it just needs some modernising and TLC. Free wifi was quick.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked two rooms for a night and were quite pleased with them. Rooms were clean, comfortable and had the look of the 80's.
They have free WIFI connection, Coffee and Soda. Just walking distance form the beach and harbor. 10 min drive to the Jedediah National Park.

Overall I would definitely suggest this if you are looking for a clean place with no frills for a stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on first floor with Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were happy with our stay here. Our room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. We had difficulty getting our cell reception here though, but the wi-fi was strong. There was heating in the room if needed and an ice machine and soda machine near reception. Tea and coffee is served in the lobby only at breakfast time. There is a restaurant across the road and a cafe a very short walk up the road that also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Lodge was easy to find on the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, FL
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is designed so everyone has a view and a specific place to park. The decor is retro but awesome! Everything was clean and the room was large. The front desk was helpful and informative. Both the gentleman and the lady went our of their way to answer questions, help with food plans and get extra pillows. They even downsized our room when we explained our traveling partner had cut the trip short so we didn't need the extra bed. WITH SMILES! The wood is the centerpiece of the rooms and very beautiful. We would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Maybe one further from the road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

If you want frills and such that you get in a 5 star hotel this isn't the place, but if you want to stay in a cute quirky and clean hotel this is the place. From the very nice lady that checked us in to the charm of a hotel built out of one huge Curley redwood we love this place. It reminded me of places I stayed with my parents back in the 50's, no extras but a goods nights rest! The price is good also. Would be happy to stay here again if we were ever in Crescent City.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The motel is directly off the main highway through town, across from the harbor. Rooms are very basic, clean and reasonably priced. The motel has a very retro look. Like the town of Crescent City, there is nothing in particular to recommend the motel beyond its proximity to the Redwoods and beaches elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curly Redwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.