We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return To Old Town Econo Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Old Town to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Old Town
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Return To Old Town Econo Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well I did it, I returned to Econ Lodge on Central this year. Every March I take a vacation to Albuquerque Old town and ride to Santa Fe on New Mexico railrunner for Bead Fest for the day.
I stay at Econ Lodge because it is near everything I need. It is 2 blocks from Old town, restaurants, shopping and about 3 miles from downtown. Good trip for a senior.

When I returned I was more so surprised. Last year it had changed hands and the New owners, John and Alice were ever so helpful and friendly. Tell them I sent you. lol. It had been cleaned up ( which I knew my room would be spotless) and repairs were coming along. This year, I came to find the breakfast area had been remodeled and John was a good chef.
They are ever so helpful with transportation, and very suggestive on where to get items if you need them. There is a Walgreens right there also.
John also rents bikes to help get around quite reasonable. They are not far from the Rio Grande River Park which has trails.
I chose to also visit the Natural History Museum which is a must if you have children. It is in walking distance.
I can't believe how they have taken the stress out of my yearly adventure, Thank You Econ Lodge and John and Alice.

Room Tip: I stay in 105 or 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The senior rate was a very reasonable price. The room was clean and the breakfast was better than most at this price. My only complaint was that the walls in-between rooms were thin, so you heard every noise from rooms on both sides of your room. It was walking distance to Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

There are surprisingly few hotel options near Albuquerque's Old Town. They basically fall into two categories: Expensive or sketchy. Fortunately Econo Lodge is there to save the day (or the night, as it were). We stay here every time we visit Albuquerque. It's a simple, reasonably priced place that is clean and well-maintained. The owners are terrific people - very friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. And the free breakfast is great, with a much better selection than you'll typically find at similar hotels. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AcornMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

It was a wonderful respite from the usual hotel service. The owner was very helpful in every aspect. She upgraded our room when we needed a first floor room. There was no extra charge and she thought of the upgrade. The restaurant recommendation was the best we had on our trip. It was such a great stay that we wanted to stay longer, but couldn't. Breakfast good and did I mention that our room was clean?

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The new owners are outstanding. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast and front desk staff were great. We met family from Phoenix and we came from Denver it was a half way point for both of us. They recommended great Happy Hour restaurants and even offered to drop us off and pick us up. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed three nights while enjoying the beautiful area. I had booked the king bed suite which was $5 more than the king bed room. I am so glad I did so much more room by having a couch and coffee table in there as well as a lounge chair right next to it. It just gave a bigger area when you walked in rather than walking into a room with the bed right there. The one thing I enjoyed was there was plenty of lighting and bright lights as well. Some places you can barely see in the room - not here it was great. There was also a small fridge and microwave. The room smelled great - it was clean - the bathroom was bright and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The couple running the motel were so nice - so helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our laptop and he came right over to the room to see if he could help - his wi fi was fine it was our computer that had the problem. I know they had a hot breakfast waffles - eggs - sausage - potatoes and I believe cold items as well. I didn't eat the breakfast so I can't comment on the food. Coffee is what I have and that was good. We enjoyed our stay and most definitely would stay there again when we come back to Albuquerque.

Room Tip: If you can get a suite it was only $5 more - you get so much more room and besides both rooms were p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My family needed a place to stay fast for a last minute family trip. We only stayed 2 days here on the way to a different location but this was a better stay than some of the other places we stayed on our trip. The rooms were very inexpensive so I wasn't expecting the rooms to be so nice. I was so wrong. The rooms were spotless and smelled great. Fresh clean smell not a fake cover up. We also got help from the front desk taking our luggage up stairs. We even saw some hot air balloons from our window early in the morning. Indoor pool (small) and hot breakfast was the cherry on the cake. Plus the location was next to major attractions. One block from old town and down the street from the biological park and walgreens steps away (our daughter got a little sick) Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lixxy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#16 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Comfort Inn Albuquerque Airport
#15 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing