We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic charm in albuquerque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Sale - Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“rustic charm in albuquerque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the 2013 balloon fiesta, and was very pleased... The rooms are very clean, and the staff very professional. The appointments in the room compliment the room and the area. They are also located a block away from old town and two museums, natural history and albuquerque museum. Very pleased with our stay and would recommend and we will be back.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear george s, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, especially during the highly anticipated Balloon Fiesta each year. We are delighted to hear your stay was excellent and you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations. Our location is incredibly convenient to Old Town making it easy to explore all the wonders of the historic town including all the museums in walking distance. Thank you for your recommendations and we are looking forward to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    298
    102
    48
    42
See reviews for
160
274
77
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our stay started off on the wrong foot I'm afraid. We arrived right at check in time, and ended up having to wait 1 1/2 hrs for our room to be ready. After that, things got better. The room was comfortable and large. Everything was clean. The staff was friendly everywhere we went. The elevators were overworked, for a building this size it would be great to have more. Also would be nice to have another breakfast option, like a coffee shop, and would like to see free coffee as most other hotels have. The location is good, nice to walk to Old Town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sue R, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback of your stay with us and are glad to hear your overall stay was enjoyable. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location, and our comfortable sleeping rooms. Our great location allows us to offer two views of Albuquerque’s unique landscape of either the beautiful Sandia Mountains or the historic Old Town, with glimpses of the hot air balloons especially during the fiesta. Thank you again for the review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I took a 4 day Labor Day "stay-cation" getaway at Hotel Albuquerque from our homes in nearby Santa Fe. The pool area was wonderful; grounds beautiful; beds very comfortable; and location perfect. It's in the heart of Old Town and museum district. We were delighted with unexpected wonders at the Natural History museum. The rooms are not too grand, but nicely sized, and the bathrooms are small but we spent all our time at the pool and hot tub and sightseeing nearby. The choice of dining options is limited at the hotel but the food at the onsite Mexican restaurant was good and there are numerous delicious options all around the hotel. There is an onsite bar and nightclub that's popular on weekends. The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They really strive to make one feel welcome and special, ...from the front desk, to valet, restaurants, housekeeping, and even pool security, everyone we encountered genuinely wanted us to have a good experience. Very fine customer service and experience. Thanks to all, I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Marie L, we are delighted to hear you and your friend had a successful and enjoyable “stay-cation” at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. Thank you for the shout out to our staff, we do strive to provide the above and beyond service and are glad to hear we provided superior customer service. Our location is just a few minutes away from great adventures and our amenities here at the hotel make any “stay-cation” fun. Thank you for the fantastic five star review. We are looking forward to having you stay when you travels lead you back into the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Albuquerque as a part of a tour package. we were skeptical, but found the room pleasant and quiet, the restaurant very good, and the location perfect for a walking tour of Old Town Albuquerque. Extremely helpful and cordial staff, giving us great suggestions on places to visit and eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear BuckeyeBill_11, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay with us, we sincerely appreciate. We are delighted to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable, and that our deluxe accommodations were comfortable and pleasant. Thank you for the compliment to our staff, we always strive for superior service and are glad we provided you with great suggestions to experience around town. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future for another charming stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Love the location. Asked for a quiet room on a high floor and that is what we received. We were able to watch the hot air balloons every morning before attending meetings in the conference areas downstairs. Staff were all very friendly with good advise on places to go, restaurants, activities, etc. Beds were comfortable, and it was a good place for us for the three nights we were there.

Room Tip: If you are there the week before the balloon festival, as for a high room facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Liz L, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. Our location is one of the favorite aspects of the hotel, as it allows fantastic views of the hot air balloons to the North in the early morning. Thank you for the compliment to our staff; we always strive to provide excellent customer service and are happy to know we were able to provide you with friendly service. Thank you once more for the kind review and we look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for another fantastic stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at this conveniently located hotel. Came for the Breaking Bad event. Loved the view of the city from my room. The design of the hotel and room embodied ABQ and New Mexico style. I enjoyed that. Laura was particularly friend when taking my reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear HeisenBurque, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback of your stay with us. We were just as excited to throw the Breaking Bad event as guests were to attend! We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time and that your stay was overall excellent. Being a locally owned hotel we strive to exhibit the southwestern decor in a proper and well kept manner. Thank you once more for the wonderful review and we look forward to your next stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

2 things that are going right for the hotel: comfortable bed and nice furnishings. We were on our way to Oklahoma and decided to take a break in Albuquerque for the night. While our room was big and nice, there was no fridge and/or microwave. We only got 3 bath towels in the bathroom, we didn't even get a rug but we were so tired to call front desk. The next morning, housekeeping knocked on our 3X to check if we were still there, despite the privacy note on the front door (we put it there after the first knock). Check-out was at 12n. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and we got served huge blackberries with mold on it (well, we saw one blackberry definitely with mold on it, not sure if there were more since my daughter was the one eating them, which made me more upset). We told our server about it and she initially passed it off as yogurt but when we insisted it was mold, she gave us a fresh bowl of blackberries, which didn't make us really happy because it could have come from the same batch as the moldy one. Too bad since the service was friendly, although a little slow.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear rdlc, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town while on your trip. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our deluxe and comfortable accommodations and our staff was friendly. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experience during your stay with us and we are making every effort to ensure all rooms are properly equipped and all departments are running efficiently. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to stay in the future to demonstrate our superior quality and service at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.