We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Near Old Town Albuquerque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Receive $25 Food Credit
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel Near Old Town Albuquerque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We travel a lot all over the world and this is one of our favorite hotels. We like the convenience, coupled with the ambience and the proximity to the old town. We have had different types of rooms there and the upgraded ones are definitely worth the extra money if you can't get an upgrade. The decor is a tasteful version of New Mexican. The hotel lobby is beautiful and there are nice shops and restaurants within it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Micky R, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay. We are honored to be a favorite hotel of such world travelers like yourselves, and are happy to hear that you enjoy your stays. Our location is one of the many favorite aspects of this hotel allowing easy travels to Old Town as well as great views of either the majestic Sandia Mountains or the historic Old Town Plaza. We appreciate your feedback and continued support. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    266
    96
    44
    39
See reviews for
148
253
71
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Arrived in NM and decided to stay one night in Albuquerque before traveling around the state - the Hotel was perfect! Lobby was elegant southwestern and the staff very accommodating and professional. We loved the back pool oasis to relax after our travels - you can order a beverage at the desk and that is allowed poolside (outside beverages are not) fyi....yes, Old Town is touristy but we are tourists so enjoyed wandering around then the easy walk back to the hotel! Very pleased with our choice on this hotel for our needs:-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear LillyFred, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your time here in New Mexico. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and that our staff was accommodating and professional. Being a locally owned hotel we pride ourselves in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and well-kept manner. The pool is definitely a summer favorite of our guests, especially with the pool side service. Thank you once again for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for some pool side relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The front desk staff at the Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town is very polite and professional -- especially Gretchen -- and the rooms are clean and well stocked. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay, and the location near I-40 and Old Town makes this hotel even more appealing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear MichiganTodd, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is definitely one of the many appreciated aspects of our hotel, including our excellent staff. We are glad to hear they were polite and professional as outstanding customer service is what we aim for. Thank you once again for your five star review. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

You don't expect a hotel restaurant to be anything special - and you're usually right. However, we stayed at the Hotel Albuquerque on a Sunday night and had a really exceptional dinner at Garduño's Restaurant & Cantina. The blue corn enchiladas and the shrip taos were wonderful, the service was attentive and the house margaritas supurb! It was a great was to conclude a New Mexico vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear MichaelMQ, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your time here in New Mexico. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our new addition, Garduno’s at Old Town. The opening was in great anticipation of everyone at the hotel, and to know you all had an exceptional experience makes us that much more excited. We have a great staff throughout the hotel and are glad to hear they were accommodating as great customer service is what we aim for. Thank you for your five star review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town for more delicious stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

the rooms are fair size , the bathrooms are a little small and don't have much room to put your toiletries, the door to the cabinet holding tv would not open all the way so you needed to prop chair in front of it to keep it open to watch tv. beds where all right but nothing special. they had convention in, so elevators could be a little slow , the gift shop is very expensive but that's like most in hotels. we had appetizers in bar/ restaurant not that good , which is kind of surprising since most all the food we had in New Mexico was very good. one nice thing is it is close to old town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear cooks1957, we do appreciate your taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to Old Town, it is probably one of the top favorite aspects of guests who stay with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience you might have had during your stay with us as this is definitely not the norm and we take great pride in the style, comfort and affordability of our guestrooms and are constantly looking for ways to improve them. Thank you again for providing us your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque in the future to enjoy our fabulous location and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Attended an all class high school reunion here so had a group rate, which was fairly reasonable in relation to other convention hotels. The rooms are a good size and the beds very comfortable. Each room has a small angled balcony that affords great views of the surrounding area if high enough. The bathroom is a bit small, but there is a nice dressing table area with a good makeup mirror and large mirrored door closet directly outside the bathroom. Unfortunately, the bathroom door opens right into the toilet. A pocket door would be better. Good lighting throughout the entire room. The decor throughout the hotel is Southwestern, which suits its Albuguergue location. The grounds are lovely, with many mature trees and interesting shrubbery. The pool is immense and there is a hot tub, firepit, large provided towels and many comfortable lounges and chairs around the pool. There is also an on grounds chapel with a little separate courtyard and a lovely fountain just outside it and the pool. The main lobby is beautifully quaint, with high beamed ceiling and shiny dark adobe style tile floors. The hotel would be a perfect wedding setting. The only negative was the service time in the cafe. The waitstaff, while trying to be accommodating, seemed overwhelmed at breakfast when they were busy. They were very disorganized, causing an extremely long wait before we received any menus or before they took our orders. Food arrived fairly promptly once we ordered, however. I think a dedicated host or hostess is needed in the cafe to help supervise the operation. Food for our group dinners was good and plentiful on all three nights of our reunion, especially on our last night there. It was a sit down banquet style affair with a very tender steak plus salmon topped with a spicy mango salsa. Steak was cooked perfectly, which is often not the case at convention hotels. All in all a very pleasant place to stay when visiting Albuquerque. A real plus for first time visitors is the hotel's proximity to Albuquerque's quite large and interesting "Old Town," that has lots of nice shops and little restaurants.

If you choose to stay here, do not stay in a room with connecting doors, as I was in room 817 that had a connecting door and could hear one of the next door guests clear his throat. Their normal noise level conversations awakened me very early every day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear metalmomma, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that the reunion was a success; we certainly enjoyed having the lively group here as well. The location of our property as well as the grounds are favorites of the guests who stay here, we are glad to know you were able to explore both the hotel itself as well as the surrounding historic Old Town. We appreciate you writing a review of your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stopped at Hotel Albuquerque driving to CO from AZ. It's located right off I-40, so it was REALLY easy to find. It's also really close to Old Town, so we had some fun sightseeing in the morning before we took off for Denver.

Service: I tried to book a $90 rate on Expedia on the way in, but my cell phone reception was bad. It was after midnight when we arrived, so the reservation wouldn't have worked anyway. I asked the front desk if I could still have the Expedia rate, and while I didn't get it, I did get the reasonable rate of $100. Front desk staff was polite but to the point--almost snooty-stand-offish. Still, I got my room quickly and with a good rate.

The lobby is clean and REALLY pretty. Lots of southwestern charm but not hokey or gimmicky. Our room was clean and spacious. No bleachy smell on the sheets or towels. The towels weren't crispy-thin, either. No fridge. Old tube television. Desk. FREE WIFI with EASY ACCESS! Strange corner window, but good view. I think a lot of highway noise came in through the window--not great for sleeping past rush hour. Exceptionally comfy king bed.

Didn't try room service or the on-site restaurants.

Overall, I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Albuquerque and this will definitely be the go-to hotel whenever we are in town. It felt luxurious but was a heck of a deal.

Room Tip: They are doing construction on the north side of the building right now, so it's loud. This sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear milkshakerrr, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque during your trip. We are happy to hear that we are now your go-to hotel whenever you are in town and overall it was a pleasant experience. Being a locally owned hotel we pride ourselves in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and well-kept manner. Our large comfortable beds, as well as the location of our hotel are some of the top favorites of our guests. We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.