We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return To Old Town Econo Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Old Town to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Old Town
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Return To Old Town Econo Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well I did it, I returned to Econ Lodge on Central this year. Every March I take a vacation to Albuquerque Old town and ride to Santa Fe on New Mexico railrunner for Bead Fest for the day.
I stay at Econ Lodge because it is near everything I need. It is 2 blocks from Old town, restaurants, shopping and about 3 miles from downtown. Good trip for a senior.

When I returned I was more so surprised. Last year it had changed hands and the New owners, John and Alice were ever so helpful and friendly. Tell them I sent you. lol. It had been cleaned up ( which I knew my room would be spotless) and repairs were coming along. This year, I came to find the breakfast area had been remodeled and John was a good chef.
They are ever so helpful with transportation, and very suggestive on where to get items if you need them. There is a Walgreens right there also.
John also rents bikes to help get around quite reasonable. They are not far from the Rio Grande River Park which has trails.
I chose to also visit the Natural History Museum which is a must if you have children. It is in walking distance.
I can't believe how they have taken the stress out of my yearly adventure, Thank You Econ Lodge and John and Alice.

Room Tip: I stay in 105 or 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    116
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
154
47
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The senior rate was a very reasonable price. The room was clean and the breakfast was better than most at this price. My only complaint was that the walls in-between rooms were thin, so you heard every noise from rooms on both sides of your room. It was walking distance to Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

There are surprisingly few hotel options near Albuquerque's Old Town. They basically fall into two categories: Expensive or sketchy. Fortunately Econo Lodge is there to save the day (or the night, as it were). We stay here every time we visit Albuquerque. It's a simple, reasonably priced place that is clean and well-maintained. The owners are terrific people - very friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. And the free breakfast is great, with a much better selection than you'll typically find at similar hotels. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

It was a wonderful respite from the usual hotel service. The owner was very helpful in every aspect. She upgraded our room when we needed a first floor room. There was no extra charge and she thought of the upgrade. The restaurant recommendation was the best we had on our trip. It was such a great stay that we wanted to stay longer, but couldn't. Breakfast good and did I mention that our room was clean?

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The new owners are outstanding. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast and front desk staff were great. We met family from Phoenix and we came from Denver it was a half way point for both of us. They recommended great Happy Hour restaurants and even offered to drop us off and pick us up. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed three nights while enjoying the beautiful area. I had booked the king bed suite which was $5 more than the king bed room. I am so glad I did so much more room by having a couch and coffee table in there as well as a lounge chair right next to it. It just gave a bigger area when you walked in rather than walking into a room with the bed right there. The one thing I enjoyed was there was plenty of lighting and bright lights as well. Some places you can barely see in the room - not here it was great. There was also a small fridge and microwave. The room smelled great - it was clean - the bathroom was bright and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The couple running the motel were so nice - so helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our laptop and he came right over to the room to see if he could help - his wi fi was fine it was our computer that had the problem. I know they had a hot breakfast waffles - eggs - sausage - potatoes and I believe cold items as well. I didn't eat the breakfast so I can't comment on the food. Coffee is what I have and that was good. We enjoyed our stay and most definitely would stay there again when we come back to Albuquerque.

Room Tip: If you can get a suite it was only $5 more - you get so much more room and besides both rooms were p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

My family needed a place to stay fast for a last minute family trip. We only stayed 2 days here on the way to a different location but this was a better stay than some of the other places we stayed on our trip. The rooms were very inexpensive so I wasn't expecting the rooms to be so nice. I was so wrong. The rooms were spotless and smelled great. Fresh clean smell not a fake cover up. We also got help from the front desk taking our luggage up stairs. We even saw some hot air balloons from our window early in the morning. Indoor pool (small) and hot breakfast was the cherry on the cake. Plus the location was next to major attractions. One block from old town and down the street from the biological park and walgreens steps away (our daughter got a little sick) Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#10 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.