We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New (Old) Garduno's at Hotel Albuquerque” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New (Old) Garduno's at Hotel Albuquerque”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The dining area and bar have been redone in a delightfully New Mexican style. Our server for the evening was very good (except he didn't bring the flour tortillas or the sopapillas that were due)and an enthusiastic, personable gentleman. Alas, the food was at best disappointing. Taco Salad was the worst offender in what should have been the simplest dish. Main plate entrees had more beans and rice than main dish. The posole was quite good, small portion size even for a bowl and again, no flour tortillas which were part of the dish ever arrived. As it is newly opened under this name which was an older New Mexican restaurant family, it is probably in its' shake out period still - but as native New Mexicans, and downtown residents...it would be very unlikely that we would return which is unfortunate for both establishment and client.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Sally R, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed are newly renovated Garduno’s décor, being a locally owned property we take pride in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and festive manner. We do apologize about any inconvenience you might have had during your stay with us as this in not the norm. Being in the hospitality industry we pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service. We do appreciate your response and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future to demonstrate our superior service and fantastic location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I reserved rooms at the Hotel Albuquerque 4 months prior to staying there. Because the stay was one of many moving pieces of a multi-generational vacation, I called a few times to confirm the reservation... never received a call back until two days before my stay, when I was told I did indeed have reservations. When I arrived for my stay two days after that, I was told the hotel was "overbooked" and they did not have the rooms I had reserved.

According to staff, "this happens" at the Hotel Albuquerque -- as does inflation of Trip Advisor reviews. I don't know this to be true, personally, but given the experience I had there, I think it's valuable information.

Because of the length of time I spent waiting in the Hotel Albuquerque lobby while I discussed the "lost" rooms with various staff, I had time to observe. Staff seems friendly but badly trained. Restaurant staff seems friendly but kitchen is very slow. Food is adequate, but not much more. Hotel itself is beautiful, though showing wear and tear. Proximity to Old Town is lovely. Hotel hosts many weddings and conferences, and after my experience with the hotel I assume corporate and large party business must be where they concentrate their customer service efforts.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear K C, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your recent trip to New Mexico. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and décor; being a locally owned hotel we pride ourselves in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and well-kept manner. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay as this is definitely not the norm. Being in the hospitality industry we strive to provide superior customer service and deluxe accommodations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future to demonstrate these qualities we possess and provide you with an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel has been refreshed but is far from updated and nice. I have the impression that not all of the hotel and rooms have been refreshed. It's reasonably clean and feels safe enough. The air conditioning doesn't work well on the upper floors - couldn't ever get my room to cool down. The restaurant food was fine, but the staff is too much into chatting with each other and friends to actually provide good service. Not a bad place for a business conference as they can handle big groups. There are museums near by if you need to entertain kids. Rent a car as taxi service is near absent. There are much better choices in Albuquerque for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The higher you go the worse the air conditioning performs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TabernashColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear TabernashColorado, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and are happy to hear you were comfortable in our clean and safe accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay as this is not the norm. We take pride in the comfort and cleanliness of our sleeping rooms and are currently taking measures to upgrade all rooms to meet those standards. Our location is extremely convenient to museums and entertainment for all ages is not far off. Thank you once more for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to provide the excellent service Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the LEPC Conference in July of 2013; Nice motel, good atmosphere, nice part of Old Town. My only suggestion is to update the rooms a little. (New TV?) Put in a fridge, and the price would be worth it. Good service, Good Food, great staff.

Room Tip: South end rooms have a balcony. (Nice) I hear the suites are nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 911NeverForget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear 911NeverForget, we appreciate your time in reviewing your stay with us and we are glad you were able to experience our great service, food and staff. Our location is especially a favored aspect of the hotel as Old Town is a convenient 5 minute walk which is perfect to take a stroll around while on a break from a conference. Currently we are upgrading all rooms on each floor and are looking into getting mini fridges as well. Thank you once more for your response, and we hope to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future for another successful conference or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This large hotel has a lot going for it. First the location, about a half block to old town and a couple of blocks from the Bosque bike path, which follows the Rio Grande. Then there is the pool, large and cool. A perfect place to relax or get a little exercise. During our stay the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, getting us around the city. The rooms are quiet, large, clean and nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Choose a view or balcony room if you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Burt H, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are so glad to hear your overall stay was excellent and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Our location is definitely one of the many favorite aspects of the property. It allows guests views of either the majestic Sandia Mountains or the historic Old Town Plaza which is conveniently a 5 minute walk south. The sparkling, olympic size pool is very much a favorite summer amenity. Thank you once more for the five star review. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Albuquerque in the future for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio grande, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Not sure what to make of this property. Old is the best I can come up with. Carpets are old, rooms are dirty, yes the dust under the table in the room was nasty. The filty curtains and dirty windows?? Old shower heads and the TV?? Linens were not changed unless you put the card on the bed. Uh please the green property? Put clean sheets on the beds daily! Weekends Friday and Saturday night Q bar? Nothing but a poor crowd of young people from Albuquerque that are loud , over drinking with vomit next to my parked car in the morning and loud groups walking through the hotel going to their cars at closing time 2am in our 3rd floor hallway. Well I will not stay here again and cannot recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear billy j, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. We apologize about the inconvenience you had during your stay as this is definitely not the norm. In an industry that is always changing, we are continually upgrading our room amenities to better suit the needs of guests such as flat screen TV’s currently. Thank you for your response and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future to demonstrate our superior service and fantastic location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I left two paintings that I had purchased in the restaurant just prior to my departure for my flight home. I called the front desk. They found the parcel immediately and sent it to me via fed ex. All done with such a cheerful attitude! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 247John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear 247John, thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear our front desk staff responded quickly and efficiently. Being in the hospitality industry we strive to provide superior customer service and professionalism and glad to know we provided just that. Thank you once more for the five star review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for another wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#17 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing