We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Carlisle N.E., Albuquerque, NM 87110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% with AAA
Ranked #11 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This Hampton if by far the best we have stayed in, the rooms were super clean and the staff was very up to speed on what to do in town, we ate the free breakfast and will be back again soon, this hotel is a Chamber member of our Chamber of Commerce in Farmington and that is why we stayed and will return.

Room Tip: first floor next to fitness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland620, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
And Good Day; Jake S from, Farmington New Mexico, and yes we are very proud of being a member of Farmington. Farmington has such a rich Native America history dating back several thousands of years. Yes Jake, Farmington has some of the best fishing and hunting and outdoor activities in the state. Thank you so much for you kind comments regarding our hotel. We enjoy taking care of our guests and always look forward to being of service to them. When you come back please let me know will be happy to have coffee with you. Thank you, and Thank you for your business.
Your Host
Joe M. Gallegos
Director of Sales
Hotel Phone: 505-837-9300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    67
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
75
57
13
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osborne, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A great place to stay. The staff made this a nice place for weary travelers. The location was easily accessed and we felt safe at this Inn. After being cooped up in a car all day, we appreciated the work out room to relieve the stress. We also had a very good breakfast the next morning before checking out. We were again greeted by our favorite staff person, who always appeared cheerful and she was very efficient in what she does. i would recommend this Inn to my friends and look forward to staying there again if I am in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland620, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Good Day, Sandra M.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our desk agent Ramona, yes she is cheerful and enjoys greeting our guests, she has been here for several years and is happy taking care of our guests.
Our fitness room is well equipped and our staff is very attentive to always see to it that it is kept clean also. Our breakfast attendants do a great job with the breakfast and the presentation. We do our very best to make it relaxing for all of our guests. Thank you again for your kind review.
You Host
Joe M. Gallegos
Director of Sales
Hotel Phone: 505-837-9300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyringham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a typical Hampton Inn.....convenient for a traveler, clean and near local attractions and the Interstate Highway. We thought it was closer to the University and Old Albuquerque than it was, but the drive into the city center was not onerous. Wish Hampton Inns would serve real eggs in the morning like some of the competition, but otherwise predictable fare.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland620, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you ADKiceman for Kent CT.
Your review hit the mark, regarding the eggs, Hampton is looking to upgrade this item from our breakfast menu.Our waffles are great, and fresh as the guest makes them with fresh batter that we make fresh every morning.
Town of Kent, Connecticut, has a long history, Appalachian Trail, is one many interesting sites, and we must say thank you came a long way, and as you say a "Quick Cross Country Trip" and thank you for you nice review and come back.

Your Host
Joe M. Gallegos
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here en route to our home after a two week vacation. I used points to reserve a room for two adults and one child. The room type was a king bed, but since it let me reserve the room for three people, I mistakenly assumed that there would be a sofabed or rollaway available. Wrong.

The young man on duty that evening did his best, but was obviously overwhelmed by the guests. The place was sold out, and there were no rollaways. The security guy finally took charge of the situation, and our daughter ended up sleeping on a chair with two footstools lined up. Kind of like a narrow cot that threatened to separate into three pieces if you moved too much. She did fine, and obviously this is a first world problem. Just kind of frustrated that the hotel website allows you to book a room for three, when there is only bedding for two.

The young man on duty told me they would refund my points, although nothing has happened yet. I was not angry as I have found this doesn't usually improve the experience. Just disappointed in how the website and hotel handled everything.

The hotel is conveniently located right off of I-40 and the breakfast was standard Hampton Inn. I would stay here again if traveling through, just make sure I knew what I was reserving before I showed up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland620, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Wow, I can see by your information llliniwek66 Bloomington, IL that you have reviewed 79 hotels, you are an experienced traveler and you did make some valid points regarding the web-site. I do sympathize with your daughter sleeping on a chair we are sure she did not sleep well at all. Please call me or Tim our AGM to make sure that your points are refunded back to you. We fell short of the mark. We shared this review with all our desk agents and it was Embarrassing for them, but we all fell short of what you would expect from us. Please give us another chance to prove our desire to meet all your expectations.

Your Host
Joe M. Gallegos
Director of Sales

Hotel Phone: 505-837-9300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Easy access from I-40. Good, clean and quiet hotel. Nice room. Comfortable beds. Breakfast was ok. Loved the wheat bread though! Good location. Just an overnight stay - we didn't even turn on the TV. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland620, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much, TKrockson, from Van Buren, Arkansas, you have such a Historic city, with the beautiful King Opera House and the Arkansas - Missouri Excursion Train. And such beautiful State Parks, such as Devils Den State Park, and Lake Fort Smith State Park, Nestled in a scenic valley of the Boston Mountain Range of the Ozark Mountains. In New Mexico The Land of Enchantment, we have lots to see also, here in Albuquerque, we have a great train, the Rail Runner, that leaves Albuquerque and goes to Santa Fe, our state capital. Thank you again for such a nice review, our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back, it seems we are getting more folks from Arkansas, the more the better. Thank you if you come back give me a call at the hotel, 505-837-9300, I will be happy to tell you more of our great state.
Your Host
Joe M. Gallegos
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent one night, taking off from I-40, and everything worked just like it's supposed to. It was easy access from the expressway, there was a good restaurant (Rudy's) across the street, the requested top-floor/ quiet room was delivered, the breakfast was very good, the internet worked, check-in and check-out was quick--all the essentials for an overnight stay. Very simply, we were happy with our stop!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland620, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good Day, 22 explorer 22, from Fayetteville, Arkansas, home of University of Arkansas Razorbacks, the University of Arkansas is one of the top 10 sports towns in the US.
We want to thank you for the great review of our hotel, we as a Hilton Brand want to be sure all of our guests are happy with all we offer, and we have to agree with you Rudy's BBQ, is a good place to eat. Please if you find you will be back please give me a call at the hotel 505-837-9300, as with all reviews we will post this for our employee's.
Your Host:
Joe M. Gallegos
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days, and are sorry to leave it, we enjoyed the stay, the evening staff was nice, Tim the assistant manager was the best, he knows how to take care of guests from the start, he checked us in and was there a few days later to check us out and as always asked if he could do more for us. The breakfast was what you expect from a well run hotel, and Tim knows how to run the hotel. We will be back because of Tim, Sorry to Leave Tim.

Room Tip: we stayed on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland620, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
You sure made our day Sam H, from Farmington, and yes Tim, does one heck of a great job for the hotel he is respected and liked by all the staff, Tim has a bright future ahead of him. Farmington New Mexico is one of our main source of business for our hotel, the hotel is also a very pround member of the Chamber of Commerce. I have sent your review to the executives of our company. Please when you are ready to return please call me at the hotel at 505-837-9300 ask for me, will be happy to have a cup of coffee with you. And again thank you for your kind comments about Tim.

Your Host
Joe M. Gallegos
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque

Address: 2300 Carlisle N.E., Albuquerque, NM 87110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the midtown area of Albuquerque, located off the North Campus of the University of New Mexico. Hotel offers a hot Hampton breakfast buffet, and now has a new meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Albuquerque - University / Midtown Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.