We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy cows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohala Burger and Taco

Kohala Burger and Taco
61-3665 Akoni Pule Hwy #13-D, Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
+1 808-880-1923
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with 100% local grass fed beef burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was, once only available at Disney Parks KBAT has got it!
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“happy cows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Happy cows come from Hawaii and the taste of the burger shows. My son said this was the best tasting burger he had ever had. The place, as others have said, is a little hole in the wall. I was lucky to sit where the air conditioner flowed. I also appreciated self-serve water.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    45
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The write ups on KBAT are spot on. Nothing fancy but great food. My wife had the fish sandwich special and I had dos tacos. Both were very good and the perfect way to start our eating adventure from Kawaihae to south of Kona. We did not try the burgers but the other folks in the restaurant said they tasted as great as they looked!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just plain Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great food , great staff, great prices, ate their 2 times in a week loved everything we ate. Everyone was super friendly. Just wish they stayed open later , and wish we would have found it earlier in your trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fresh fish tacos - tasty, tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We had the Ono fish tacos. YUMMY! My son had a grilled cheese with almost burnt bread and ate the entire sandwich. he declared the fries were the best he ever had. I admit that they were the best I ever had! :-). No view but who cares. Local dining at it's best. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate here twice. First time I had the Turkado special, very good. The second time I had the Kohala burger, which was probably the best hamburger I had while in Hawaii. My husband had the fish tacos. Fast, friendly service, although the sitting area is small! They need a few more drinks on their menu selection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohala Burger and Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.