We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2500 University Blvd. N.E., Albuquerque, NM 87107   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

When I saw the price on Hotels.com, I couldn't believe my eyes. Super cheap, even for ABQ. We usually choose more upscale hotels but we were on a tighter budget this time so we took a chance. The rooms were clean, the a/c and heat worked just fine and we had no complaints. The hotel needs some updating and was definitely a value hotel, but for the price, it was a great deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    73
    46
    37
See reviews for
79
45
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I didn't know the layout of Albuquerque at all: as it turned out, I found most of the good places to hang out and eat were near the University, and the Super8 just happened to be on University Boulevard which takes you straight there (plus there is a Satellite coffee branch just a few blocks away). Check in here was friendly and very swift: as I had booked and paid online, they simply gave me my card for my room and that was it.

The room was great, up on the top floor near a working ice machine so I could enjoy a whiskey of an evening. It was quite spacious, the bed was comfortable, everything was clean and well maintained so I was very happy to spend a couple of nights here. I actually made it down to breakfast for a change, but I've had the waffles elsewhere and am not a fan, but enjoyed the orange juice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First of all, smoking and non-smoking rooms need to be in separate halls; these rooms aren't. I got smoked out walking to my room, and even though it was designated non-smoking, I am certain people have been smoking in it. Room was not terribly clean, but not terribly dirty, either.

Continental breakfast had two kinds of cereal, one waffle machine and some prepackaged muffins, all crammed at one end of a room. Huge line for food, with very little selection, I begrudgingly went elsewhere to eat.

Staff member who checked me in looked like Lenny Cravitz and was very friendly and helpful. I liked him. Staff lady that checked me out was simply rude. I said I needed to check out from room 155, and she said "OK" and did nothing for about 10 seconds as I stood there looking at her and holding the room keys. Finally she goes, "You're good." Really? She didn't take the keys or offer a receipt or anything!!!

Today, I had to call them to ask them to look for an item we lost. Same lady, same rude attitude. She said she would ask housekeeping and then call me right back. Its been two hours.

We went to another hotel for the second night, which is a pain in the butt, so it just goes to show how much I resented this place.

Room Tip: If you're not a smoker, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abqhotels, Owner at Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
First, thank you for your feedback. Smoking rooms are located in a separate wing with the exception of the first floor. This is because the majority of guests (more than 75%) request a first floor room upon check in. Secondly, our breakfast does offer a large selection but I am not ingnorant to the fact that our breakfast area does not serve our guests efficiently. We have already begun plans to remodel the lobby with a scheduled completion date of April 2013. I can assure you that if you visit our hotel again your experience will be totally opposite to your last stay. The desk agent who checked you out has been informed of her performance, and I bought Lenny dinner for his positive effect on your experience at our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown

Address: 2500 University Blvd. N.E., Albuquerque, NM 87107
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown Hotel Albuquerque
Super 8 Midtown
Super Eight Albuquerque
Albuquerque Super 8
Albuquerque Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Albuquerque / Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.