We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place to stay in Albuquerque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Albuquerque's Summer Sale
Ranked #23 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“This is a great place to stay in Albuquerque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

If your focus is Old Town in Albuquerque, this is the hotel in which to stay. It is a very easy two block walk to Old Town, but you will need a car or other mode of transportation to reach Downtown or the University area. We are walkers, but we chose to drive the 2 1/2 miles to downtown. I cannot say enough about the lobby and other public rooms in the hotel -- they are large and tastefully decorated in a southwest theme and they are both welcoming and comfortable. The real joy however are the outside spaces, both the garden area and the outdoor pool -- both are just beautiful. There is also a very charming chapel just off the garden area. We were there for 2 nights and we saw 2 weddings - one in the garden and one in the chapel. Our bed was very comfortable, but the furnishings in the room are almost " southwest basic". Our room could have used some TLC and upgrading, but it was certainly satisfactory. It is a very short walk to two excellent restaurants, Seasons and the St. Clair Winery and Bistro. We highly recommend both. The Hotel Albuquerque is a great place to stay near the Old Town area -- lots of free parking onsite.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    248
    92
    42
    36
See reviews for
129
240
68
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Our recent stay at the Hotel Albuquerque was lovely! Wonderful beds, beautiful lobby and grounds, very helpful staff (from the desk help to the maids), AND only 2 blocks from Old Town!!! For a very reasonable rate we had one of our most memorable stays in Albuquerque. The only problem was that the on-site dining/entertainment facilities, Q Nightclub and Cafe Plazuela, were so popular that there was a long line to get in - they must be good!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We loved Hotel Albuquerque and plan to return again. Great service, great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Wish pool could have been open during business conf 4/25-5/2, 2010 (they were waiting for pool inspection).

When I checked into room, balcony door had not been secured. Otherwise, details were attended to.

Service in Cristobal restaurant is attentive, but it pays to request check promptly so as to get to business meetings.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Room was spacious, and decorated in "Santa Fe" style. Had a lovely atmosphere, and a splendid garden area that was a joy in which to relax and savor the spirit of Albuquerque. Though we had booked the hotel simply for an overnight stay on a road trip, we're now motivated to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

At Hotel to attend conference. The rooms are very comfortable and pleasant, and I had a great view of mountains. The hotel staff were responsive to every request, always gracious and helpful. The setting is lovely--a gorgeous garden suitable for all sorts of events or for just sitting and enjoying. The two restaurants are pleasant: food at Plazuela is very good and at Cristobal's is excellent. The location near Old town, the major musuems and a new public park is very convenient.
If I ever get back to Albuquerque, I'd stay here, even though it's a little higher than my usual budget.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So.Cal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Hotel Albuquerque earlier in the month. The Southwestern decor was attractive without being flashy. My room was comfortable and had a great view of the mountains. The big easy chair was perfect for curling up in and taking a nap. The front desk staff was always cordial as was everyone else I came in contact with. The two gift stores had a nice selection and the salespeople were not pushy.

The location could not be beat - a block away from Old Town. The Albuquerque Sightseeing trolley is a must. Not only was it informative, but the guide was funny and engaging. The outdoor sculpture tour at the Albuquerque Museum of Art and Museum was also good to go on. I had some good meals at different restaurants in the area - Seasons, La Crepe Michel and Little Anita's. A few doors down from the Visitor Center is Rolling in the Dough Bakery Cafe. I bought 2 bearclaws for breakfast the next morning.

On the east side of Old Town are several lanes to wander around in and see different types of stores. Again, all the shop people were friendly and not pushy. Across from Old Town, next to Walgreens, is The Turquoise Museum which has much information on different types of turquoise. You can also purchase jewelry there. What I like about it is that if you purchase something , they give you a written statement about the turquoise, where it came from and which pueblo made it. They also will tell you something about a piece of turquoise jewelry you already own. Guess this means I'll be going back several more times to get information on what I already had.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#13 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.