We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nativo Lodge Albuquerque

Save Saved
You added Nativo Lodge Albuquerque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 Pan American Freeway NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited time - Save 40%
Ranked #48 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Quirky place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Southwestern fusion architecture. Quirky place just off of I-25 in the north part of the city, location great if you want rapid access to the highway. Open concept interior with rooms around a closed courtyard. Rooms are getting a little dated but were clean, a little noisy from the highway but quite tolerable. Gym is small. Staff were friendly on check in, one told wisecrack jokes, which was different. The look of the hotel was decidedly quirky, with an over-the top southwestern theme permeating it. Endearing to me, perhaps not endearing to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Public Relations Manager at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
SugarSammy, we are so grateful for your positive review and feedback! We are pleased to hear that you were charmed by our Southwest decor. Thank you for staying at Nativo Lodge, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    173
    75
    55
    60
See reviews for
180
176
59
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have really enjoyed this hotel in the past. The rooms are clean, the design interesting and the staff pleasant (In the case of restaurant staff, regularly flirtatious - and I'm no spring chicken). But this last visit, I signed in, went out for a movie, came back for dinner, and then went to my room and began to use the Internet. Two Hours Later I was disconnected with a message that said it was due to excessive use. After two hours. I was there for pleasure, but if I had been traveling on business and been cut off like that, I'd have been furious. In nearly 30 years of traveling for business and pleasure, I have never been disconnected from a place that promises free WiFi. I was not streaming movies or doing anything else particularly load-heavy. But even if I had been - what if I had been up- or down-loading business reports? - it would make no difference to the hotel's costs. I will, regrettably, not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Manager at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with the staff who strive to make each guest feel welcome and comfortable. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi to all guests and in all common areas, and are always working too ensure our guests have the best access the internet, so we will be sure to address your comments on this matter. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel and hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The desk clerk was very friendly and courteous. She explained the package and directed us to our room in a professional manner. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The TV was an outdated model and the ABC station had no volume; so we could not watch it unless we were willing to watch without sound. There were ample towels and shampoo. The tub did not drain well, which resulted in a quick drain backup while showering. Overall, though, it was a good experience. The package included a new years party with favors and a band; however, people not staying at the hotel arrived before we did and we were unable to obtain party favors and had no table. We had to sit on chairs against a wall. The staff should have reserved tables for those who paid for the package.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Public Relations Manager at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Ann1147, thank yo for your positive rating! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We used to live in Albuquerque and come back to visit every year. Albuquerque is a great city but it has some areas that are not safe. We used to stay near old town but I did not feel safe running there in the mornings. This year we decided to give the Nativo a try because of its location (it used to be a Wyndham). The hotel lobby is decorated in a southwestern style and very clean. Front dest staff nice and accommodating. We opted for the extended California king room which was perfect for our family of three. The room has one king bed and for $15.00 a night we had a cot brought in for our daughter. With this room type there are no mountain views. There was a bit of noise from the road our window faced but it wasn't bad. The room was large and very clean. Great down quilt and pillows. Our daughter loved the pool and jacuzzi. Pool is heated and half inside half outside, very cool. There is a small gym area near the pool with several Cardio. machines. We will use this hotel every year!

Room Tip: If you don't want an extended king room ask for mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Last weekend, this hotel was sold out. I wanted back to back rooms and Valerie who works at the check-in desk at the Nativo Lodge searched and searched until she could find vacant rooms next to each other. Valerie was very informative about places to go in Albuquerque and she started my visit on a good note with her bright smile and positive attitude.

Dinner that night at the Lodge was also well prepared and the service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We found this hotel advertised through a special on GroupOn and it was a deal that couldn't be resisted...a two day stay in a Jr. Suite (that included a fridge and microwave), breakfast buffet for both days and a bottle of wine included in the price. After reading many of the reviews we were not sure what to expect and didn't have high expectations, but were pleasantly surprised. The property is colorful, though a little outdated. The front desk staff was helpful and accommodated us when we asked to move to a room on an upper floor. The Jr. Suites are all have shared doors with the next rooms and we felt we were to close to the people in the next room. Our room was clean and had a balcony with a nice few of the city. The beds were a bit soft, and lacked blankets, other than the bedspread, which we put off the to side. My husband was able to request another blanket which he picked up from the front desk...unusual that they didn't bring it up to us..but at least they had them for guests.
The breakfast buffet was better than most quick breakfasts at these express type hotels. The eggs were real, not those microwaveable junky ones and there was fresh fruit, pancakes and hash browns. All of the staff was helpful and friendly. Also there is a funny evening maintenance man there who has tons of energy and tends to be all over the hotel in two seconds. The location of this hotel is perfect for people like us who only wanted to use it as a home base for going to see other cities in the area. The only suggestions I have is to add a TV schedule for their TV system, and add blankets to the rooms in case people need them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

When I think 3 Star Motels I usually think of chain hotels like Courtyard or Four Points that reliably deliver clean, comfortable, not too outdated, rooms and some amenities. The Nativo comes close. It has a bar and restaurant a not complimentary breakfast buffet an indoor/outdoor pool and interesting Native American themed decor. While it may not be as updated looking as many chain 3 Stars it was sufficiently clean and comfortable (a flat screen TV would be nice) and has a kinda quirky charm. It is close to the highway and a wide variety of chain restaurants and is very close to a "Sprouts" farmers market store, The lack of a fridge/micro (a fridge could be had for $15) was a drawback. Lets call it a 2.75 Star

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nativo Lodge Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nativo Lodge Albuquerque

Address: 6000 Pan American Freeway NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nativo Lodge Albuquerque 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers from all over the world stay at the Nativo Lodge to experience Native American culture through the hotel’s vibrant art, innovative technology, and cultural aspects. No other hotel achieves the unique blend of contemporary and traditional Native American atmosphere within their luxurious rooms. Conveniently located near Balloon Fiesta Park and major attractions in Albuquerque, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the Sandia Mountains and the New Mexico landscape, and Santa Fe is just a quick 45 minutes away. Spacious rooms with private balconies, free WIFI, daily Happy Hour, and true hospitality and charm of Native American contemporary culture make staying at the Nativo Lodge a one-of-a-kind experience."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nativo Lodge Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Nativo Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Nativo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.