We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's that good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kane Plantation Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honaunau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kane Plantation Guesthouse
Save
You added Kane Plantation Guesthouse to your Saves list
84-1120 Telephone Exchange Road, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Honaunau B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Durango, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's that good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I went to Hawaii, the Big Island, for two weeks in April. We wanted to be in a quiet place, away from the hustle and bustle of Kona, and near to great snorkeling. We are not light travelers, so we like to settle into one place and stay the whole time. We could not have chosen more perfectly. Frankly, we would not even consider staying anywhere else after our experience with David and Michael of Kane Plantation. Our suite, the Kanaloa, was beautiful and perfect! We chose it on their recommendation because of it's privacy and roominess for our two week stay. Being photographers, the lanai with sunset view was perfect, too. Even though it is "upstairs" is is not, actually. It is more on ground level with a slightly sloping walkway to the breakfast area, through that lanai style room, and to the next building entrance to the suite. It was maybe 50 steps from where we parked our car, so it was great for me with knee issues. I think we used the indoor shower once, as the outdoor shower was so wonderful with total privacy. I have to figure out how to have one at home! Half of the bedroom and living room walls slid aside to give a totally open feel and let the breeze flow through.

The breakfasts were incredible with fresh fruit, cheeses, nuts, breads, avocados, jellies, and meats. They made different smoothies each morning, which was a challenge in creativity for them as I am allergic to bananas. They were so good! They also provided almond milk for me in place of regular cows milk. The final course of the meal was a dish cooked by Chef David, omelets, french toast, poached eggs on english muffin. Yummo! They served a variety of local coffees. a different one each morning. We could have lived on just breakfast, and often did till dinner. They were willing to serve breakfast earlier, or bring a tray to our suite if we had an early departure for island adventures. The servers, Sean and Trevor I think their names are, were just so friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The suite was always perfectly cleaned, with bottled water, fresh fruit, turndown service, a chocolate treat on the bed, and a snack left on the coffee table each day.

The plantation is a working avocado farm with beautifully laid out and maintained gardens. I got wonderful photos, and the avocados were awesome. The chickens and turkeys running around were a hoot! Kane is surrounded by coffee, macadamia nut, banana, and mango farms on the hills. It is situated at about 1200 feet and is in what you would be most likely to expect vegetation wise in Hawaii. The Kona coast is quite dry, and we loved being up in a more tropical environment. There is no air conditioning and we never choose to go without, but it is absolutely true that you do not need it at Kane Plantation. We even put on sweaters sometimes in the evenings. It was so nice after spending some of the days in the hotter setting of the city and beaches. It is about 7-10 degrees cooler than on the coast. The road up to the plantation IS rough, just to warn you. You do not need an SUV, but you do have to drive carefully and slowly. The snorkeling at Two Step, by the City of Refuge, is awesomely wonderful, and is only between 5-10 minutes drive.

David and Michael, the owners and managers, were attentive to every detail and need we had. We sometimes made sandwiches from the breakfast offerings and got fruit for lunch. They made sure we had a cooler with ice, a bottle cooler for wine or sparkling water, and picnic supplies. They had snorkeling gear available. They stayed up really late the night we arrived. Our luggage got lost, so we were at the airport forever and then had to go to Walmart for supplies, so we arrived about 1:00 am. We expected to have a note telling us where our suite was, but they were up waiting for us and helped us get settled. The next day, they spent a lot of time trying to help us find our luggage. They kept an eye on us and were worried when we came home so late the night of the blood moon. We photographed it from the volcano caldera and got back about 1:30 am. They thought they might have to send out a search party.

Michael is a REALLY GREAT travel agent. He got us our car and searched out the very best companies with which to do our activities; snorkeling, helicopter, night manta ray dives, etc… We were totally thrilled with his selections. We got massages at the plantation. Very nice! Relaxing in the hammock on our lanai was wonderful, and my husband slept in it many nights.

There is so much more I could say, but we are so glad we chose Kane Plantation Guesthouse, and we are, I have to admit, pretty picky about lodging and service. Discerning travelers, I should say.

Room Tip: I loved, loved, loved, the Kanaloa Suite, and being there more than 5 nights, we got a 10% discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I travel often and have stayed at many beautiful hotels and guesthouses around the world -- this one is on the very top of our list (one of the best!). The pictures don't even do justice to the beauty and peacefulness of this place. Michael and David are incredible hosts and the staff is so friendly. We stayed in the Kawainui suite and loved it. The bed was so comfortable; the entire room beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated; the bathroom, perfect (and I'm very picky when it comes to these things!). Not to mention the lovely view from our terrace, overlooking the lush garden. The breakfast, as everyone else mentioned, was delicious -- expect to eat organic and fresh! The place is also wonderfully artful and culturally rich, having once been the home of famed Hawaiian artist, Herb Kane. Book it now before it becomes too popular and reserved for months in advance!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you are looking for breathtaking views, exceptional service, gourmet cuisine and outstanding accommodations then look no further. The service that my wife and I received at the Kane Plantation guesthouse was the best I've ever experienced in all of my travels. David and Michael not only make you feel like family they make feel like royalty as well.

The attention to detail in the suite was phenomenal. The views truly take your breath away and it felt like waking up in paradise every morning - and that is all before breakfast is served. Speaking of breakfast, did I mention it was gourmet? The food was exquisite and more than any one person could possible eat - bring your appetite! The location is perfect if you are looking for something quiet and a bit off the beaten path but just a few minutes to everything you need.

If you are looking for a bed and breakfast experience on the Big Island do NOT miss this property. My wife and I will definitely be back when we visit the Big Island again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Kane Plantation (pronounced "kahn-ay") is the former residence of Herb Kāne, an influential Hawaiian artist and historian. Set on a hillside overlooking the green, rolling landscape down to Honaunau Bay, we found it to be the perfect way to experience Hawaiian culture, history and food.

And it's a working planation! You can wander among trees heavy with avocados, macadamias, mangoes, limes, and even cacao pods. Chickens freely wander the property and lay the eggs you'll be eating for breakfast, along with ripe seasonal fruits, home-baked breads and muffins, meats and cheese and, of course, avocados. As we sat on the lanai enjoying the delicious meal, the owners and staff chatted with us, friendly and helpful, even happy to give us a tour of the whole property.

The room we stayed in (The Kawaiinui Suite) was absolutely gorgeous. A big comfortable bed and a bathroom so nice that we both lingered longer than we had to. We were greeted with fresh flowers in the room, a bottle of wine, fresh fruit and homemade chocolates, and a fridge stocked with free drinks. Soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash mouthwash and other sundries were provided.

If there are any downsides, I'd say that the bumpy and rutted dirt road up to the plantation is a bit harrowing, particularly at night, but it was nothing our little rental car couldn't handle.

Do yourself a favor and spend a few days at this charming, peaceful property. While your friends stay in soulless resort hotel rooms with impersonal service, you can have a lovely, memorable time and develop a greater appreciation of the island of Hawaii.

Room Tip: The Kawaiinui Suite, while on the ground floor, still had a perfectly good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having read a few of the reviews I can only say ditto. The location, the stunning views, the gorgeous rooms, the scrumptious breakfast are all awaiting you. Our group of six arrived on bikes for a one night stay. Michael and David were so welcoming. We had purchased food for dinner on route expecting to eat in our rooms or somewhere on the grounds. Our hosts lite a fire in the fire pit, heated our dinners and served them on plates with cutlery and, oh yes, don't forget the wine! We spent a memorable evening dining, listening to the frogs, chatting and enjoying first class wine around the fire. We were all sorry to leave and I know my husband and I have plans to return. If you really want an elegant experience, stay at the Kane Plantation.

We were also able to store our bikes close to the road and either walk through the avocado trees to the guest house or ride in comfort along with the panniers. The following day, our bags were delivered at the next overnight stay. This allowed us to do more sight seeing during the ride.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you want to be right in the middle of the lush tropical hills with a great view of the water but worlds away from the rows of high rise hotels ...If you want five star quality accomodations and service...If you appreciate fine design that incorporates the beauty of the natural world... If you want to experience the history and culture of old Hawaii... If you want to be treated to five course gourmet breakfasts, wonderful hosts, interesting conversation...If you want to discover a Hawaii you didn't know existed ( we didn't ! ) ...all within a short, albeit bumpy, drive down to the water...come to Kane Plantation and meet Michael and David who have created this magical retreat.

We stayed in the Kane Suite with the garden; the pictures don't do it justice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kane Suite, complete with its own garden! The pictures don't do it justice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Michael and David's attention to detail made the stay at Kane Plantation just perfect. David's breakfasts are scrumptious and too good to resist . Location, atmosphere and hospitality were absolutely top class. Tasteful surroundings, gorgeous views and garden. Here you gain a feeling of being thoroughly spoilt and away from the "workaday". The best value for money in all of the islands we visited. ( Oahu, Maui Big Island and Kauai)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kane Plantation Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kane Plantation Guesthouse

Address: 84-1120 Telephone Exchange Road, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse located in Captain Cook, the cultural heart of Hawaii's Big Island South Kona district, at the historic home of Artist and Historian Herb Kawainui Kane. The guesthouse is situated on a 16 acre avocado farm, with beautiful tropical gardens and sweeping views of the coast from Kealakekua Bay to Pu`uhonua O Hōnaunau. 77mi from Volcano and 26mi from Kona airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kane Plantation Guesthouse Hawaii/Honaunau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kane Plantation Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.