We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home, but better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Ho'ola B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hale Ho'ola B&B to your Saves list
Hale Ho'ola B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   85-4577 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8500   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Home away from Home, but better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

When we knew we had the chance for a short hop to another island, we knew we wanted to stay with Mary and Bob again. Breakfast was wonderful. Mary's flowers and fresh fruits were in full bloom. And Bob made sure we saw the best secrets of the island in the short time we had for this visit.
As I mentioned, this is our second stay with Mary and Bob - the first was the result of their taking us in with our four kids when we couldn't remember the name of our prepaid B&B and didn't have our reservation confirmation! This time it was just the two of us. So whether you are looking for a comfortable place for your family to call home for a little while or a romantic and scenic get away retreat - this is it.
I hope we can come back with the kids again soon and rent out the entire first floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    33
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
101
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

It was like staying at someone's grandparents basement. The room did not feel very clean. I found a dead cockroach in the bathroom. The bed was squeaky and could use new sheets, and more blankets. The roosters were pretty loud at 5am!

Breakfast was mediocre...they could serve more fresh fruits, and pastries. Although they had a local guy cook one day and he made delicious banana pancakes!

I wouldn't recommend this place...I would stay somewhere else when I go back to that part of the island.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The pictures you see of Hale Ho'ola B&B and the fabulous reviews you read are all true! Wonderful, roomy suite with private bath and porch/deck off of the room to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. Wonderful breakfasts each morning and truly caring hosts. Bob and Mary are exceptional and we always felt special. We wanted something different for our first trip to Hawaii, and are so happy we chose Hale Ho'ola B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The breakfasts were wonderful, the room comfy, and the hosts friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights here. On our 1st morning we had to leave by 7 am for a kayak/snorkeling trip. Mary delivered a lovely breakfast to us at 6:15 am. We enjoyed juice,coffee, fruit, and bacon, egg, & cheese "mcmuffins" all in to go packages. The next morning we had breakfast on the lanai with Mary & Bob. Mary prepared tropical pancakes, YUM!! Lots of delicious local fruit and coffee. Our room was comfy and we loved our little private porch that faced the nature behind the building.Bob provided us with wonderful restaurant options for lunch and dinner. A lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our hosts Bob and Mary were very friendly, kind, generous and accommodating. With Bob’s knowledge of the Big Island, he was able to do some bookings for us at the last minute and also advise us on the best routes to take etc. We even managed to buy a book from Bob on Big Island (Big Island Revealed)which we had been looking for everywhere. Everybody is commenting about Mary’s breakfasts and we found that it was so good that we used to spend a lot of time eating and chatting in the lanai and gazing at the beautiful scenery. They gave us a list of restaurants and descriptions about each eating place so that we could select where to have our meals.
The place has a nice meeting room for all the guests, beach equipment to take with you to the beach, Kailua Kona a ten minute drive away, a nice lanai with good views, which seems a good place to enjoy your takeaways. The colourful Caribbean lizards provide ample photography opportunities, but can get a bit too close during breakfast time. True to its name, it really is a place of healing and if you are open, magic happens!
Bernadette

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Mary and Bob are very friendly hosts and very helpful with plenty of recommendations on great places to eat ( a detailed list is available for the asking.) The beds were firm and comfortable which is often not the case elsewhere. We had a great night's sleep. The breakfast was a delightfully varied assortment of tropical fruits, home-made breads and a delicious cheese, mushroom and ham frittata, served to us on a deck overlooking the ocean while we were being entertained by a troupe of curious green geckos checking out the eats.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Ho'ola B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'ola B&B

Address: 85-4577 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'ola B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale-Ho'Ola B&B is 20 miles South of Kailua on the Big Island. It is a two story plantation style house nestled among tropical plants & flowers, offering a panoramic view of the ocean & unforgettable sunsets. South Kona has the Old Hawaiian flavor, with countryside, coffee farms & quaint little towns. Within 10 mins of:-Snorkeling & Swimming Beaches-with dolphins & turtles-Famous Painted Church-Place of Refuge Historic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hale Ho'ola B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Ola B&B Hawaii/Honaunau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Ho'ola B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.