We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop if on the Kona Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Painted Church

The Painted Church
84-5140 Painted Church Rd Captain Cook, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
808-328-2227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 attractions in Honaunau
Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the stop if on the Kona Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been here twice. I think it is just amazing that a church constructed of Wood and painted walls still stands here. The cemetary is also pretty cool. It is a little building but beautiful and free of charge. Stoping here allows you to see some of the island history and just reflect on your day. Good stop if you are going to the Sacred Place or one of the coffee farms. This is just down the street from Bayview Farms, where we have gotten our coffee from for years. The Architecture is worth the stop. You can make a donation or purchase one of the little trinkets outside but there is no one there to push you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    67
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“A place of beauty and reflection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

St. Benedict Catholic Church is known locally as The Painted Church. All are welcome to visit and attend Mass at ths beautiful little building. The walls and ceilings have been lovingly painted and parishioners take pride in keeping their church open for visitors. The architecture is amazing. There is no charge to visit and tour the grounds but donations are appreciated. Outside the church is a small table filled with religious items such as saint medals, prayer cards and jewelry which can be purchased on an honor system of leaving the suggested price. A nice place to stop, take a break from sightseeing and just be still.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Sonora, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Interesting place to stop by and see one man's passion to paint the inside of the church. Very peaceful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Drove by it, & thought it was beautiful. Old and regal. It was interesting to see on the way to canoeing. I have sone other special churches, but I felt this one for where it is deserved notice. I am not particularly religious, but I love the architecture.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Another place to step back in time....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Beautifully preserved and an interesting stop on a day trip around the Big Island. It is another glimpse back at the religious development in the islands.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Painted Church also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Painted Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Painted Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Painted Church to your Saves list