We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Room with a Great View and Close to Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Albuquerque's Summer Sale
Ranked #25 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Large Room with a Great View and Close to Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here recently for a work conference and was very impressed. The proximity to old town is the best part about it, just a short walk to the shops and park. The room I had was also quite large, with a balcony that had an excellent view of the property. There was some construction going on at the restaurant while I was there, but it caused very little disruption. It's also not terribly far from the downtown area, all in all a great place to stay in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear phil1985, thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us. Our location is definitely one of our best assets. It allows guests a very short walk to the historic Old Town as well as to choose from two great views of either the Plaza or a panoramic view of the Sandia Mountains. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our deluxe accommodations and were comfortable in spaciousness of the room. We appreciate your five star feedback and hope to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to check out our newly renovated dining options very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    244
    91
    41
    36
See reviews for
125
235
67
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for a 2 day mini vacation for my wife and I because of the proximity to Old Town. I was not impressed. While the location is great the room left a lot to be desired. The shower in the bathroom was poor with the pipe facing the wall and the shower head about 50% clogged. My wife said there were cob webs in the corners. We decided that we would have been better off staying at one of the major chains and driving into Old Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Gary P, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your time in New Mexico. The location of our property is one of the most appreciated aspects of our hotel because of its proximity to the historic Old Town, as well as the exceptional views from the rooms of the Plaza or the Sandia Mountains. We do apologize for any inconvenience you might have had during your stay with us as this is definitely not the norm and we take great pride in the style, comfort and affordability of our guestrooms and and are constantly upgrading. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Free internet, coffee makers in the room, nice staff, good location to Old Town and close to the airport. The rooms are done with a Southwest motif, which if not done well, can feel worn and tired. Unfortunately, the décor just misses. Nonetheless, the virtues well make up for the lack of décor.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear ishkabibl, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay overall and that the amenities were appreciated. Being a locally owned hotel we pride ourselves in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and well-kept manner and we do appreciate your feedback on this aspect. Thank you once more for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, Gardunos at Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I thought I would be a lot more impressed, but I found myself rather underwhelmed throughout the stay.

I grew up in Albuquerque, and it felt weird returning to the place I called home till I was 18 and staying in a hotel. So I reasoned, if it had to be that way, I'd at least stay at a hotel I always wanted to stay at.

We arrive Friday night to what looks like a wannabe Vegas. People in club clothes everywhere you look. When we check in, we come to find out that somehow, Hotel Albuquerque is now part of the club scene in Albuquerque. As a result, everywhere you went, there were loud and drunk people. Whatevs.

The other big downside was the service around the hotel. The woman at check in was nice, despite the fact they didn't have the room we requested. We arrived later in the evening, that I get, but we'd had the reservation for months- it was just a little surprising. Each day we were there, it was a struggle to get our room cleaned. Each day, by 3:30 pm, no one had arrived. On the second day, when they showed up, we told them we'd be heading out again and decided to play it safe and ask the front desk to get the room cleaned.

So here's how I'd break it down:

1. Pros

- Close to Old Town, as in, walk to it in under 3 minutes close.
- Rooms were nice, Aveda soap and shampoo- don't mind if I do!
- Free Parking and Free Wifi

2. Cons
- Where the heck are the cleaning folks?
- When did this little hotel located next to nothing popular become the popular club scene?
- Thin walls. The child next door was very unhappy with his mom- so were we. =(
- Slow elevators.

It's a fine enough place, but I'd try and stay elsewhere next time around!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Patrick F, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and are glad to hear you enjoyed our deluxe accommodations and amenities provided. We do apologize for any inconvenience you might have had during your stay with us as this is definitely not the norm. Our hotel does host Casa Esencia on Friday nights as well as the QBar, and they do bring in a good size crowd. It is definitely a popular spot at night time as well as a great spot to relax and enjoy the southwest charm of the property. Thank you once again for your feedback. We do hope to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for a relaxing stay and to enjoy our pool, a summer time favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I left an accessory to my tablet in the QBar a couple of weeks ago after a performance, which turns the pages to digital sheet music. After I notified housekeeping of my lost item, Barbara from the housekeeping staff was in regular phone contact with me (very professional!) to let me know that she was hunting for it. What a relief that she and the staff were able to find it; saving me the cost of replacing it. Thanks so much, Barbara and housekeeping staff!
Bobbie from All Around Mota

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear All_Around_Mota, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are glad to hear our staff was helpful and accommodating. Our housekeeping staff works very hard and we are very glad to have the staff we do. Thank you again for providing your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for another great experience at QBar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We travel a lot all over the world and this is one of our favorite hotels. We like the convenience, coupled with the ambience and the proximity to the old town. We have had different types of rooms there and the upgraded ones are definitely worth the extra money if you can't get an upgrade. The decor is a tasteful version of New Mexican. The hotel lobby is beautiful and there are nice shops and restaurants within it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Micky R, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay. We are honored to be a favorite hotel of such world travelers like yourselves, and are happy to hear that you enjoy your stays. Our location is one of the many favorite aspects of this hotel allowing easy travels to Old Town as well as great views of either the majestic Sandia Mountains or the historic Old Town Plaza. We appreciate your feedback and continued support. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Arrived in NM and decided to stay one night in Albuquerque before traveling around the state - the Hotel was perfect! Lobby was elegant southwestern and the staff very accommodating and professional. We loved the back pool oasis to relax after our travels - you can order a beverage at the desk and that is allowed poolside (outside beverages are not) fyi....yes, Old Town is touristy but we are tourists so enjoyed wandering around then the easy walk back to the hotel! Very pleased with our choice on this hotel for our needs:-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear LillyFred, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your time here in New Mexico. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and that our staff was accommodating and professional. Being a locally owned hotel we pride ourselves in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and well-kept manner. The pool is definitely a summer favorite of our guests, especially with the pool side service. Thank you once again for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for some pool side relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#15 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#30 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.