We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves excellent reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honaunau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horizon Guest House
P.O. Box 957, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Forest of Dean
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deserves excellent reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked Horizons for four nights on the recommendation of a friend who said we just had to stay here, and I am so glad we did. It deserves its excellent reputation. Administration was good when booking, emails were always promptly answered, and directions and list of places to eat provided.

Whilst quite remote from built up populations, once there it is difficult to find fault with the rooms, facilities, views and hospitality.

Breakfasts were novel and interesting, Clem is a charming inclusive host, and veritable mine of useful information on where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

First, I have to say that this is the first time that we have stayed at a B&B in over 30 years. We usually stay at high end luxury resorts, but the Horizon has spoiled us forever. The Horizon is located about 40 minutes south of the Kona Airport on Route 11. The view is beyond belief. Acres of rolling pastures and orchards rolling down toward the ocean where Clem, one of the owners, can literally point out the best places to swim and snorkel in the area or you can relax in the infinity pool and watch for passing humpbacks. The rooms are meticulously appointed for your comfort, from the special mattress heater (room 3) to the fresh Gardenias filling the room with their heavenly scent. The breakfast that is prepared specially each day may include fruits from the trees on the property, a hot grain cereal that is delicious and healthy and made from scratch, freshly made scones, blueberry pancakes, vegetarian frittata and so on. They provide you with beach chairs, towels, snorkeling equipment, coolers, etc for free. If you don't understand why I think this place is a little slice of paradise on earth, let me tell you the best part. Clem is a fascinating person who was sincerely interested in making every minute you spent at his home a wonderful experience. We spent a lot of time talking to him. Whether just trading stories or getting recommendations for the best drives, beaches, restaurants, or just getting directions, there was nothing too much to ask. The Horizon is a quiet place that is definitely suited to adult travelers although the orphan calves and other farm animals will bring out the kid in you. Feeding one of the calves a big bottle of milk was certainly an unexpected treat. The one problem is that at some point, you have to leave and Clem made that even harder by allowing us to use the room for as long as we wanted after the scheduled checkout because there was no new quest expected that day. At Clem's insistence, we took one more swim in the pool and showered before going to our next destination. If you have paid outrageous prices at some of the best resorts as we have, you will be amazed how the fancy resorts can't hold a candle to the Horizon.

Room Tip: Each room is a little different. We stayed in room 3 and were very happy with the breezes, and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

There's a reason why 99% of the reviews for this guesthouse are five stars--it's truly a unique experience. My boyfriend and I are swooning after our 3 night stay, and for good reason. Clem has put so much thought and work into the house, land and making sure that your Hawaiian experience is nothing short of magical. He's so friendly, relaxed, hospitable and really encourages you to share his home. I'll share some random tidbits about our stay to paint a picture, but you must see it yourself to really know what we're all talking about

-he planted all 200 trees that line the driveway up to the house
-he has a massive movie collection, about 1000 of which are on display
-he's whip smart
-he was entertaining friends when we first arrived but made us feel welcome and we even played cards with them for a bit

This place is best for people who want a quiet getaway with top notch service n amenities. We'll be planning our next trip to big island around their availability. Thank you so much Clem!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you want upscale accommodations in a casual, comfortable environment with the highest level of hospitality, don't think twice, contact Horizon Guest House immediately! My husband and I celebrated our tenth anniversary with a whole week of bliss here and I can't come up with enough superlatives to describe our experience. Clem and Mike provided service and surroundings that outdid anywhere else I've stayed. The rooms are large and comfortable with a private lanai that overlooks an infinity pool and miles of pastures and coastline, with sunsets (and moonsets) that took up quite a bit of space on my camera's memory card! Whatever you need, Clem will make it happen! So many little things that added up to complete satisfaction; gourmet breakfasts, how the room was equipped, the supplies available for use, the amenitites went on and on. I've never had a dog, but how could you not resist the immediate and loving greetings from Bruno and BB? There was even an orphaned calf, Lucky, who came to breakfast with us every day, not to mention the horses, goats and birds all around. All the other guests seemed to be like-minded and so friendly, well traveled and eager to share insights and stories. There aren't any other innkeepers that I've hugged upon departure because Clem felt more like a friend than a host! I've traveled a bit and have stayed in many different hotels and I'd give Horizon Guest House a lot more stars than five if I could! Simply the best!

Room Tip: Only four of them and they're all the same size and amenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surbiton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Horizon is set on large acres of land and really gives you a feel of the real Hawaii away from the big tourism and resorts. The rooms are clean and very comfortable with a beautiful view of the coastline. Clem and Mike and their animals especially Bruno ( the friendliest dog I've ever met) couldn't have been more welcoming. All facilities are great, infinity pool, hot tub, BBQ, laundry, beach gear is available for use. The breakfast is the best we've ever had in a B&B or hotel including fresh fruit from the property. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was on the end and had a bit more privacy than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellence all around. The hillside location with the infinity pool gives the illusion that you are on top of the world. Superb sunsets and stars, quality beds and linens, delicious breakfasts, hot tub and pool with a perfect view, wonderful hosts and pets. There is an unusual quiet harmony here. We divided our trip into 3 segments...NW at the Fairmont Orchid (superb, but windy), the volcano, and here south of Kona. Clem and Mike give great tips to match your interests. We were so impressed with how they opened their beautiful home. We did take advantage of their BBQ outdoor kitchen and access to dryer, extra towels, and a cooler in the laundry area. I even had a chance to feed the stray calf they had adopted! We spent 3 very enjoyable nights here. Couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Each room has a private patio and is beautifully decorated. We were in #1 with an unobstructed view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place was truly amazing. This was our last stop on a two trip around the Big Island and we couldn't have been happier with our decision. We stayed here for 4 nights and didn't run into a single issue. So much to do around the area and close enough to drive into any part of Kona for shopping or restaurants.

The rooms were private with doors to the front and private lanais to the back. We spent one evening out on the lanai enjoying some glasses of wine and small bites. The setting was perfect. inside the room had all the amenities needed. A french press for the early morning cup and if anything was missing, Clem surely would take the time to get your what you need.

I would make a trip back tot he Big Island just for this place!

Cheers!

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same, access to the driveway on one side and access to the pool through the privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 957, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Also Known As:
Horizon Guest House Hawaii/Honaunau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Horizon Guest House to your Saves list