We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella's Bistro

Bella's Bistro
75 Main Street, Putnam, CT 06260
+1 860-928-7343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Putnam
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Menu changes seasonally, full bar and lounge, live entertainment on weekends, patio seating available, private function space, catering and take out available, reservations recommended
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We love Bella's. We love it for an informal dinner of salad and pizza. But on more formal dinner nights out, the delicious meals are sumptuous. My favorite is the salmon dinners. No one cooks salmon like Allen. Melts and explodes with flavor in your mouth. Have our favorite waitresses and sometimes disappointed when they aren't working. Very allergy friendly!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

It's tough in any industry to be this consistent, this reliable. But these are the themes at this place everytime I'm here. I can't say enough about the food, and coming from Boston (where there are enough restaurants to compare) says a lot. I've tried just about everything on the menu at least once and everything meets a certain standard that one can attribute to finer dining anywhere. From the service to the atmosphere, Bella's is truly a gem that shines in historic Putnam! The worst part about this place is figuring out what to order once seated...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really cheap drinks and not in a good way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went out with some friends just moved I. To town ordered a drink rocks on the side it was like half an ounce...waitress was less than pleasant .....un real for such a nice area with lots too do.....would never go back

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I've been here a handful of times and have always been impressed with the quality and amount of food you receive. The wait staff is always friendly and I like the fact I can watch the kitchen cook your food in plain view and the owner almost always comes out to ask you how everything is. I have been next door to eat and although the food is good, the menu never changes. Bella's changes their menu seasonally. In the past I had never tried a pizza but today I was blown away with the best pizza I've ever had. The crust was outstanding with a nice grilled pattern on the underneath which complimented the main course on the pizza. I must say I feel at home here and always feel like I get my monies worth and then some. I've had different fish dishes here and it has made me like fish more. I can't say enough about how impressed I am with the whole package. I eat in Boston frequently and must say most of those restaurants have nothing on Bella's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“don't know what happened?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

we read all reviews...nothing but the best in recommendations....went to this area as a"destination location to antique shop"...have been in this downtown area 8-9 times...always wanted to try Bella's but not open until 4 pm during the day. Went to Bella's on a Saturday during holiday shopping season; this is "high" shopping season in this small downtown antique shopping area..ordered a house chardonnay..excellent at $8 glass...bottle of beer. ordered "godfather pizza" w/out some items on top, immediately, to give enough time to cook...I took another few minutes to choose the mussels over pasta lunch entree. We were 1 of 2 parties in the main inside dining area at this time( 1:30 - 2:00 pm)... now, their were plenty of people walking around on sidewalks...looking in the windows, just milling around...........so, snooped next door to the 180 restaurant and looked inside and 1/2 the tables were full and 6-8 people were eating at a large bar.....got the feeling I seated myself at the wrong place................went back to table at Bella's. Pizza delivered...they put on pedestal; it was smoking, and, one corner of the crust was still on fire!.....I was laughing.....but was not planning on eating this for lunch so any issues with this $16.00 pizza were on my dining companion. He will "never "complain on any issues...he just will never go to that establishment again. He ate 1 full piece of pizza that was not completely charred..then proceed to eat my dish. The mussels over pasta lunch entree is perfect for 1 person who wants very light lunch;. pasta was 1/2 cup of perfectly cooked pasta.... mussels cooked perfect. comes with a thin "flavered" sauce with cream infusion

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella's Bistro also viewed

Putnam, Mystic Country
Putnam, Mystic Country
 
Putnam, Mystic Country
 

Been to Bella's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.