We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a long weekend with a kid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nativo Lodge Albuquerque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nativo Lodge Albuquerque to your Saves list
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 Pan American Freeway NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a long weekend with a kid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My 11 year old son and I had a great long weekend at the Nativo. We had a lovely dinner one night, breakfast one morning, and had a great time in the pool and spa. The room was clean and comfortable; towels were changed every day. The bed was very comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the pool, but had no problems with noise. They had Starbucks coffee in room, and in the lobby in case you needed more! The menus for local restaurants came in handy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    184
    82
    56
    62
See reviews for
196
189
63
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A huge cathedral-like building on the inside, but fronted by a tall, flat exterior which could be any other large hotel/lodge. Too much Spanish heavy wrought iron and fading dark colors. Oh the rooms was ok, again very larger, even for a king sized bed. The bathroom is a box, no safety bar and nothing on the wall of the tub, making it difficult to get out.
Too close to the freeways for my liking, but then I was on the second floor facing the roads.

On the bright side, the staff were great. I ate late in the restaurant and declined the beans with my chicken. The cook kindly substituted a small salad, as though she had read my mind. The buffet breakfast was adequate, the usual choices available, but nothing special.
An ok hotel, but I would not use it again.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nativo is a unique and very stylish alternative to the commonplace. It has a central space containing a bar and small stage that is spacious and open all the way to the roof. It has a modern yet authentic feeling Native American theme including impressive art and themed furniture. The room continued this theme and was very comfortable. Service was very friendly and competent. The value was great for the money. I enjoyed everything about this hotel except that the walls are a bit thin and we had the misfortune of having very loud neighbors. I still highly recommend this unique stylish establishment.

Room Tip: Open rooms next to or quiet travelers next to you if somehow possible?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Manager at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel. Each of the Heritage Hotels has a different and unique theme and décor and at Nativo Lodge we pride ourselves in our Native American motif. We make our best effort to address any complaints that we receive in a timely manner. In future visits, if you need anything addressed we will attend the situation immediately to ensure that you have the best experience possible while at our hotel. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumas, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!! My love and I wanted to take a relaxing weekend trip to Albuquerque and to relax you need to feel comfortable at the hotel you stay at. Our trip was awesome and the stay at the Nativo Lodge was GREAT! The front desk lady who checked us in was really nice and very informative about any questions we had. The room was cute and the bed was so comfortable!!! We were lucky enough to get a balcony with a view of the Sandia mountain which was so pretty. We also loved that the hotel had a bar/lounge area with delicious drinks to enjoy. Not to mention the hotel had a free live music show in the lounge, the band had wonderful New Mexican style music that was nice to sit back and relax to. The decor of the hotel was pretty awesome, really native looking. But our absolute favorite part of the hotel was the pool!!! The water was heated and the way it was layed out was awesome! Half of the pool was indoor, the other was out. We got to swim outside without freezing to death because of the warm water. haha The jacuzzi was nice too! If you are trying to find a nice atmosphere, comfortable bedding, and great experience in a hotel, THIS IS THE ONE!!! Also there is alot of things to do and places to eat around the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As someone who travels quite a bit lately, and plans to go to Albuquerque every other weekend, I was hoping to find a place that I could consider my "go to hotel". Nativo Lodge *may* be that place, but my first visit wasn't quite what I expected.

The first night was a bit loud, as there was some sort of seminar/party going on downstairs (even though we were on the 4th floor, the entire area is open, and the sound projects upstairs).

I'd asked for a quiet room, and for the most part, it was, until the 2nd night, when I got woken up several times by folks running through the halls, banging on the walls, and what sounded like at least one drunk female screaming obscenities.

Overall, the bed was very very comfortable, the a/c worked "ok" (never really seemed to cool down too much), and the TV was a bit "old school" but worked, so that's all that matters (some of the channels had no sound, or a "Direct TV" banner bouncing up and down, with sound, but no video).

Was close to all the places that I wanted/needed to go, and right off I-25 made it convenient for the departure back home. Overall, I'll likely give it another shot, the prices were very reasonable, neighborhood seemed safe, and parking, while sometimes difficult to find, was also adequate.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces away from I-25 (if its even possible), and I'd imagine as high up floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Manager at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and we do apologize for any inconveniences. We here at Nativo value our guests comfort and this includes noise or other disturbances. We do our best to respond to any complaints in a timely manner and the events you described above were certainly not typical. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and convenient location. We certainly appreciate your business and would love the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were greeted by a very friendly concierge who was raving about the "tepee" where guests gather to hang out. After a quick check-in we investigated the tepee and saw a dark, untidy area with wrought iron chairs and tables, with a tatty looking tepee on a raised area at the back. Not very inviting at all. Our room was enormous, bed was really, really comfortable and, being on the first floor, we had a patio door which gave us easy access to our car. The handle for the shower appeared to be stuck so we asked for help, however we discovered that with considerable tugging we could operate it. We had no 'fridge or microwave for which there is a fee, could not get wi-fi in the room but there is a computer in the lobby, however there is a fee for that also!! One item I found really helpful was a book containing a list of many of the local restaurants ,complete with menus, and it is conveniently located on a desk in the lobby The whole place was also quite dark, not nice and bright like the photos, and, although the hotel is conveniently located, it is on an extremely busy corner. We found a mall within walking distance but it is very hazardous for a couple of hundred feet, anyway we found a Village Inn where the food was fantastic and the staff super friendly. Can not complain about the rate we paid, but got the basic room with no amenities at all. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with refrigerator and microwave, but be prepared to pay a fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Manager at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room. Please allow me to apologize that you were unable to access our Wi-Fi as it is usually available throughout the hotel and always complimentary to our guests. Microwave and refridgerator are generally available for a fee, but are included when booking a Junior Suite. Our authentic teepee is often used by guests and small parties, and often for a hookah lounge in the summer. Its definitely an intimate space, and hopefully you found the other guest spaces more to your liking. We would like to invite you to join us again at Nativo Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After reading some of the less positive reviews, I was a little nervous about staying here. But the price was right and it is right across from the eye hospital where my husband was having surgery so we decided to try it. We need not have worried, because it turned out to be perfectly fine. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the Extended King room was huge. The rooms are pretty basic but the lobby is really unique. We had the breakfast buffet which is OK...not great but better than a Continental breakfast. The waitress was very sweet. We also had dinner there one night. I had a really good "Tewa Taco", but my husband said the green chili cheeseburger was only OK. The hotel was clean, the coffee was Starbucks and the mattress was comfortable. My only complaint is that they really need to upgrade their linens, and the faucet on the tub is really hard to figure out. We paid about $65.00 a night and I thought it was well worth the money, comfortable, and fit our needs.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the mountains, book a Standard King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Manager at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will ensure operation is clear on our water saving faucets in guest baths and we do replace linens regularly. All of our staff here at Nativo Lodge hope to welcome you and your husband on future stays here in Albuquerque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nativo Lodge Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nativo Lodge Albuquerque

Address: 6000 Pan American Freeway NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nativo Lodge Albuquerque 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers from all over the world stay at the Nativo Lodge to experience Native American culture through the hotel’s vibrant art, innovative technology, and cultural aspects. No other hotel achieves the unique blend of contemporary and traditional Native American atmosphere within their luxurious rooms. Conveniently located near Balloon Fiesta Park and major attractions in Albuquerque, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the Sandia Mountains and the New Mexico landscape, and Santa Fe is just a quick 45 minutes away. Spacious rooms with private balconies, free WIFI, daily Happy Hour, and true hospitality and charm of Native American contemporary culture make staying at the Nativo Lodge a one-of-a-kind experience."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nativo Lodge Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Nativo Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Nativo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.