We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great downtown location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Marquette Northwest, Albuquerque, NM 87102-2248   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Bayfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel with great downtown location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I would not agree with the hotel being a 3.5 / 4 star hotel, 3 star yes. As far as amenities go, there is a restaurant, Coctail / bar lounge, pool business center and excercise room. The rooms were out dated with old outdated tube TVs. Lately, even in 2.5 star hotels if you end up with two beds instead of a King, you get two queens, well here you really get small double beds that fill more like a tiny full size bed.

The location is not bad. Close to the convention center. If you enjoy the bar life, Central Ave. is just a short walk. I would not make this walk alone at night!

The on premise bar is called the Ice Lounge and quess what, the atmosephere is cold and non appealing. We chose to walk down to the Hyatt only a couple of blocks away where there lounge is more inviting.

The doubletree has it's own parking area that they charge for, why? When the bank across the street opens their employee lot at night and on the weekends.

I hate getting nickle and dimed to death and that seems to be the case these days at most 3.5 - 4 star locations. I would prefer to pay more for the room and not get nickle and dimed.

Room Tip: Book a King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear bobmmp,

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. I regret that you did not find your room to be up to your expectation or the atmosphere at ICE. To answer your question on paying for parking, you’ll find that it’s typical of all hotels in a downtown location to charge a parking fee, as is the case here in Albuquerque. I feel badly you felt nickel and dimed, we feel our amenities are competitively priced and are consistent with what is to be expected at a full service hotel. I wish you had enjoyed our hotel and hope your future travels and hotel experiences are pleasant.

Sincerely yours,

Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    231
    149
    75
    39
See reviews for
118
115
67
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is situated next to the convention center, with an underground passage connecting both. Other than that, the location is not all that appealing, with mostly office buildings and industrial sites in the vicinity. Still, within a few blocks there’s a residential area and even Old Town is within 30 minutes on foot. And both I-40 and I-25 are very easily accessed from the hotel. There are several restaurants some 2-3 blocks away but, with a few exceptions, most of those seem to be relatively simple eateries rather than fine dining opportunities.
The hotel itself is OK. On the plus side, the rooms are fairly spacious and the quality of the beds is fine. Also, internet is free (at least it was for me). And staff was very friendly and helpful (upon calling the front desk about a broken coffee maker they replaced it within 5 minutes!). On the other side, the bathroom was relatively small, there was no refridgerator in the room and the airco unit was quite noisy. Breakfast buffet was so-so (although there were enough other choices on the menu) and the La Oja restaurant wasn’t all that inviting. Also, the bar was a bit understaffed with the waiter/waitress being absent repeatedly, having to pick up food orders or supplies of ice and what not.
Rating this hotel four stars would be unfair to other hotels that I rated four stars (such as the Double Tree in Portland, OR). Still, 3 stars seems a bit meagre, so I’d make it 3 ½ .

Room Tip: Rooms facing north will be less hot, but the view is so-so
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your candid review Stoks, I appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your experience with us.

Best wishes,

Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The internet did not work at all for two days then worked very poorly for another 3 days. Manager could not be reached to discuss compensation. Wind whistling through the windows was so loud it was hard to sleep. In contrast, a colleague staying at the Hyatt was given a half price room for the week because they could not get her into her room until 2 hours after her check in time. All colleagues staying at the Andaluz were also very happy.

There is no reason to book into the Doubletree when there are much better hotels within a block at competitive prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Rob-Ottawa-27,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulty you experienced with the internet during your stay with us, this is not typical and we’ve since worked with our internet vendor to correct the issue. I hope that while you were here for your extended stay that you had an opportunity to explore the area, we shuttle to many local attractions, and Oldtown is an excellent place to visit.

Best regards,

Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

On a trip home from Santa Fe, NM, my plane was sent back to Albuquerque because of smoke in the engine. The airline put us up in the Doubletree. Three hundred people filed into the hotel looking for rooms. The staff handled this task seamlessly and efficiently.

The room itself was excellent. The hotel provided free shuttle service to the airport and Oldtown. In the morning, my checkout page had been slipped under my door. Despite the terrible airline experience, my stay in Albuquerque was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear MehitabelYork_PA,

I’m sorry to hear about your airline experience, it’s frustrating to be inconvenienced with having to wait until the next day to get to your destination, thankfully the plane was able to return to the airport safely. We’re glad we were able to accommodate you during the experience, thank you for your kind comments.

Yours truly,

Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed 4 nights there in May 2012 as part of a conference at the Convention Center. Convenient location. Some food a few blocks away, but pretty quiet for a somewhat urban environment. Hyatt across the street offers more hotel food amenities (such as a smoothie place).

This is an older hotel that has been updated in some areas. Very nice and helpful staff. Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
It’s great to know you enjoyed our proximity to the convention center AmyinTally, I love the feeling of inspiration that comes from hearing the speakers at a convention, hope you found a lot of good take-aways. In the event you stay with us in the future, please try the variety of beverages we offer at our in-house ICE Lounge, it’s just one of our three food and beverage locations.

Best wishes,

Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I just wanted to stay here for one night as I was leaving for the airport this next morning. Check-in was a breeze and my room was fine. I had planned on getting breakfast in the morning (free with my HHonors status), but was not able to because there was a conference going on downstairs of young people. Instead of having a buffet for them in their conference room, they lined the kids up at the buffet. So there was a line around the block at 6 am. This kind of sullied my experience here. But aside from that, it was a fine place to spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear uniter,

Thank you for your loyalty to Hilton as an HHonors guest! I feel badly that the group we had in-house during your stay monopolized breakfast, please accept my apologies. Despite the breakfast situation, we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Best regards,

Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I found this hotel to be a perfect place for me during my business trip. It is located the right distance from the arena I needed to visit as well as walking distance to many nice eateries. The staff was attentive and informative. Rooms were exceptionally clean and I had no trouble sleeping on the comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments worldtraveler810, it’s great to know you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be the ideal location for your trip. Your compliments are appreciated!

Yours truly,

Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque

Address: 201 Marquette Northwest, Albuquerque, NM 87102-2248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern surroundings, warm hospitality and a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie await your arrival at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Albuquerque. Located downtown, the hotel is conveniently connected by underground concourse to the Albuquerque Convention Center, close to the Civic Plaza and the historic Old Town. Albuquerque International Sunport Airport is just five miles from the hotel. Surrounded by trees, and with stunning views of the Sandia Mountains, this Albuquerque hotel offers a unique, relaxing setting in the heart of the city.Make yourself at home in a guest room decorated in soothing tones, and with complimentary high-speed internet access and amenities for work and relaxation. Choose a suite for a separate living area, upgraded amenities package, dining table and sofa bed. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel has flexible event space for up to 300 guests and a fully equipped business center. Print from your room and pick it up at the business center with our useful remote printing service.Catch up with work while sipping your favorite Starbucks coffee at Onyx Café, taking advantage of the complimentary WiFi in all public areas, or gather with friends and colleagues at ICE Lounge, enjoying the contemporary decor and range of refreshing ice cold drinks. Sample New Mexican and coastal Californian cuisine at La Oja Restaurant at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax poolside, admiring the mountain views and fresh air, or work out at the fitness center featuring the latest in cardiovascular and strength equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Doubletree Albuquerque
Albuquerque Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.