We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone Should Visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of the Marine Corps

National Museum of the Marine Corps
18900 Jefferson Davis Hwy., Triangle, VA 22172
+1 877-653-1775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Triangle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Museum of the Marine Corps is a lasting tribute to U.S. Marines--past, present, and future. Situated on a 135-acre site adjacent to Marine Corps Base Quantico, Virginia, and under the command of Marine Corps University, the Museum's soaring design evokes the image of the flag-raisers of Iwo Jima and beckons visitors to this 120,000-square-foot structure. World-class interactive exhibits using the most innovative technology surround visitors with irreplaceable artifacts and immerse them in the sights and sounds of Marines in action. Admission and parking are always free.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Emlenton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everyone Should Visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Everyone should visit the Marine Corps Museum! This is an excellent museum. The cleanest place ever! Tun Tavern inside the museum is a great place to eat. I love this place. You must visit!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    21
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a great museum, full of engaging artifacts & exhibits. The museum is a pristine example of the attention to detail the Corps is known for. Spectacular and offers something for everyone, no matter their age. Plenty of hands on exhibits and chances for the little ones to experience the Corps. There are hats, costumes and engaging hands on opportunities for them.

There are plenty of full room exhibits and lots of BIG STUFF like tanks, planes and LVT's. Lots of technology too. The Battle for the Chosin Reservoir is full of sights and sounds of the battle and being enclosed in an air-conditioned room made you feel as though you were in the midst of the fight.

We paid the $3 for the audio tour, which I highly recommend. Lots of info and background, too. The only downside is that there is a lot of audio in the exhibits and sometimes those sounds overlapped with the audio tour. No worries. We adapted and overcame by pausing the tour until the exhibit sounds were finished.

We ate at the Tun Tavern and the food as well as the staff were fantastic. Not pricey at all and the food was homemade.

One thing that could have made our trip better would have been a larger and more in-depth Iraq & Afghanistan Wars section. The wars, which have both cost thousands of our Devil Dog Heroes' lives is pretty much limited to a series of photos. Being the parents of 3 Marines who have all had multiple deployments to combat theaters of Iraq & Afghanistan, we were disappointed.

We went to the museum intending to spend a couple hours at most but wound up staying pretty much all day. Highly recommend this museum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Day long visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This place was great. I had heard a lot of great reviews. I concur with them all.

It is free admission. Marines at front desk were extremely helpful.

Museum was immaculate and every inch was interesting. Can't wait to see the expansion in a few years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“visited with our marine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our Marine and I loved the exhibits and talking with the staff. The staff are very proud to be Marines as they tell the stories of the Corps. The first Marine asked where we from and pointed a Marine in the gallery walls as one from our area. I looked all the planes you can see from the second deck. i learn allot but need to go back to learn more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Way to Escape DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to get away from DC for the day on a Sunday and stumbled upon the Marine Corps Museum while taking a little drive around VA. We had driven past the Marine Corps Museum before but not taken the time to visit. It's visible from I-95 and only about 2 minutes from the exit. I would say that the museum itself is basically a Smithsonian devoted to military (Marine focused) history. In my opinion it is actually a better visit than any of the Smithsonian's; the theater video is great, the exhibits are extremely lively and interesting, and the museum is staffed by Marines so it's spotless. It's absolutely worth the drive down from DC. After an hour or two at the museum, you might think about visiting one of the area wineries to mellow out (we visited Potomac Point Winery about 5 minutes away).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the Marine Corps also viewed

Triangle, Prince William County
 
Dumfries, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to National Museum of the Marine Corps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of the Marine Corps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.