We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was fine for two nites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Uptown

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Uptown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Uptown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6901 Arvada North East, Albuquerque, NM 87110 (Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #69 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Was fine for two nites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Two couples on a road trip needed a base for two nites in ABQ. Spouse and I live in NM and come to ABQ every 2-3 months and have stayed in properties all over the city, largely chosen because of their proximity to errands/appointments we have. This time, however, we were bringing relatives from out of state with us and the location was great. Got a good rate and that was nice. This used to be an AmeriSuites and has been converted. We had a huge room on the 4th floor, facing north. The living area was fine except for the couch which is well past its use by date - hump sprung. Also, every (and I mean every) horizontal surface in the room needs to be dusted and polished. We were two rooms away from elevator but heard it clearly. You could even hear it near the front door of the lobby! Breakfast was a bit chaotic which is not how I like to start my days. The overall experience was good due to helpful staff, size of room, rate and location. A few tweaks by management and I will up my ranking! Just wish they allowed dogs.

Room Tip: Ask to be far from elevator so you don't hear it whirring all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    23
    10
    13
See reviews for
47
45
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I found the Hyatt Place Uptown to be average in the places it counts, the rooms but it earns an extra point for the breakfast and common areas.

This was my first visit to ABQ and was put up at the Hyatt (on business). The lobby and desk staff are great. The lobby is modern and comfortable. The staff gave me a quick tour upon my arrival and were very helpful. The included breakfast is above average especially the hot options (waffles or french toast, breakfast sandwiches).

However, the room, while spacious, left some things to be desired. I had some trouble connecting to the wifi (in the middle of the third floor), the hall noise was distracting, and the shower left much to be desired. The faucet of the shower did not work well and took some time to warm up. When turning it off it made a loud thunk (as did the neighbors, I heard it every morning).

I did like (although I did not use) the AV panel allowing connection of personal devices to the large TV. I also found the sitting area usual in getting some business work done in the room without feeling cramped.

Overall, the property is nice and I likely simply got a bad room assignment but I would explore other options next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room away from the elevator (they are noisy and slow), south facing rooms have a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012 and found all aspects of this hotel to my liking. My enjoyment of the well-organised and clean facilities was further enhanced by the excellent customer service I received at all times from the staff on duty. I particularly enjoyed the range and quality of the foods offered free at breakfast daily.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor adjacent to a service door and also a public exit. This resulted in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Uptown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your response. Please come back and visit us again the next time you are in Albuquerque.

Shehnaz Mehta
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is great, room spacious with comfy beds and good shower but if you want breakfast you are out of luck unless you want a soggy "egg patty sandwich." The only protein available is a bad egg /canadian bacon/english muffin mess. They have oatmeal, cereal, toast and yogurt but if you want an egg...forget it. I asked for an english muffin to toast and they said they didn't have any....I gestured at the eng muffin sandwich and the attendant told me they were pre-made, frozen items. Maybe a minor complaint, but if you're catching an early flight you want a decent breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Uptown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am sorry the Breakfast was not what you had expected. Please give us another opportunity to serve you.

Tahnk you again

Shehnaz Mehta
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here one night this summer and paid around $100 nightly rate. I had been travelling a lot with our son's basketball team and paying more for a lot less room. The room was very nice, with a large flat screen tv and a separate sitting area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The negatives were that one of the elevators was out, making for a very long wait for the remaining elevator, and the outdoor lights were so bright and the hotel did not have blackout drapes. We were so tired that it didn't affect our sleep but normally that would disturb me. Still, we really liked the location and the proximity to Trader Joe's, where we shopped before continuing our trip.

Room Tip: Our room faced the shopping center, it may be less bright on the other side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Uptown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a response. Sorry for the dealy in responding with a Thank you. Please come back and visit us again the next time you are in Albuquerque.

Shehnaz Mehta
Area manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a nice property located in a convenient area for my trips to ABQ but on my second visit here this weekend I was issues a handicapped-accessible room that has a weird layout and some quirky, uncomfortable details. Among these are a smaller than typical bathtub with molded plastic elements that, one of which, I kept hitting with my forehead (and it hurt!!). Second, the desk area has no usable outlets anywhere near it unless you wish to unplug the lamp and phone (huh?). Unless you are handicapped, I would suggest you ask for a different room. Otherwise the property is comfortable and clean. Slept well in the bed and area is quiet. Desk staff is super nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a regular room, not handicapped accessible if you don't need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here two nights for the balloon fiesta. Very nice hotel service was fast and friendly,rooms were clean and comfortable. Hotel is close to just about everything.This is the place to stay in albuquerque.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Uptown

Address: 6901 Arvada North East, Albuquerque, NM 87110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Uptown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uptown Hotel Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt
Hyatt Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.