We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Receive $25 Food Credit
Ranked #23 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave excellent "local" advice as to where to go in the city for fun and hiking. The rooms had nice views and the pool was amazing!! The room service was prompt and very accommodating. The conference rooms were beautiful and the food service was well done. The location couldn't be beat! I recommend this hotel for all kinds of travel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear C H, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had an excellent stay and were able to experience the local Albuquerque favorites. One of the most favored aspects of our property is the location, which has two unbeatable views of the majestic Sandia Mountains and the historic Old Town Plaza which is a convenient five minute walk away. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future for another great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    266
    96
    44
    39
See reviews for
148
253
71
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Albuquerque for a conference July 14-18. First of all the people at the front desk were very friendly. Any questions I had, they answered. My room was on the 4th floor, it didn't face Old Town, but I had a great view of the Sandia Mountains. My bed was comfortable, my room was clean, and the shower had plenty of water pressure. Housekeeping did a good job. Every staff member I ran into was very friendly. The food the Hotel Abluquerque served during this conference was fantastic. I definitely gained weight. The pool area is beautiful. The hotel bar was nice. No complaints. Hopefully I can bring my wife down sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Bubba50111, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear our front desk staff was friendly and accommodating as well as all departments in the hotel. Being in the hospitality industry we strive to provide excellent customer service as well as deluxe accommodations and we are happy to know you were relaxed in our comfortable guest rooms. We appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you and the family back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

For many years this has been our favorite destination in Albuquerque. Over the years, many changes have been made to this hotel which has kept it a top rate property. Their service and personnel have always been outstanding. Recently they made management changes and improvements to their restaurant, Gardunos at Old Town; we found the service by our server, Rain, to be excellent and personable. We have stayed on both sides of the building; the old town views have small balconies while the mountain view rooms all have corner windows. This is by far the best location for parking and shopping in Old Town or visiting the Museum district.
Some of our most remembered stays was during the Balloon Festival in October. We had an upper floor mountain view room, so we could watch the balloons with or without binoculars; the event was televised so we could also see close-up action. They do book a lot of conventions, so sometimes it is difficult to confirm a room; we have found that up to the time they get their final confirmation of convention attendees they may not have any opening; however, we have never failed to get a room.
We found the ladies at the front desk were very professional and experienced.

Room Tip: The views from the mountain side (north side) are the best even though they don't have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Larryek321, thank you for sharing your memorable experiences while staying with us throughout the years, it is our extreme pleasure to welcome you back each time. We are thrilled to hear we have been a favorite destination of yours throughout the years and thank you for your continued support. One of our more favorite times of the year is the International Balloon Fiesta as well, and we hope to see you in October. Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to your future stays with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Staff was mostly new, not trained well and uninformed. There is an air of arrogance. Rooms are average at best, shop is expensive and food was OK. Stay here if you want to walk to Old Town but don't expect to feel very welcome unless you're there in business attire. We were told ALL ROOMS face Old Town. Well, ours was over a construction pit. Never again.

Room Tip: Book way in advance. DO NOT ACCEPT the Reservation Clerk's word that ALL rooms face Old Town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Wendy M, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and are glad to hear that our location was beneficial to you during your stay. Our convenience to the historic Old Town is one of our most favored aspects. We do apologize about the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. The property’s location allows guests a choice of two views; one of the majestic Sandia Mountains and the other is of the Old Town Plaza which is seen best on the higher floors. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future to demonstrate our superior service and fantastic location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The dining area and bar have been redone in a delightfully New Mexican style. Our server for the evening was very good (except he didn't bring the flour tortillas or the sopapillas that were due)and an enthusiastic, personable gentleman. Alas, the food was at best disappointing. Taco Salad was the worst offender in what should have been the simplest dish. Main plate entrees had more beans and rice than main dish. The posole was quite good, small portion size even for a bowl and again, no flour tortillas which were part of the dish ever arrived. As it is newly opened under this name which was an older New Mexican restaurant family, it is probably in its' shake out period still - but as native New Mexicans, and downtown residents...it would be very unlikely that we would return which is unfortunate for both establishment and client.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Sally R, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed are newly renovated Garduno’s décor, being a locally owned property we take pride in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and festive manner. We do apologize about any inconvenience you might have had during your stay with us as this in not the norm. Being in the hospitality industry we pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service. We do appreciate your response and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future to demonstrate our superior service and fantastic location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I reserved rooms at the Hotel Albuquerque 4 months prior to staying there. Because the stay was one of many moving pieces of a multi-generational vacation, I called a few times to confirm the reservation... never received a call back until two days before my stay, when I was told I did indeed have reservations. When I arrived for my stay two days after that, I was told the hotel was "overbooked" and they did not have the rooms I had reserved.

According to staff, "this happens" at the Hotel Albuquerque -- as does inflation of Trip Advisor reviews. I don't know this to be true, personally, but given the experience I had there, I think it's valuable information.

Because of the length of time I spent waiting in the Hotel Albuquerque lobby while I discussed the "lost" rooms with various staff, I had time to observe. Staff seems friendly but badly trained. Restaurant staff seems friendly but kitchen is very slow. Food is adequate, but not much more. Hotel itself is beautiful, though showing wear and tear. Proximity to Old Town is lovely. Hotel hosts many weddings and conferences, and after my experience with the hotel I assume corporate and large party business must be where they concentrate their customer service efforts.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear K C, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your recent trip to New Mexico. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and décor; being a locally owned hotel we pride ourselves in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and well-kept manner. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay as this is definitely not the norm. Being in the hospitality industry we strive to provide superior customer service and deluxe accommodations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future to demonstrate these qualities we possess and provide you with an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel has been refreshed but is far from updated and nice. I have the impression that not all of the hotel and rooms have been refreshed. It's reasonably clean and feels safe enough. The air conditioning doesn't work well on the upper floors - couldn't ever get my room to cool down. The restaurant food was fine, but the staff is too much into chatting with each other and friends to actually provide good service. Not a bad place for a business conference as they can handle big groups. There are museums near by if you need to entertain kids. Rent a car as taxi service is near absent. There are much better choices in Albuquerque for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The higher you go the worse the air conditioning performs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear TabernashColorado, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and are happy to hear you were comfortable in our clean and safe accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay as this is not the norm. We take pride in the comfort and cleanliness of our sleeping rooms and are currently taking measures to upgrade all rooms to meet those standards. Our location is extremely convenient to museums and entertainment for all ages is not far off. Thank you once more for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to provide the excellent service Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.