We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms and exceptional service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Time - Save 20%
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice big rooms and exceptional service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was attending a tango festival in the hotel and stayed there out of convenience. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, especially the cleanliness. The staff was very helpful and had a great attitude, especially Alexis and Josh at the front desk. I can't wait for next year.

Room Tip: My room on the 8th floor was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Cheryl R, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during the Tango Festival. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and that you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms and deluxe accommodations. We are grateful to our staff for providing great customer service, and we thank you for the compliments to both Josh and Alexis. We also are looking forward to next year and to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    362
    114
    54
    44
See reviews for
197
340
89
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

There is no doubt that Casa and Q Bar are Albuquerque best night spots; great location, ambiance, and good music. Patrons are well dressed and for the most part well behaved. I highly recommend purchasing VIP table services. It is always nice to have your own private area and skipping the lines is a plus. I have been purchasing VIP service since Casa opened and have never been treated this good. Julia always goes out of her way to accommodate my needs and she always makes sure my friends and I are having a great time. I was really impressed when Julia took the time to follow up with me and see how my evening went. It made me feel like she cared. Julia's follow up made me feel like a true VIP and not just a customer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear M S, we are delighted to hear your experience at Casa Esencia and Qbar was exceptional and we thank you for your continued patronage. We are thrilled to know our staff, especially Julia, was friendly and accommodating as we always strive to provide outstanding service, it is a great compliment to the hotel. Thank you for the fantastic five star review. We look forward to welcoming you in for future VIP service at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had occasion to visit Albuquerque recently for special event at Hotel Albuquerque. Having not much experience in the area, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. The hotel itself was adequate - moderately overpriced for the quality and decor of the rooms, but location was ideal. In particular, however, I was quite pleasantly surprised from a night life perspective. The on-premises venues, Casa and Qbar are both tastefully presented and do a good job of attracting the right crowd. And I say this as a New Yorker having been exposed to many a club, bar and pub. In particular, James (Club GM) and Julia (VIP Manager) were the consummate professionals - warm, welcoming and genuine. Julia attended to every request and detail like magic. While the security team could use a few lessons in proper manners from a big city venue, the wait staff, bartenders and DJs all did a superb job.

Room Tip: Top floor (11th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear gsulz20, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your time here in Albuquerque. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location, which is probably one of the top aspects of both guests and locals alike. It is wonderful to hear you were able to experience both Casa Esencia and QBar during your stay, which are some of the premiere lounge and nightclub spots in Albuquerque on the weekends. Each venue provides amazing cocktails and extraordinary service and we thank you for the compliments to all staff. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Albuquerque as well as Casa and QBar in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Internet connection in this hotel is a true nightmare. I am attending a conference and I should not have to walk all over the property for WiFi. A hotel this size should offer reliable WiFI access points included in the use of their meeting rooms or make it very clear when they are selling their rooms without it. Another issue I encountered was getting basic toiletries. If you have a double bed room, please leave 2 soaps, 2 shampoos, etc. when requested. Our bathroom is so small that it feels as if the commode and the shower are the same area, no shelves. Chemicals used to freshen up room are so strong they can affect your sinus. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear flexibleguest, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay, we sincerely appreciate. We are delighted to hear our staff was pleasant as we always strive for excellent customer service; it is a great compliment to the hotel. We do apologize about any inconvenience you experience during your stay. We pride ourselves in being able to offer free WiFi to our in-house guests, and we understand the importance of a strong signal and are looking to upgrade for greater convenience to our guests. Thank you once more for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at old Town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great service, large portions, margarita flights and decent wine for a Mexican restaurant. Happy hour serves house margaritas, flights and complimentary enchiladas, salsa and chips.
We had a shrimp and avocado cocktail and a salad. Sweet and full of large pieces of shrimp and avocado as well as the shrimp that were poised on the edge of the glass the cocktail was delicious, and quite a meal in itself. The salad was huge and could have been shared by 3 people.
Our friends who live in Albuquerque said they would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear nanita30, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. Our Gardunos restaurant is a local favorite as well as a convenient and delicious amenity for in house guests. Offering appetizing New Mexican cuisine and a variety of marvelous margaritas, Gardunos is a great choice for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Thank you once more for the fantastic five star review. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and your Albuquerque family in the future at Gardunos at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

beautiful rooms, great location within walking distance of old town, clean, friendly, pleasant staff; stayed there for a Tango festival and the price was $99 per night which made it a great value for price; highly recommend it

Room Tip: one side of the building has balconies which means you can open the door to have fresh air, higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Ljuba L, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town and were able to experience the property as well as the surrounding local areas. It is great to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating as we always strive to provide excellent customer service, it is a wonderful compliment to the hotel. Thank you for providing feedback of your stay, we sincerely appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Albuquerque for future festivals or for any occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you are in Albuquerque and looking for a good time, Casa on Friday and Qbar on Saturday. Dress code enforced, so go dressed to impress. I'm from California and I was very impressed. Good male to female ratio and the women for the most part are friendly (even the really pretty ones). The staff is great as well, Julia the manager always goes above and beyond for me (3 tables at Qbar and 1 at Casa). There are a few other places to go in town, but none are as classy.

The crazy guy bartender dancing on the dance floor side at Qbar makes the best drinks.

Cons:
The music at Qbar was terrible one time but 1 out of 3 isn't bad odds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear jbid7864, thank you for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review of your experience with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. Casa Esencia and QBar are both some of the premiere lounge and nightclub spots in Albuquerque. Each venue provides amazing cocktails and extraordinary service from a party of 2 to a party of 20. Thank you once more for the kind review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
#18 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#16 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#13 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.