We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, fun music and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium

Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium
61-3616 Kawaihae Rd, Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
808-882-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 8 restaurants in Kawaihae
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim, Fusion, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 19
Description: Recently voted Best Dining Atmosphere, Family Entertainment, Bartender, Live Music and Night Spot by West Hawaii Today. Our fresh, festive food features global, coastal flavors and offers the freshest of ingredients, from locally caught fish to produce from our own organic farm. We proudly offer vegetarian, vegan, and/or gluten free options as well as just enough meat and the freshest of seafood! Our young and talented chef team sincerely loves to create the most amazing dishes with the finest local and seasonal products available. We feature live music nightly (when we are open for dinner Thursdays through Sundays) and offer the best talent and a wide array of musical styles. If the music moves you, get up and dance right under the stars as our dining area has no roof!
Richmond BC Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent food, fun music and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

what more could we want? reservations suggested. drove by the place a few days earlier; looked it up and saw lots of good reviews - lived up to all of them. we were 4 adults and a 4 yr old and though it is more an adult vibe, they had crayons and colouring sheets and he loved the music. all good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    143
    64
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SoCAL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Vibe-a-licious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We can't get enough of the Big Island. For years we've missed coming here and on our recent trip we finally went for dinner (with reservations). We are glad we did and we'll make this one of our "staples" for every trip into the future.

Easy to find in Kawaihae and parking was ample (though full when we left and cars were using the roadside).

All in all, we were very satisfied with our meal and had a great time listening & people watching. You can easily review their menu online yourself. That evening we went for the fish special and it was awesome. Appetizers, awesome. Bread (pay extra) awesome. Dessert -- splurged, was probably least memorable -- but for being a bit too decadent. Adult beverage selections were very good..fancy, fruity and fun libations.

Besides the food, the two very memorable things were the staff and the ambience. It's a very eclectic designed and decorated restaurant that works! Colorful and interesting layout for band and people watching with a neat courtyard with open air seating areas facing the band. We sat close to one of the back bars next to a post/tree and right by the stage.

The staff were great, friendly, and unpretentious toward us frequent-but-mainland visitors. I forgot his name but he worked the bar and came over a bunch to talk story with us and even though he wasn't our main server, gave us lots of good tips on the food menu and drink selections. Our server was also a great guy and very helpful and nice, though later on as the place filled up he was very busy and came by less, but he had a lot of tables he was working. I'd come back because of the people here alone and their great attitudes towards their guests.

This is a unique spot on the Big Island where nightlife isn't very ample. Even if there were lots of nightlife options on the island or in the Waikoloa area resorts, we'd hands down recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDragonManager, Manager at Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha Flipper Girl,
Thank you so much for leaving us another great review. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your evening with us. We are truly proud of our friendly staff, and even more so when they are given such high praises by our guests. Mahalo nui loa, and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sounded better than it wound up being”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The menu is varied, but like many places in Hawaii--it sounds good but was a bit disappointing. It certainly is fun with the music and drinks, and if you're looking for a place to go with the family this could be it--but dont expect an amazing meal.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant and music venue on Big Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We've been trying to get to Blue Dragon for a while, but it's pretty far from home. We spent the weekend in the area and finally got to enjoy it.

Parking was pretty easy, they have a fairly good sized lot. We walked into a casual and fun outdoor, roofless dining area with a neon lit funky bar, a nice stage and a good sized dance floor. There is also a dining area out a door away from the stage area. We were there for the music and got a great seat by the dance floor.

Service was really good...knowledgeable, timely, friendly and fun. We ordered some really unusual adult beverages and they were just awesome. We decided to do a tour of the apps, salads and soup rather than entrees. Soup du jour was potato leek and we ordered the puu puu sampler, and we loved it all. I forget what type of salad we ordered to share but it was awesome. After watching several others order it, we finally ordered a catch of the day entree to share and it was just wonderful.

The music was the highlight, a live band that was incredibly awesome. We don't dance but we really enjoyed watching many couples dance to the great tunes.

This is our new favorite BI eatery and music venue. Too bad it's so far from home that we can't do it unless we board the dogs and stay overnight in that area. We'll be back as soon as we can!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great filet and fish. Reasonable prices. RSVP and ask for table by stage. Excellent service. Very popular, was full on a Sunday night by 7pm.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.