We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campground -- Don't expect 5 Star Hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinnacles Campground Inc

Pinnacles Campground Inc
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paicines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinnacles Campground Inc
5000 HWY 146, Paicines, CA 95043   |  
Hotel amenities
san jose
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Campground -- Don't expect 5 Star Hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a nice campground for folks that like to hike and see nature. It gets hot hot hot there in the summer, so if you can swing it go in the spring when stuff is blooming and beautiful and the caves are accessible.

This is OUTDOOR camping, so you will get lots of bugs and pests (raccoon, lizards, quail, deer, etc). Get over it, you're in their home.

You can spend about $23 per night for a slightly crowded camp site (#32 was pretty nice and relatively close to the bathrooms), or get some friends to go and get a group site. They are SOOOO much better. We had #134 which let us pitch a bunch of tents under a grove of trees. You'll have a ton more room to spread out and more privacy. It's well worth it. Cost for a group site is $75 per night. Even if you're one or two families...it's worth the extra dime if you like your space. (Seriously, a hotel would have cost a lot more...right?)

#134 is about a block to the nearest restroom, so if you have a week bladder, this is not for you. It was great for a group of 50 somethings and teenagers however.

Bring flashlights as many of the restrooms don't have lights in them (even at night!). Also, if you are picky about your toilet paper (like you want something you can't see through), bring your own TP and maybe toilet seat covers. Showers are not very clean, but functional...wear your flip flops in there to protect yourself.

This campground has a pool and a general store (that keeps short hours). Cell phone coverage works if you have Verizon, but not AT&T or Sprint. (Unless you climb to the highest peak of the Pinnacles, then you have a moment of coverage). There is no WIFI either.

Currently there's a high fire danger (as there was in June on my first visit). That means NO fires. Plan an alternate way of cooking. It's a long ways to the nearest town...so definitely bring in your own food and don't plan to get more later unless you plan to blow off a good part of a day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This campground was thoughtfully designed and well maintained and managed! Ample restrooms, group and individual sites, as well as rv sites too. No generators allowed, but that keeps things nice and quiet. Easy access to trailheads and there is a store and a pool on site. The staff is very friendly. Book early and expect a crowd on the weekends. If you want to drive to the trailheads be sure to go early! The line for the shuttle can get long and the hike on bench trail to the other trailheads will add about 2.5 miles to your hike. We stayed in site 52 loop c nonelectric. This site was one of the best we say. Great shade, nice flat private space for the tent and close to water. Near the restrooms, but not so close the traffic would be be bothersome. I would go back anytime!!

Room Tip: Pick sites that say shade or partial shade in the description. Look at the map to avoid having close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Pinnacles. We stayed in the RV loop where the sites are spread out nicely and each site has electrical hookups. The weather was perfect. We hiked and watched the rock climbers. Even saw condors soaring high up on the ridge tops! We arrived in the early afternoon and had no problems checking in. However, later in the day the camp store had a very long line of people waiting. It seems like they need to work out some organizational issues. The rangers we not busy, but the clerk was overwhelmed. We will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

You have to get an account with Recreation.gov to book at Pinnacles. It is really the only place to stay if you are going to hike multiple days. It's not too bad during the week in the early Spring. Before Easter there was no problem on the weekend, either. It appears to be extremely family friendly--if I had small children I might rate it even higher.

We were awakened by coyotes, but we didn't see any feral pigs, and we were close enough to the bathrooms. There is a drive, or a several mile hike to the main trailheads on the East Side.

It was very clean and quiet, but we were the only campers in Loop A.

  • Liked — I felt safe, it was clean and inexpensive.
  • Disliked — The distance to the trailheads.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paicines
Quality Inn 4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews Valley Harvest Inn 3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews Keefer's Inn 4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Paicines, ranked by popularity

Been to Pinnacles Campground Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacles Campground Inc

Address: 5000 HWY 146, Paicines, CA 95043
Location: United States > California > Paicines
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Paicines
Also Known As:
Pinnacles Campground Inc Hotel Paicines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinnacles Campground Inc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pinnacles Campground Inc to your Saves list