We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curly Redwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Crescent City
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Back in time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This motel is a very classic drive up to your door motel. The grounds were neat and clean.
The desk clerk was nice and helpful. Don't try to bring your pet this motel, no matter what! We did not have our pet, but the next guest to register brought their pet. They received no mercy from the cleark. I was grateful this is a no pet hotel however!

The room was fresh and simple. No in room coffee maker or hair dryer. The office did provide me a hair dryer when I phoned for one. The Wi-Fi service did not work.
This is not a plush hotel. It's a motel and is good for a' back in time' one-night stay.

The curly redwood paneling is beautiful. We appreciate the care this motel has taken to preserve it's history and look.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    108
    71
    25
    10
See reviews for
57
107
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

So ended up in crescent city tired checked out a couple places to stay, looked up the pictures on my phone this place looked nice from the outside. It was awful, the bedspread was filthy and the sheets had bark on them. The room was hot so I called the front desk to ask how to turn on the air and they told me to open the window!! I advised it was open but my sister and I were not going to sleep like that. I was told it was cold enough outside. Next time I will just stay outside!! Rude people. Would not recommend staying here with the old fashion key entry.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed for one night in this motel with its famous history. Photographs in the lobby show the single gigantic redwood that was used for building it. However, the complex is only partialy made of redwood. The lodge is located opposite the fishermen's harbour. The architecture of the complex is quite modern. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable as was the shower. The nicely coloured redwood in the room was a pleasant aspect. We missed a coffeemaker and a refrigerator; ice was available. The staff was friendly and the overall cost-quality balance ok: we payed in June for one night $ 71,50 including tax. No breakfast but tea and coffee at breakfast time available.
Probably most tourists will only spend one night in Crescent City. We consider this hotel an adequate option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Listed at $45 to $65 a night, Cost us $77. She told us we were getting a really good deal when we called. Go anywhere down the street and for $15 to $20 more get a hair dryer, a microwave, a TV that's not too small to really see from the bed, an extra pillow or two, a bed that's not a med-evil torture device and something besides a thimble sized Styrofoam cup of Folger's in the morning. Oh yeah, we never did get the WiFi to connect and the Curly Redwood door and wall needed refinishing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I agree with many of the other reviews about this property. Clean large rooms but stuck in the 1950's. Friendly staff and decent value.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

There are large clean rooms. Ours had a bed, table & vanity with TV. The room was very clean but there was a musty odor; perhaps from the vents. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is an older motel with no frills but they do have free Wi-FI. Sea Lions bask on a dock at the pier right across the street. The restaurant they recommended was great and very close by. Travelers should be sure to drive through Jed Smith Redwood State Park. It was the best redwoods drive of the trip and was magical. Narrow roads due to the giant trees but plenty of pull offs and hiking opportunities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

An extremely well maintained 1958-era motel. Clean, with very large rooms. I had trouble accessing the internet wirelessly, but suceeded in connecting directly to the modem. Good ice machine and friendly front desk. Most of the parking is covered or partly covered -- a real benefit in the rain. No shampoo.

Rather than just taking Hiway 50 thru the city, take a few minutes to take the drive along the ocean on the northwest side of the city. Much nicer views.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curly Redwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Curly Redwood Lodge to your Saves list