We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Old Town
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

So, right now you are planning a trip into ABQ and need an inexpensive place to stay for a night or two. Choose this one, you won't be disappointed. Has everything you need. Owners are very kind and accommodating, willing to go out of their way to help. Room is a great size, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, couch. The breakfast was MUCH better than expected at a chain hotel. Hot breakfast with sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, eggs, hash browns. As well as cereal and the usual waffles. You can walk into Old Town from here and my wife did a nice run from the hotel on some of ABQ's trails. Overall, a great place! Recommended.

Room Tip: With AAA the price was the same for the King "Suite". Has a couch and a little more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    79
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
105
33
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked online with TripAdvisor. Check in was good; the clerk spent some time with the folks in front of me to fully resolve all of their questions. While I was waiting, I read the hotel supplied newspaper, and reviewed the stand with all of the brochures for the local sites. Check in was fast, efficient, and the young lady was very friendly and efficient. We had asked for a room on the ground floor near the front desk, and we received what we asked for. The room was very clean and orderly. Cable T.V. was great, wifi was great, the restroom was clean and worked well. My only complaint was that it would have been nice to stay longer in albuquerque at this Econo Lodge. Oh yeah, breakfast was good as well, coffee, juice, eggs, waffles, etc... Fully recommend for anyone traveling through the area.

Room Tip: Book Online, and ask for what you want. We only saw one room, but by the looks of things, and the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Visiting family in Gallup, wanted to see the Albuquerque Aquarium and Old Town before flying back home. The Econo Lodge is perfectly situated and an excellent value. The rooms were clean, pool was well maintained and the breakfast included a good variety of foods. I would have liked an exercise room, but for the money spent, this is a great deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Management VERY helpful & kind. Wonderful homemade breakfast. Nice jacuzzi tub. Walked to old town, a much needed relief from traveling in the car. Great recommendations for dinner and seeing the sites.
Clean & good price. Will stay again on return home.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location: only few minutes walking distance to the old town. We can easily walk to the old town for shopping and dining. The room is clean and tidy. And I like the jacuzzi in bathroom. The owners of this hotel are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

For the price, you can't get better in this location. Breakfast also, compared to similar places we've stayed, is far better than average.

Only grumble, like a previous reviewer, is that noise is easily transmitted through the walls..we seemed to be situated next to someone who had the noisiest shower or bath at 6am for almost an hour!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

To begin with, my wife would rate this place a total dump. I personally do not see how it receives all of the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

I, however, do see both good and bad in staying there. First the positives: the staff is friendly and doing a good job, the breakfast is very good, and the bedding was clean. That being said, the place is old and there's not a whole lot you can do without remodeling. The carpet is old and disgusting. Don't walk on it with bare feet. The couch was old and stained. The furniture was cheap and falling apart. The pool and jacuzzi were clean but were almost toxic with chlorine. I wonder if it was a proper measure? You also have to walk outside to get to the pool which is strange.

Even if you are on a budget I think you can do better than this motel. We will not be staying here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.