We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Family Owned Business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohala Divers

Kohala Divers
61-3665 Akoni Pule Hwy, Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Kawaihae
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Family Owned Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

You can never go wrong with Kohala Divers. There is just something amazing the way the owners train and motivate their team. You can tell that these employees talk about how great their day was when the get home. Very educated and patient group and lots of fun to be around. On top of it all they are all great stewards of the ocean. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    5
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Can't give these guys a high enough rating!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a great experience diving with this outfit!! So professional and yet so personable, too. We recently dove 4 days with them and felt like family by the time it was over. Staff remembers your name and makes you feel welcome from the moment you step in the shop and on the boat. Kudos to Robyn, Scott, Alice and divemaster in training, Stephen, for some great dives! Very safety conscious but also so willing and passionate to show and identify critters. Each divemaster carries a slate and use it constantly during dives, naming different nudibranchs, fish and other marine life. They take care of your gear and load and unload each day if you like. Captain Stephen is a lively character and most competent captain of the boat. Each day during our surface intervals, he would watch for humpbacks and we would cruise around watching them play in the ocean just like we were. And talk about service AFTER the sale! We stopped by the shop to pick up our gear on our way home and were running behind. Mari, who helped us most often in the shop, offered to ship a package I had ready to drop off at the post office. Sure enough - 4 days after we got home, my package arrived safe and sound - THANK YOU, MARI! We were used to diving with another outfit in Kona, but we like the Kohala coast so much more and it is a guarantee that we will be back diving with this crew the next time we visit. Thank you, Kohala Divers, for making us feel like ohana!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scubamama4hawaii, Owner at Kohala Divers, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are so happy that you had a great time diving! We are glad that we won you over from Kona and can't wait to have you back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dive Shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have been diving with Kohala divers for the past 3 years. My husband has been certified for years but when it came time for me and my 10 year old daughter to become certified, we chose to do so with Kohala divers.

The staff and crew are always very friendly and helpful. I had high anxiety at times during the certification process, and the dive masters where able to reassure me and calm my nerves! Once we were both certified we continued to dive with them because it was always such an enjoyable experience.

We just returned from the Big Island and this trip my youngest daughter (10) was also certified by Kohala Divers. Again, the certification process went smoothly and Alice did a fabulous job with my daughter. AND - we always see amazing things at the different dive sites. Over the years we've seen whales, dolphins, turtles, sharks, eels, amazing coral formations and many, many cool fish.

We had the opportunity to dive with another company out of Kona this year, and that experience really highlighted all of the things that Kohala does right! They are true professionals - and ensure that safety comes first and that each dive experience is a great one.

I really can't say enough good things about this dive shop! Thanks especially to Alice and Robin who went above and beyond!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Whale Watching with Whale-Whisperer Cap'n Bob!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just got back from about the best whale watching experience ever. Thanks to the expert seamanship of captain Bob and his fearless crew (Warren!). Beautiful weather. Visited several groups of 5 or more whales. Sat and watched a mother and calf as the calf breached dozens of times in a half-hour or so. Amazing whale conversations on the hydrophone. Made even better by the courtesy and enthusiasm of the crew. Thanks Kohala Divers!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Husband dives with them all the time, says they are five star. I have been on their whale watch, also five star. Great outfit!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Divers also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kohala Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohala Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.