We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish to take home, great lunches @ The Lunch Wagon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Fish House

Da Fish House
61-3665 Akoni-Pule Hwy, Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Silicon Valley
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great fish to take home, great lunches @ The Lunch Wagon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tasty fish (we tried the Opah, Onaga and Ono, as well as Ahi Poke and Tako Poke) to take home a cook, and tasty lunches outside, Mon-Fri, at the Lunch Wagon. Proves the point that good ingredients, simply but well prepared, can be better than any 5-star restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Poke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my introdcution to Poke and I am completely in love with it now. Their spicy poke is to die for! The place is nothing fancy, but all the better for it. This is food htat you buy to prepare/eat elsewhere. I can't remember the exact prices now, but I don't remember it being unreasonable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best Fresh Fish in West Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Whenever I want fresh fish to take home and cook this is the place I go! Fisherman bring their catch here and you can often see the catch being cut up as you walk in. Sometimes I get a block of Ahi and slice it up as Sashimi -- not even bothering to cook it -- its so fresh and good!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernal, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We have driven by here many times, but never saw the lunch wagon hiding under the trees. Great fresh fish in the market. Great food and lots of it from the lunch wagon. Nice folks who want you to enjoy the terrific fish they serve.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The freshest fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's easy to miss this little gem, but it has a strong reputation among locals for fresh, high quality fish. At first glance it seems, well, like a dilapidated shack along 270 highway with an old school bus in the parking lot that doubles as a popular lunch truck. However, upon entering you see a fellow trimming out a large fish, and a modest display case offers a selection ranging from ono to marlin and mahi-mahi to ahi. A side case features several varieties of poke.
We shopped there several times, and were quite impressed with the quality of the fish. We stayed a couple of weeks in this community, and all the local we talked to wouldn't shop anywhere else. That alone must mean something!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Fish House also viewed

 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.