We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lodging, gracious hosts, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kane Plantation Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honaunau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kane Plantation Guesthouse
Save
You added Kane Plantation Guesthouse to your Saves list
84-1120 Telephone Exchange Road, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Honaunau B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect lodging, gracious hosts, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Boutique luxury accommodation set in a plantation formally the home of a artist, writer and historian Herb Kawainui Kane.

The current custodians of the property have renovated the property into 4 suites all with quality bathrooms and facilities. One of the rooms has an outside shower. Perfect.

Hosts David and Michael are passionate about offering products from their plantation farm and the local area for their service of breakfast and room bar.

If you are looking for somewhere special to stay then you must consider Kane Plantation Guesthouse.

You will need a car. You should get a 4WD. It's an elevated position in South Kona offering amazing views and sunsets.

Breakfast is delicious - juices and fruit just picked for freshness and quality. The farm has organic practices, I think certification will follow in time. But be assured you will taste avocado, pineapple, mangos, papaya, macadamia and other treats from their property.

I asked for directions to a beach. They then offered me directions to a local beach - just as we'll I had the 4WD!! It was amazing, not at all crowded, secluded. A perfect Hawaiian beach!

Consider Kane (pronounced : Karnay) Plantation Guesthouse. I am absolutely confident it will exceed any 5 star hotel property for service and accommodation - for less then half the price!

There is no pool - but the beach absolutely makes up for that. The hot tub can sooth you into further relaxation if you need it. I had a fantastic massage in their treatment suite - perfect!

Room Tip: Kane Suite is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This B&B is a real gem, and was the perfect place to spend some time relaxing in the middle of an adventurous Hawaiian vacation. We stayed in the Kane Suite, which is absolutely gorgeous, but very comfy too. We had booked it for two nights and ended up staying for four. It's nice just to hang out at the inn (you can watch the sunset from the hot tub), but it's also a short drive down to some beautiful bays where the snorkeling or paddle boarding is fantastic.

Not only is the setting lovely, but the hosts are wonderful and David is an amazing cook! I look forward to staying with them again, and will definitely send all of my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If luxurious accommodation is "your thing" (It is mine); if watching fireball sunsets from your private lanai over a drink or two sounds appealing; if waking up to the magical quiet of nature whilst drinking in the view over the lush plantation to the sea from your incredibly comfortable king bed also sounds right up your alley ... then do yourself a favour and book into Kane Plantation Guesthouse. This was the final resting place for artist and historian Herb Kawainui Kane, and his vision and artistry is evident in the guesthouse and on the plantation. Hosts Michael and David have succeeded in honouring his memory, have provided many special touches of their own, and are passionate about ensuring your stay on the Island of Hawaii will provide nothing but happy memories.

I stayed there recently in the beautiful Kanaloa suite and, over a 10 day period, found the location provided an excellent base from which to tour the many local sights and downtown Kailua-Kona, and also to tour the whole island (I recommend 4 nights for the latter). I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Kane Plantation B&B is the perfect hideaway. Situated high above the coastline, the view from the lanai provides for spectacular sunsets that dip into the ocean. My wife and I stayed in the Kane Suite which has sliding glass doors on opposite sides, one facing the lanai and the other a private pond and adjacent Zen garden. The food on the veranda was served superbly and was delicious. Your hosts take care of your every need. Although secluded, the plantation is not far from Kona, and such interesting sites as the City of Refuge, the Painted Church and the Captain Cook memorial. If you want an upper class accommodation in a quiet serene and historic location, this is it. Historic because this was the one time home of artist Herb Kane.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This beautiful boutique guesthouse offers private accommodation with details and service found in top five star resorts. winding your way through coffee and avocado orchards high above the coastline , you will come to a very private, lush, exotic B&B with serenity and service guaranteed. The hosts are in the business of keeping you enchanted. The Plantation is abuzz with natures delights. The view is astounding. The quiet is a blessing. And not far from your doorstep are the beaches and trails, golf clubs and restaurants that make a trip to Hawaii an ever satisfying adventure. Not only is Kane Plantation a high end hideaway, it is home to one of Hawaii's artistic legends. If what you need is enchantment, peace and a week of fun in the sun, don't follow the maddening crowd, give yourself a very very special treat and stay at Kane Plantation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed at an amazing B&B in Kona. It's ideally located with quick access to the main highway, but far enough away to make you forget civilization even exists! It's nestled among a beautiful orchard with breathtaking views of the bay. You won't believe the sunsets! The suites are impeccable and beyond that, just plain stunning! You’ll have to be careful, because you could easily just stay in your suite without ever leaving. The owners, both extremely personable, yet completely respectful of your privacy, were amazing hosts! The service was incredible and the condiments in your room and mini fridge are free. Yes, I said FREE! The morning breakfast was delicious! Our rooms were always meticulously cleaned and there was even evening turn down service. From what I could tell, there really isn’t a suite that has a bad view. They all look out on the bay. This is a great place for couples. I can’t think of a more romantic destination. We will definitely be booking there again!

Room Tip: I would have to say that the Kane Suite and the Kanaloa Suite take the cake! Both have incredible vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Last week we had the pleasure of staying at this lovely new B&B at Captain Cook. We have been to Hawaii for beach holidays many times, on this visit we wanted to experience the old Hawaii and stay at a higher altitude where the air is fresh and the weather perfect for sleeping and relaxing. The Kane Plantation is a successful and operational avocado farm, thus we enjoyed many delicious avocados and some interesting avocado dishes for breakfast. The breakfast is served on a lovely Lanai overlooking the sea and the beautiful tropical gardens.

Our room was very spacious with a bedroom where we could lie in bed in the morning and look down to the bay where Captain Cook was killed. A very good spot for snorkeling. The highlight of the room were the many paintings and memories of the famous Hawaiian artist Herb Kane. The hosts have gone to great lengths and expense to keep alive the love Herb Kane had for Hawaii and this beautiful plantation.

We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the owners and the two great staff helping them.

Kane Plantation is not you run of the mill B&b, rather a luxurious resort in the perfect environment.

We will be back

The other feature we enjoyed every day was the outdoor shower where we could overlook a private tropical garden.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kane Plantation Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kane Plantation Guesthouse

Address: 84-1120 Telephone Exchange Road, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse located in Captain Cook, the cultural heart of Hawaii's Big Island South Kona district, at the historic home of Artist and Historian Herb Kawainui Kane. The guesthouse is situated on a 16 acre avocado farm, with beautiful tropical gardens and sweeping views of the coast from Kealakekua Bay to Pu`uhonua O Hōnaunau. 77mi from Volcano and 26mi from Kona airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kane Plantation Guesthouse Hawaii/Honaunau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kane Plantation Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.