We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honaunau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horizon Guest House
Save
You added Horizon Guest House to your Saves list
P.O. Box 957, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you want upscale accommodations in a casual, comfortable environment with the highest level of hospitality, don't think twice, contact Horizon Guest House immediately! My husband and I celebrated our tenth anniversary with a whole week of bliss here and I can't come up with enough superlatives to describe our experience. Clem and Mike provided service and surroundings that outdid anywhere else I've stayed. The rooms are large and comfortable with a private lanai that overlooks an infinity pool and miles of pastures and coastline, with sunsets (and moonsets) that took up quite a bit of space on my camera's memory card! Whatever you need, Clem will make it happen! So many little things that added up to complete satisfaction; gourmet breakfasts, how the room was equipped, the supplies available for use, the amenitites went on and on. I've never had a dog, but how could you not resist the immediate and loving greetings from Bruno and BB? There was even an orphaned calf, Lucky, who came to breakfast with us every day, not to mention the horses, goats and birds all around. All the other guests seemed to be like-minded and so friendly, well traveled and eager to share insights and stories. There aren't any other innkeepers that I've hugged upon departure because Clem felt more like a friend than a host! I've traveled a bit and have stayed in many different hotels and I'd give Horizon Guest House a lot more stars than five if I could! Simply the best!

Room Tip: Only four of them and they're all the same size and amenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
surbiton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Horizon is set on large acres of land and really gives you a feel of the real Hawaii away from the big tourism and resorts. The rooms are clean and very comfortable with a beautiful view of the coastline. Clem and Mike and their animals especially Bruno ( the friendliest dog I've ever met) couldn't have been more welcoming. All facilities are great, infinity pool, hot tub, BBQ, laundry, beach gear is available for use. The breakfast is the best we've ever had in a B&B or hotel including fresh fruit from the property. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was on the end and had a bit more privacy than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellence all around. The hillside location with the infinity pool gives the illusion that you are on top of the world. Superb sunsets and stars, quality beds and linens, delicious breakfasts, hot tub and pool with a perfect view, wonderful hosts and pets. There is an unusual quiet harmony here. We divided our trip into 3 segments...NW at the Fairmont Orchid (superb, but windy), the volcano, and here south of Kona. Clem and Mike give great tips to match your interests. We were so impressed with how they opened their beautiful home. We did take advantage of their BBQ outdoor kitchen and access to dryer, extra towels, and a cooler in the laundry area. I even had a chance to feed the stray calf they had adopted! We spent 3 very enjoyable nights here. Couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Each room has a private patio and is beautifully decorated. We were in #1 with an unobstructed view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place was truly amazing. This was our last stop on a two trip around the Big Island and we couldn't have been happier with our decision. We stayed here for 4 nights and didn't run into a single issue. So much to do around the area and close enough to drive into any part of Kona for shopping or restaurants.

The rooms were private with doors to the front and private lanais to the back. We spent one evening out on the lanai enjoying some glasses of wine and small bites. The setting was perfect. inside the room had all the amenities needed. A french press for the early morning cup and if anything was missing, Clem surely would take the time to get your what you need.

I would make a trip back tot he Big Island just for this place!

Cheers!

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same, access to the driveway on one side and access to the pool through the privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Horizon, and the entire time was great. We had a number of activities we did each day, but would spend either the morning or afternoon hanging out around the B&B. Clem and Mike are excellent hosts, who are well informed about the area and gave us some great snorkeling tips on where we could go for easy shore access. Their various animals are nice and friendly as well, especially Bruno and BB (the dogs).

It's not the cheapest B&B around, but it's totally worth the cost for the experience and service you get in return.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are the same really, each with a lanai/patio and great views to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

There was an understated elegance to this B&B experience. The serene view, the sounds of palms at night, and saffron finches in the morning... The rooms, breakfast, pool, and hot tub all take advantage of the wonderful location.

Every detail was considered... wine glasses, candles and matches for a little romance... thoughtful books and tasteful art... even insulated water bottles in a fridge that automatically turns off during the night

Clem and Mike's recommendations were uniformly great... Always ready with a tip, ready to share an experience (they have wonderful animals), or hear about your latest experience on the island. There was a chance to meet other visitors, in the morning with a wonderful locally produced breakfast spread, or in the evening around the BBQ and pool area.

Horizon spoiled us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Horizon guest house was hands down the nicest B&B I have ever stayed at. The view was amazing and the house was great. Clem and Mike went out of there way to make us feel like we were important.

Make sure you are hungry as you wont want to miss a single item of the best breakfast on the island. LOTS of fantastic food.

I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 957, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Horizon Guest House Hawaii/Honaunau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.