We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and no a bad stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Albuquerque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Albuquerque to your Saves list
Courtyard Albuquerque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Journal Center Boulevard, Albuquerque, NM 87109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #57 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location and no a bad stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location was prefect for my wife and me, as we were finishing our road trip. The room was nice, but a little cramped and it would have been nice to have some of the same amenities that we often find at other Marriott locations (such as coffee and hot water [for tea] in the lobby). Other than a few minor improvements that would be nice, we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin T, General Manager at Courtyard Albuquerque, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving comments on your experience here. Your feedback is vital to our success.
So glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay, We look forward to another visit in the future.

Sincerely,

Justin Telford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
21
25
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This Courtyard has an excellent lobby for working or grabbing a bite to eat. It's "Bistro" is perfect for a quick Starbucks and yogurt in the morning and a salad a night. Great internet connection and all the amenities you want in a Marriott. Customer Service was excellent. Gym was lacking - treadmill belt slipped etc. but nice to work out alone and not too crowded. The only bad thing about the location was the construction.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin T, General Manager at Courtyard Albuquerque, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your experience, we truly rely on feedback from our guests to ensure a improved and more positive stay.
I am very happy that you have found the new BISTRO and renovated Lobby to be perfect and excellent. Additionally that the Customer Service was excellent, its the team that makes the difference here.
I do want to apologize for your experience in the Gym and for the freeway construction. We do have a company that comes and does quarterly service on all our machines, to ensure they operate smoothly and safely. We have notified them about the belt and will be here to address.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Justin Telford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I choose this hotel because my husband and I attended a bowling tournament in Bernalillo, NM, and we had a nice experience at this Courtyard on our way back from Colorado Springs, Co in May of 2013. We also lived in Rio Rancho, NM so we felt pretty confident staying there.

The lobby was clean and inviting, so first impressions were great until we tried checking in.

Our experience this time was just average. When we checked in you could tell there was a shortage in staff, the desk attendant was actually from a different property and filling in for a shift. The computer system was down and check in was manual. I did appreciate that we still could check in and the attendant assured us that our credit card information would be destroyed when the computer system came up and all information was keyed in.

We requested a room on the opposite side of the freeway and asked for balcony. We were accommodated, however the balcony was only large enough to stand outside, we thought that since the balcony faced outside then it would be larger versus facing the courtyard.I wasn't as disappointed as I could have been if we stayed in the warmer months.

The bar area was totally empty at 3:00 in the afternoon. it would have been nice to have been able to enjoy an afternoon drink, but no bartender and all alcohol was locked away. This seemed very strange especially when you look at their website this is one of their amenities., and the restaurants in the area had happy hour starting at 3:00. The restaurant isn't really a restaurant. They offer at best appetizers so don't exp a nice sit down meal, you will have to enjoy the restaurants in the area and there are plenty of them. We enjoyed happy hour and a good sit down meal at a nearby restaurant.

The towel rack fell down in the bathroom and the desk attendant said she would send up the engineer, but that never happened. You could tell that housekeeping just put the towel rack back up but it kept falling down.

The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were too soft, your head just sunk, had to use a couple of pillows just to prop your head up.

All in all our stay wasn't unpleasant, but definitely not as good as it should have been, especially for the nightly rate. Hilton Garden Inn and Hampton Inn properties have surpassed, especially with the warm cookies that Hilton properties offer. The next time we come to Albuquerque our first choice will be Hilton properties.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of the freeway much quieter. If you want to enjoy the pool I would sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvederian
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Room was worn and showing its age. Fingernail clippings in the sink. Understaffed, so had to wait for front desk staff for 3 minutes to check in. Business traveler amenities were basic. Support for meeting room use was just about adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here on September 25th 2013 for a business meeting. My second stay at this property. I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. They happily accepted my request to change my room to one not on the freeway side of the hotel. I'm not sure how old the hotel is, but it is well maintained. The room was comfortable, and very clean. There is a restaurant/bar in the hotel. Nothing gourmet, but a nice selection if you are too tired to drive somewhere else. One small word of caution. The City of Albuquerque is planning a major construction project at the I25-Paseo del Norte interchange which is adjacent to this hotel. The city had a press briefing at the hotel during my stay. Not sure when the construction will start, but it could potentially have an impact on noise, dust and access.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The location is very convenient for the balloon festival, tram and nearby casino. The hotel has a lovely courtyard area with an indoor pool and small workout room. The staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. Food purchased at the hotel was surprisingly good for a hotel.
As far as the room goes, I agree with an earlier post mentioning "refreshed" rather than updated rooms. The extremely dark colored carpeting tends to have an older look, even if it were a recent update. My room had a king sized bed, but it was on the hard side and although there were several pillows they were either thick and lumpy or rather flat. The room was small and the bathroom was also quite small with an odd layout. The light switch was located behind the door which required you to walk into the room and basically close the door before you could reach the light switch (try not to trip over the toilet in the dark). The area above the bathroom sink had a lowered ceiling which is a challenge if you're trying to blow dry your hair. I am also not a big fan of window A/C units. The unit was so loud when the fan kicked on (and there was no way to keep it going non-stop) that every time it started up it woke me. I eventually had to turn it off which allowed the room to warm up more than I would have preferred.
Fortunately my room was located on the courtyard side because some other guests located on the highway side did mention there was traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This Courtyard appeared very clean and well kept and the staff was friendly, however our room had bedbugs. My fiance' had 102 bites below his waist alone. I was bit as well, but not as badly. We tried repeatedly to talk to the staff concerning this issue and have left several messages but have not received any compensation or acknowledgement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin T, General Manager at Courtyard Albuquerque, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We as a staff are troubled by your experience, just as much as you were dissatisfied. We don't ever anticipate having this type of issue, but we do have our pest prevention program in place.
We have detector kits that are used and have monthly inspections by a certified technician.

I do appreciate your staying with us and for the comments shared. You as a guest, our are report card and we take every comment seriously to improve our product and service.

Sincerely,

Justin Telford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Albuquerque

Address: 5151 Journal Center Boulevard, Albuquerque, NM 87109
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Albuquerque 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Courtyard
Albuquerque Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.