We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Old Town
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I paid $69 for a room with two double (or maybe queen?) beds and stayed one night. Although the rooms are not plush/super high quality, the room was *extremely* clean and everything was in good condition. (I also thought the decor/motif was a little more contemporary than other hotels in this price range - not that that really matters.) Also, as others have said, the breakfast is great. Really stocked - waffles, cereal, eggs, sausage, coffee, fruit. A really nice spread. Also, the front desk folks are exceptionally nice and accommodating. I didn't have the chance to see much of the city, but the hotel is near the Old Town, which is quaint with lots of shops & restaurants. I would recommend this hotel for folks looking for a decent value & a clean room. It's above average for this price point, in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear AES77,

Wow! Thank you for such a thorough review! We are in the middle of remodeling all our rooms, and we truly appreciate the feedback from our guests! We hope you have the opportunity to come back when it is all complete!

Cleanliness is something we are very serious about. Our housekeeping team works hard to make sure everything is ready for you when you check in.

I'm delighted to hear you thought so highly of our breakfast! We want our guests to leave full....and happy. Please come back so you can come see more of Albuquerque!

Travel Safe!
Elena M., Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    96
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
59
123
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean rooms, good breakfast, excellent customer service. Really close of Old Town.
Pretty good quality/price ratio. The only negative point would be that the room are a little old and would need to be renovated. Besides that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Plucreid,

Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge Old Town while you were in Albuquerque! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and found so many positive things about your visit. We greatly appreciate your recommendation to others! Thank you!

We are actually in the process of renovating our rooms. We recently put all new bedding in our hotel, added microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, and flat screen televisions to each room. We are working on adding beautiful wood floors to our rooms, with hopes of having that complete in the next few months. We hope you will come back and see the beautiful finished product, or you can check out our new Facebook page!

Thanks again for staying with us!

Elena M., Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this Econo Lodge for two reasons; it's proximity to Old Town Plaza, and the reasonable price charged being so close to the Plaza. My husband and I are seniors with not so good knees, yet we walked down the main road, a quick left and a right and we were there to a step back in time. The Econo Lodge is typical in it's design with two stories, and parking in front of your room. There is no elevator. Each stairway has a landing halfway up so although we were lodged upstairs the climb wasn't difficult. The decor is southwestern. We had a double queen room which was typically arranged. It was tidy, neat and most importantly clean. Those are the reasons I would go back again. Now I will tell you why I would go out of my way to go back again. This family operated business has heart. They will go out of there way to pick up people stranded on the highway. The lodger in the room next to us was a young over-the-road trucker whose rig broke down on the interstate. The owner went out and picked the young fellow up. The next day took him back to his truck, and brought him back again. He will help that kid out until he's back on the road. Whichever family member is at the desk will greet you with a smile. There is a large bowl of fresh fruit with apples, oranges and bananas ready for you all day, and a 24 hour coffee pot, and fixin's for tea. Before we left the owner asked my husband "how can we improve, what can we do to make it better?" A fun element that our neighbor tried was a gas-powered bicycle. He rode all over town with it, and said it was great fun! I highly recommend this lodge. We didn't expect the "Grand Plaza; we got what we wanted, a comfortable place to rest on Old Highway 66. P.S. There is a nice heated indoor pool and jacuzzi!

Room Tip: Seniors ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Claire,

You humble us with your praise. Thank you for your kind words and thoughtful review. We are a family run hotel who has put our whole hearts into this property. It is another one of our children! We think of each and every guest as just an extension of our family. We want you to feel like you are coming home when you walk through our door. We are always happy to help in any way possible. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Thank you again,
Elena M., Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in the perfect location! It is not far off the highway and close to restaurants, stores, gas stations and attractions. ABQ Biopark is within walking distance as is Old Town! The staff is very friendly and helpful! And the breakfast is delicious! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all my family and friends!!

Room Tip: Top floor has never had pets in rooms, although they are allowed on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mmorissette,

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending our property to others! That is truly the greatest compliment you can give to us.

We value your comments and we are thrilled you had a memorable stay with us. As you did during your stay, we want our guests’ to take full advantage of what Econo Lodge Old Town and our town has to offer.

Best wishes,

Elena M.
Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice rooms, clean and not too expensive. The pool and sauna were great. Breakfast was free and hot..............which the kids loved because there is a waffle iron. Yum!!! Close to zoo and biopark. Excellent customer service!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Marlys R,

Guest comfort and satisfaction is something we take great pride in providing to all of our valued guests, so I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit so much!
I have passed along your compliments to the housekeeping staff and they thank you for recognizing their hard work. I am delighted your kids loved our waffle iron, it is so fun to be able to make your own waffles in the morning.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are in town!

Best wishes,

Elena M.
Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel, sandwiched between a gas station and a tire repair store, is on a seedy strip just outside the Old Town of Albuquerque on Old Route 66. Think 1950s motel--two stories, park in front of your room--and you have the picture. However, the room we had was freshly painted, the furniture, although not the best quality, was new-ish, and everything was clean. My main complaint was that the air conditioner either pumped in hot air from outside with the steady noise of a fan (good for sleeping), or the cooling element of the a/c cycled off and on (NOT good for sleeping). Breakfast, in a room far too small to accommodate the crush of people, was surprisingly good.
There are three advantages to this inn. First, the price, which is low. Second, the front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. And third, which is the main reason we chose it, you can walk to Old Town in 15 minutes, and to the botanical gardens in the opposite direction in 15 minutes. We like to park the car after a long drive and walk to wherever we want to go, and this inn fit the bill.
So, if you're willing to put up with the surroundings, you'll find the location close to everything, and the inn does its best with what must be a 60-year-old facility.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Forsl,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Good or bad we want to hear what our guest have to say. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and our friendly staff. Our location is a huge plus. We are close to many of Albuquerque's sights to see. I agree, after being in a car for hours it feels good to walk places for a change!

I'm sorry to hear you had issues with your air conditioner. Please always contact the front desk with any issues so that we can try to fix them while you are still in house. We want you to have the most comfortable stay possible.

Our location was built in 1999 and we opened for business in 2000. Even though we are only 15 years old we are constantly working on updating and making our hotel the best it can be. We are currently in the process of changing out our flooring and other big projects are planned. We hope you come back to see the finished product!

Best Wishes,
Elena M., Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location to old town. Walking distance to all of the old town area. Good breakfast and friendly staff very helpful. With all information. We enjoyed our time here I understand they will be doing some Reno actions in the near future to make this hotel a little more updated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear condo204,

Yes we have some great things in store for this hotel! We have already started on the guest rooms. I am so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast. The staff thanks you for the compliment.

Please come and see us again!

Best wishes,

Elena M.
Owner
505-243-8475
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#10 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.