We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent staff, outstanding accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Receive $25 Food Credit
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Washington, Dc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent staff, outstanding accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is magnificent, with large, spacious rooms and public spaces. The staff could not be more helpful or friendlier. Each of the staff smile and say hello and want to be sure that you enjoy your stay. I was there for the recent tango festival and everyone in my group of 20 dancers raved about the facility and the service. Everything was first rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear tangoguy2009, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear your stay during the Tango Festival was exceptional and that all staff was friendly and accommodating. Thank you for a fantastic five star review, we sincerely appreciate it. We would be honored to have the opportunity to welcome you and the festival again at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    266
    96
    44
    39
See reviews for
148
253
71
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Every time I've been there Julia has been amazing!! She comes threw with everything she says she will do and she makes every experience personable. Keep her around and you will always have my business and referral. Arlie V.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Arliev, we are delighted to hear your experience at QBar was and has been exceptional. We sincerely appreciate the continued patronage and recommendations. QBar is a great venue for just a drink or two throughout the week or to celebrate a special occasion on the weekends. Thank you for the shout out to Julia, we are sincerely grateful to have her on staff with us. Thank you for the fantastic five star review. We look forward to hosting you at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town and QBar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was attending a tango festival in the hotel and stayed there out of convenience. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, especially the cleanliness. The staff was very helpful and had a great attitude, especially Alexis and Josh at the front desk. I can't wait for next year.

Room Tip: My room on the 8th floor was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Cheryl R, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during the Tango Festival. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and that you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms and deluxe accommodations. We are grateful to our staff for providing great customer service, and we thank you for the compliments to both Josh and Alexis. We also are looking forward to next year and to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

There is no doubt that Casa and Q Bar are Albuquerque best night spots; great location, ambiance, and good music. Patrons are well dressed and for the most part well behaved. I highly recommend purchasing VIP table services. It is always nice to have your own private area and skipping the lines is a plus. I have been purchasing VIP service since Casa opened and have never been treated this good. Julia always goes out of her way to accommodate my needs and she always makes sure my friends and I are having a great time. I was really impressed when Julia took the time to follow up with me and see how my evening went. It made me feel like she cared. Julia's follow up made me feel like a true VIP and not just a customer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear M S, we are delighted to hear your experience at Casa Esencia and Qbar was exceptional and we thank you for your continued patronage. We are thrilled to know our staff, especially Julia, was friendly and accommodating as we always strive to provide outstanding service, it is a great compliment to the hotel. Thank you for the fantastic five star review. We look forward to welcoming you in for future VIP service at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had occasion to visit Albuquerque recently for special event at Hotel Albuquerque. Having not much experience in the area, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. The hotel itself was adequate - moderately overpriced for the quality and decor of the rooms, but location was ideal. In particular, however, I was quite pleasantly surprised from a night life perspective. The on-premises venues, Casa and Qbar are both tastefully presented and do a good job of attracting the right crowd. And I say this as a New Yorker having been exposed to many a club, bar and pub. In particular, James (Club GM) and Julia (VIP Manager) were the consummate professionals - warm, welcoming and genuine. Julia attended to every request and detail like magic. While the security team could use a few lessons in proper manners from a big city venue, the wait staff, bartenders and DJs all did a superb job.

Room Tip: Top floor (11th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear gsulz20, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your time here in Albuquerque. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location, which is probably one of the top aspects of both guests and locals alike. It is wonderful to hear you were able to experience both Casa Esencia and QBar during your stay, which are some of the premiere lounge and nightclub spots in Albuquerque on the weekends. Each venue provides amazing cocktails and extraordinary service and we thank you for the compliments to all staff. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Albuquerque as well as Casa and QBar in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Internet connection in this hotel is a true nightmare. I am attending a conference and I should not have to walk all over the property for WiFi. A hotel this size should offer reliable WiFI access points included in the use of their meeting rooms or make it very clear when they are selling their rooms without it. Another issue I encountered was getting basic toiletries. If you have a double bed room, please leave 2 soaps, 2 shampoos, etc. when requested. Our bathroom is so small that it feels as if the commode and the shower are the same area, no shelves. Chemicals used to freshen up room are so strong they can affect your sinus. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear flexibleguest, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay, we sincerely appreciate. We are delighted to hear our staff was pleasant as we always strive for excellent customer service; it is a great compliment to the hotel. We do apologize about any inconvenience you experience during your stay. We pride ourselves in being able to offer free WiFi to our in-house guests, and we understand the importance of a strong signal and are looking to upgrade for greater convenience to our guests. Thank you once more for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at old Town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great service, large portions, margarita flights and decent wine for a Mexican restaurant. Happy hour serves house margaritas, flights and complimentary enchiladas, salsa and chips.
We had a shrimp and avocado cocktail and a salad. Sweet and full of large pieces of shrimp and avocado as well as the shrimp that were poised on the edge of the glass the cocktail was delicious, and quite a meal in itself. The salad was huge and could have been shared by 3 people.
Our friends who live in Albuquerque said they would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear nanita30, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. Our Gardunos restaurant is a local favorite as well as a convenient and delicious amenity for in house guests. Offering appetizing New Mexican cuisine and a variety of marvelous margaritas, Gardunos is a great choice for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Thank you once more for the fantastic five star review. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and your Albuquerque family in the future at Gardunos at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.